We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Go Out of Your Way” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Musee Carnavalet

Musee Carnavalet
16 rue des Francs-Bourgeois, 75003 Paris, France
+33 1 44 59 58 58
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$56*
and up
Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Combo: Sightseeing Bus and...
Ranked #71 of 636 Attractions in Paris
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Carnavalet Museum is dedicated to the history of Paris and its inhabitants and has collections illustrating the evolution of the city from prehistory through to the present day. A vast array of works of art, relics and models are displayed in 100 or so rooms, showing the capital at various periods in history and evoking intellectual and everyday life. Magnificent restored historical scenery creates an evocative setting for a stroll through the centuries in an enriching, delightful visitor experience.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't Go Out of Your Way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I happen to enjoy this museum. But I get excited by seeing old hardwood floors and marble mantles. The best thing is, the Musee Carnavalet is free! And most museums in Paris are expensive! But if you happen to be wandering the Marais, strolling through the Place des Vosges, and say you are perhaps struck by a sudden downpour, and the idea of yet another coffee or pastis at one of the many charming cafes is momentarily feeling too de rigueur, pop into this mysterious museum. It is quiet, and you may even have rooms just to yourself. I especially love some of the old signs. It does not matter that some descriptions are just in French. If you are one of those people that need to read the description next to a piece of art, you can easily miss the beauty that you take in with your own personal eye.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    233
    76
    28
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We were sadly disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This museum got great reviews for families, and especially for those interested in learning the history of Paris. We got very little out of the experience because there was almost no information available in English apart from a small brochure. I understand that this is a French museum, but we were really looking forward to learning about the city, and it was frustrating. Lovely buildings and garden, great location.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A lesser known gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I first went to this museum in 2004; I think it was at the recommendation of someone living in Paris. I enjoyed it sufficiently that I brought my husband back there last month. In fact, it was the only museum I went to during my short visit this time. I found it to contain an engaging mix of paintings, sculpture and everyday objects, and I think there is something that is of interest to every age (the scenes done with the figurines seems like an attraction for kids, for example). The only downside is that path one should follow in the museum was confusing in places. But that shouldn't deter anyway; I think this museum is a "must see" for a complete tour of Paris.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“possibly the best museum in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

There is so much to see and rooms lead off others on all sides so it felt confusing at times but only in an interesting way. This really does show the history of Paris and the rooms on the Revolution are excellent. Seeing the Declaration of the Rights of Man and a red cap were both moving. We were in here for hours and would have stayed longer but it was closing time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lively history of Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Mostly well presented items.Lighting could be better on documents.The building itself,a parisian hotel particulier,is a gem by itself.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Carnavalet also viewed

 

Been to Musee Carnavalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee Carnavalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.