We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting- I wanted to learn a lot more after my visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Catacombs

The Catacombs
1 avenue du Colonel Henri Rol-Tanguy, 75014 Paris, France
01 43 22 47 63
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #89 of 732 attractions in Paris
Type: Historic Sites, Cemeteries
Activities: Walking, Group tours/walking tour
Attraction Details
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very interesting- I wanted to learn a lot more after my visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We really enjoyed the catacombs! It was a really different tourist attraction than anything else we experienced in Paris. The line is very, very long. I think we waited about an hour to get in, but that is just to keep it from getting too crowded. There are a lot of stairs down and quite a few stairs up, so if you have any mobility problems- this would be a problem. Also, on the day we entered they were only taking cash and could not give change. This was not revealed until the front of the line- yikes! The floor is very damp and somewhat muddy. I would wear appropriate shoes. It can also get hot and clammy inside due to the fact that you are underground. We found it very fascinating- the entire experience made me want to learn more about what really happens underground in the catacombs. I would also make sure to bring a French dictionary as there is a lot of beautiful poetry but it doesn’t have a translation. There is no flash photography. I do wish there was more context and history given on the tour, but this is something you will have to research on your own.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    560
    182
    56
    55
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting in a macabre way, but lacking in context”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

While interesting in and of itself, this is simply a moneymaker for Paris, with very little history or context provided to visitors. The trip down is a creepy, dark adventure. The carvings by a worker are a major highlight and I would have liked more information on these. The catacombs themselves go on and on so that at first you are quite taken aback by the strange display, but you soon get weary of bones and ready for the return to sunlight. Come early and be prepared to wait in line.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A unique attraction but don't spend hours queuing to get in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

This is a unique attraction with the bones of over 6 million people on artistic display. I thought that 8 euros to get in was a little steep. The extra charge of 3 euros for the audio guides isn't really worth it though as it doesn't tell you anything more than the info boards do.

My recommendation would be to take a torch as the lighting in the ossiary is very poor and doesn't allow you to see very clearly.

Only go here if you're really interested or want to see something different.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The most eerie and interesting place in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

The tunnel is rich with history, both of the story on how it was created and how it was used during WW2. The amount of time and work invested in this tunnel system is quite astounding and should be on the top 10 of your list of attractions to see in Paris. The remains of over 6 million people are stacked elegantly and artistically along the underground tunnel. I suggest bringing water as there are no rest stops. You should also bring a good pair of walking shoes as the floor at points becomes very slippery at points. The tunnel is not difficult to traverse, however it can be intimidating if you are even the slightest bit claustrophobic. The entire tour takes slightly over 1 hour.

Visited June 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Just a pile of old bones”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

You walk a lot through subterranean tunnels and see bones and skulls stacked up. Very weird. It can be wet and slippery.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Catacombs also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to The Catacombs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Catacombs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Catacombs to your Saves list