We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly, it was disappointing this time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jeanne d'Arc

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Save
You added Hotel Jeanne d'Arc to your Saves list
3 Rue de Jarente | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #418 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Sadly, it was disappointing this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Having stayed at this well located hotel two years ago with a mate, I was keen to return with my family. For two people the accommodation upstairs is small but comfortable. The Marais is a fantastic base for exploring Paris. An inexpensive cab fare, metro, or 20 minute walk and you're right in the action.

For this 6 night stay our family of three was allocated a space on the ground floor unfortunately next to reception and the staff toilet, noisy and smelly. The two-roomed space was poorly configued with shabby furniture, minimal lighting and old occillating fan with death rattles, in lieu of airconditioning. As the large (broken) windows opened directly onto a well-used narrow alley we felt that our safety would be compromised if we opened them at night.

We were all disappointed with the accommodation and advise families considering this hotel to explore other options in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    186
    51
    11
    10
See reviews for
49
175
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We really like this hotel and recommend it to our friends. The renovation since our last visit is very nice. The staff is very helpful, nice shopping and eating in the area, and an easy access metro stop to get around the city. Room was clean and comfortable. This is a good hotel in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is just a short walk from the St. Paul Metro in Marais area of Paris District 3. You can also walk quite easily to the Bastille, Les Halles, and Pompidou Center. The staff was very accomodating and the rooms are not so small. Our room did not have an electrical outlet in the bathroom or a bracket to hold the shower head. Worst thing was dirty carpet. There is an American breakfast diner near, an an unending number of cafes, bistros, bakeries, etc. Marais includes the old Jewish section also. Steps away from the front door are two nice dinner cafes and a plaza with four or five more cafes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

we loved this hotel! small and intimate, boutic and unique :) the location is great --- at the canter of paris and you can travel easy to every place at the city.
I think that young couple would love this place!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Location, location, location....this hotel is all about location. The Marais is a charming, trendy, exciting area of Paris with few affordable hotels. The Jeanne d' Arc is affordable and perfectly located in the center of the Marais. The hotel is basic with simple stark rooms that could use some upgrades (bathroom had broken floor tiles etc). It was clean enough. We had stayed here before, so knew what to expect. This is not a luxury hotel, but it is an excellent value. The common areas are very charming. The breakfast was adequate. Much of the staff are not Parisian and are consequently limited in their knowledge of the city, but there is a computer in the library that can be used by residents. As budget travelers who love Paris and the Marais, in particular, we would not hesitate to stay here again...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Jeanne d'Arc is a lovely little hotel on a small street a few blocks off the main boulevard in the Marais. Our room & bathroom were clean & spacious with two large windows opening onto a side street. It's very close to the Place des Vosges & the Saint Paul metro, and an easy walk to the Ile St. Louis & the Ile de la Cite. There's a little square (Place St. Catherine?) just around the corner with many restaurants to choose from. Our favorite restaurant was Les Bourgresses, just across the street from the hotel. All that and a great bargain as well.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise at night & in the early morning when the street sweepers co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hotel Jeanne d'Arc was a fabulous place to stay in Paris. It was very affordable for Paris, which is fairly expensive. The hotel it 5 minutes from the Metro and it is walking distance to several sights. Paris is so beautiful, it's the perfect place to go for a long walk and the location of the hotel allows you to do just that.

The hotel rooms were small but very clean which is my #1 criteria for a good hotel stay. The bed was fairly comfortable and the bath towels were plush. There was an 8E breakfast that we didn't take advantage of but it was affordable and convenient for those who are interested.

The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and dinner recommendations. I bought a SIM card and couldn't read the directions so the manager of the hotel graciously translated it for me.

The neighborhood "Le Marais" totally rocked! There were tons of boutiques, cute cafes, and yummy restaurants nearby. There was a Starbucks within walking distance if you crave a cafe Americano like I do.

We will definitely return to Hotel Jeanne d'Arc for our next Paris stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jeanne d'Arc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jeanne d'Arc

Address: 3 Rue de Jarente | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Hôtel-de-Ville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#366 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#384 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Hotel Jeanne d Arc
Jeanne d Arc Hotel
Grand Hotel Jeanne Darc
Hotel Jeanne Darc Paris
Grand Hotel Jeanne d Arc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jeanne d'Arc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.