We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History lesson for uninformed Aussies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Musee Carnavalet

Musee Carnavalet
16 rue des Francs-Bourgeois, 75003 Paris, France
+33 1 44 59 58 58
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$56*
and up
Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Combo: Sightseeing Bus and...
Ranked #70 of 636 Attractions in Paris
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Carnavalet Museum is dedicated to the history of Paris and its inhabitants and has collections illustrating the evolution of the city from prehistory through to the present day. A vast array of works of art, relics and models are displayed in 100 or so rooms, showing the capital at various periods in history and evoking intellectual and everyday life. Magnificent restored historical scenery creates an evocative setting for a stroll through the centuries in an enriching, delightful visitor experience.
Kensington, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“History lesson for uninformed Aussies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Almost as soon as we entered, we were aware of how little of the history of France we know, and that little bit mostly from 'outside'.
The next thing we discovered is how easy it is to get disoriented in a large museum, And like Hansel and Gretel we would perhaps have found our way out with less difficulty if we'd left some sort of a trail; or if we had been paying attention to our route instead of becoming more and more absorbed in the exhibits!
I imagine that school-teachers could bring their pupils here and help them to acquire a lively interest in a small slice of the complex history of this nation.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    233
    76
    28
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
az
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Excellent museum about French history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a large museum devoted to French history, though you don't need to be a hstory buff to enjoy the fabulous French decorative arts on display. Furnishings, art work, architecture, housewares, etc. Much inormation about the French revolution. Beautiful displays. The rooms are filled with information about everyday life of the French people, using old paintings, models, furnishings, etc. If you know no French, do get the audioguide. Plan to spend about 2 hours, or more.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“a jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Excellent small museum, beautiful, nicely situated in the Marais too for shopping and coffee afterwards. A real jewel of a museum

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“exhausting but pretty cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Amazing for a free attraction, but we got pretty tired and had to head for the exit after a couple of hours, having seen only a fraction of the collection.

The rooms on the French Revolution were very interesting, with the paintings evolving from the early optimism to the subsequent horrors.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This must be Paris' best-kept secret, and we ran into other tourists who concur. Loved this FREE museum focused on Paris. Fantastic historic view of Paris through eyes of various artists, great history of commune uprising in Paris, wonderful display of old shop signs. Uncrowded and interesting, this should be on everyone's must-do list for Paris!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Carnavalet also viewed

 

Been to Musee Carnavalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee Carnavalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.