We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain

Save Saved
You added Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 rue Cassette | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #30 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“cosy and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for our first trip to Paris in September. The Hotel is not a big touristy place and feels more like a beautiful Parisian house, with cosy lounge areas, a pretty courtyard and little nooks to sit and have coffee or a drink. It's also in a great location, close to lots of good restaurants and shops and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The Breakfast of crispy baguettes, croissants and pastries with jam and butter were yummy and the coffee was freshly brewed and served with a jug of hot milk. What more could you want?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    465
    125
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
90
309
32
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights here in November to celebrate our anniversary. We could not have been more pleased. The location is convenient, being a 5 minute walk to the St. Sulpice metro stop. It is near good restaurants, shops and historic sites. The reception area and adjoining rooms are elegantly decorated and offer cozy areas to relax, have a drink or eat breakfast. The woodburning fireplace was especially appreciated when returning from a day of walking in the chilly late autumn weather. Every member of the staff was friendly and attentive. The front desk staff was helpful with restaurant recommendations and securing tickets to cultural events. Our attractive room, which faced the garden was not spacious, as is typical in Paris, but certainly adequate, quiet and comfortable. Continental breakfasts were sumptuous. We appreciated a feature on their website that allowed us to click a button, write our phone number and receive a call back. Gary answered our questions, gave us further information and booked our reservations with a confirming email. We will definitely return on our next Paris visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The décor here is so lovely, you feel as if you were living in some aristocrat's townhouse. The rooms are cosy, each one with a different decoration, and the common spaces are very welcoming. Breakfast is good, as well as the staff - everybody is friendly and polite.
A few steps from Saint Sulpice subway station, it's easy to go everywhere and also to explore the 6ème and 7ème quartiers.
It's definitely worth a stay!

Room Tip: The little yellow room is perfect for single travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The service at this hotel was wonderful from the helpful concierge to the efficient and friendly waitstaff. Breakfast in the sunroom facing the garden served from silver service was a treat. Before dinner drinks in the cozy lobby were relaxing and elegantly served. Our room was on the 4th floor facing the garden. We left our window open every night and heard only the rain. The hotel was in the midst of great 6th arondissement shopping and a close walk to the beautiful Luxembourg gardens.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are very quiet with great views; easy to walk up or take elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City,MO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We arrived for the first time at this hotel. I booked a Jr.suite and was told"Madame,all our suites are quiet. What a joke. We were taken to the 5th floor and our room was next to a dirty,rusty stairwell where every voice echoed off the filthy,dirty,metal stairwell.This room was 480 E's a night. We asked to be and were told no other Jr.suite was available.We were then moved to a deluxe room @ 380E's a night on the first floor. Same problem with the crazy loud noise,just did not have the disgusting dirty stairwell outside our window to look at.They called and said that two other were rooms would be available to look at for the remainder of our last two nights.I will have to take sleeping pills to get to sleep after not sleeping for the last four nights in a very noisy apartment on Abbesses in the 18th. I am homesick and can't wait to get back home to the states. After a month in France I think I am over it!I will not recommend this hotel to anyone.Worst hotel ever and for the price just ridiculous. We travel often and we are not inexperienced travelers.I ahve never written such a terrible review in my life.

Room Tip: Don't fall for the" all our rooms are quiet". It is not true what so ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is set back from the street with a quiet courtyard. Everything was wonderful, the room, the breakfast and the atmosphere. I was nervous about not speaking any French but they made is very easy to communicate and get what we needed. Also great neighborhood, lots of sights, shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Would love to go back. The decor is charming and really made you feel that you were in Paris.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have reserved the room in advance and the reservation was quick and clear. Before our trip we received a reconfirmation note, what was welcome.
The reception and all the instructions given at our arrival were very kind.
Our experience with the room was pleasurable, the charming ambiance of the hotel was the high point followed by the wonderful experience of having a nice breakfast served in high style in the terrace with the view of the fountain and the plants in the courtyard.
I only don't recommend it to keep it as a best kept secret...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain

Address: 10 rue Cassette | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#29 Family Hotel in Paris
#47 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#167 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Abbaye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.