We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“George V is amazing, with awesome comfort and service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Av George V | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Toronto
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“George V is amazing, with awesome comfort and service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

I just got back from a surprise weekend trip to Paris with my boyfriend. One of the many wonderful surprises he had in store for me on this perfect weekend was booking the George V, as I have always wanted to stay here. It was an amazing experience! The room is very spacious by Paris standards, with a full entryway hallway, a huge bathroom with separate shower, tub, and a separate mini-room for the toilet. Our room had a king size bed and also a private balcony that looked out onto the marble courtyard. Service was great. I had forgotten to pack hair product, so I called and asked the concierge if they could send some up, and there was a knock at the door with hair gel in under 5 minutes! Of course they charged us 40 euros for that little bottle of hair gel, but we accepted it was all going to be expensive (well, for my bf anyway who paid for the whole thing!). The location is amazing as it is right in the "Golden Triangle" which has some of the best shopping in Paris (LV, Gaultier, Hermes, etc. were all literally outside our door), as well as the Champs-Elysees being just down the street. It also only took about 15 minutes to walk to the Eiffel tower, and the subway station was a five minute walk, on a line that took you directly to the Marais, and it was also easy to get to St. Germain, and really anywhere. They had a complimentary service where you could leave your shoes in a bag on the doorknob and they would shine and clean your shoes and return to you before 7:00 am the next morning, each shoe crisply individually wrapped. Even details like discovering there's actually ice in the ice bucket (instead of having to go find some) were great. It was a wonderful stay, in the best city in the world, and I will always have extremely fond memories of the hotel.

  • Liked — The comfort, size of room, service
  • Disliked — bit pricey
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,020
    87
    43
    31
    18
See reviews for
208
544
53
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

Well I was expecting much, and the hotel delivered. It is very very good. The rooms are huge by Paris standards, with excellent bathrooms and amenities. Food was amazing in every way, especially room service.
The service was also great, it might not be as nice as in Asia or the US but as Paris goes it is unbelieveable. Everyone spoke english and was curtious.
The Spa is also very good, with a pool and jacuzzi as well as a steam and sauna room. It is not a usual thing to find such a nice and relaxing spa in a city hotel.
The location is also great, second to none, on the shopping mile and only a few steps away from the Champs.
The best choice in Paris by far

  • Liked — Location, Spa and very nice rooms
  • Disliked — Only thing to fault would be the price...
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Very good hotel but for the price my boyfriend could have bought me a car. Nice treat for my 30th Birthday.
Rooms were excellent but service was a little cold but its France.
Paris is the home of love but in the films sitting in a restaurant alone looks romantic, not so much in real life.

  • Liked — Our Room
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

We stayed 6 nights for our 10 year wedding anniversary in a deluxe room (865 euro per night). We had a very generous sized room with king bed, walk in wardrobe and a spacious bathroom. There was also a very comfortable armchair and a writing desk setting. Champagne and sweets were in our room on arrival, which was fantastic after a 30 hour journey. The room overlooked a courtyard (not the marble courtyard) and we could see the top portion of the Eiffel tower, which sparkled at night on the hour from 9pm. Hotel staff was courteous, always smiling and enthusiastic. We booked a hotel transfer from the airport (285 euro) which included an airport escot who met us on exit from the aeroplane and accompanied us through customs via the priority lane. That was nice but we travelled business class and were given passes through the priority lanes anyway. Also, landing at 6am meant that customs was practically empty and we would have got through quickly with or without the escot. The airport escot may be of better value if your plane lands during peak times of the day. I didn't know whether there would have been long queues for taxis at the airport either. A black BMW was waiting for us. You can weigh up the pros and cons for the airport transfer. Our taxi fare from the hotel to airport was 50 euro.
We didn't have any breakfasts at the hotel (upwards of 40 euro per person) but each morning we had breakfast on one of the cafes on Champs. Would highly recommend the Drugstore brassary at the top (just before the arch). Great (!!!) coffee and continental breakfast sets for 8-16 euro. We did have coffee at the hotel while waiting for our room. Cost 12 euro each and were weak American style (brown flavoured hot water).
Le Cinq restaurant was quite an experience. The waiters were wonderful and attentive. The food was nice and delicately presented. The price was far more than what I have ever imagined a dinner for two could be, but I think it is great to have experienced it.
The location is great for a romantic getaway. It is 5 minutes walk from the arch and a leisurely stroll from the Eiffel tower. We had dinner at Cafe de l'homme with a full view of the Eiffel tower, which was recommended to us by the hotel concierge. It was such an incredible sight that the thought still brings tears to my eyes. Make sure you book 8:30pm or later so you can see the sparkling Eiffel tower.
Metro is right at the junction of rue George V and Champs. Once you are on the metro, you can go everywhere, but beware pick-pockets.
The hotel was recently renovated (year 2000 I think). There was a book in our room on the history of the hotel, which was well worth a read. All the furniture in our room was new but in the traditional French style. It would be a disappointment for people who are looking for the authentic olden days French hotel. The clean, new, reproduction furniture suited us just fine.
Having stayed at 400 euro Paris hotels little larger than a shoebox, we thought our room was quite good value. Some of the other reviewers in Premier rooms for significantly more seem to be somewhat disappointed, so maybe deluxe is the way to go? (unless you are more in the budget bracket for a suite)
We also used the pool and gym in the evenings after sightseeing. The jacuzzi did wonders for my aching feet.
Overall, we had a wonderful time in Paris. No hesitation in staying there again unless somewhere better appears on Tripadvisor.

  • Liked — Glamour
  • Disliked — Hotel coffee
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

First let me start by saying you should expect very high prices for a five star hotel in Paris. If you can get by the very high price then definitely stay here. The attention to detail is very sharp and the staff is some of the best I have ever encountered. Nothing is out of reach and they will take care of most anything for you. Once again I tend to avoid 5 star hotel restaurants because there are much cheaper places in Paris that are simply amazing. If you really want to a fine dining experience and money is no object, book well in advance at the La Tour d'Argent. You will be treated to views that will bring tears to your eyes why you enjoy some of the most excellent food on earth. Not to take away from the hotel though, it is always a pleasure to stay there. Never have I had a bad experience. The French can sometimes seem curt to Americans but not here, you are greeted like an old friend with genuine kindness. The suite was very nice with a walk in closet and a very relaxing bath that seems to melt away your stress. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — The Staff and The Room
  • Disliked — It does border on ridiculously expensive
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

Ive travelled quite a bit in 5* hotels around the world - George V is in my opinion one of the best out there.

First time I ever set foot there was on business, I arrived at 10pm on Thursday night, went straight to my room. At 7am on the following morning, in the elevator on my down to breakfast, the hotel staff greeted me by my name. I was speachless!

The decor is superb, apparently they spend €100,000 per week on flowers alone... And it shows.
Staff is attentive and knowledgable, quality is faultless.
The bar serves great cocktails, they have special martini glasses where the cone-shapped glass sits in ice to keep the drink fresh.

Truly one of the best hotels in the world in my opinion. Shows what the French can do when they put their minds to it...

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

A special place to stay. Cinq food was great as were rooms, spa etc. champagne on arrival a nice touch. A bit out of the way for evenings out Steph Howard Sophie Beaumont Lucie Guiler

  • Liked — comfortable surroundings
  • Disliked — position
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris

Address: 31 Av George V | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paris
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#13 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel housed in the former landmark Hotel George V, furnished with objects of art and antiques - Near Champs Elysees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel George v Paris
Four Seasons Paris
George v Paris
Paris Four Seasons
Hotel George v Paris
George 5 Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.