We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secrets are getting out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Musee du Louvre

Musee du Louvre
99 rue de Rivoli, 75058 Paris, France
33 01 40 20 50 50
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #7 of 732 attractions in Paris
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Home to Leonardo da Vinci's Mona Lisa, the Louvre is considered the world's greatest art museum, with an unparalleled collection of items covering the full spectrum of art through the ages.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Secrets are getting out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was our second time to visit the Louvre. The Museum Pass secret is out. Last time we arrived about 15 minutes before opening and had our choice of entrances and walked straight in at opening and found ourselves quickly to the Mona Lisa with only about 8 other people in the room. This time, we arrived at the same time, could only use the carousel entrance and had to wait about 45 minutes to get in. Still much quicker than if we would have not had the passes but it was ridiculous the amount of people. Still the trip was worth it. Do your homework on the Louvre website and find out where all the pieces you want to see are. Go to the most popular ones first and then you can leisurely look at the others and find other, unexpected treasures. Then go check out the lesser visited museums!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24,765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17,172
    5,602
    1,498
    342
    151
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Huge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

we visited for late night opening on Wednesday and avoided the crowds. The museum is so large you can only do justice to a small section at a time.
Away from the main draw of the uninspiring Mona Lisa there are some amazing artworks.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“It wasn't Bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I think this wasn't bad. The only real issue was the crowds. You weren't really able to get super close to the items you have known or heard about your whole life. The "Mona Lisa" crowd was out of this world. Everything else was very easy to get through. I did enjoy this part of our trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great museum, speaks for itself!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

No line this time of year when we arrived at 9:30am. We were able to see all the "highlights" that we were interested in.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comanche
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

What great art! There is something here for everyone. Do a little reading before you go so it won't seem so overwhelming. Like the British Museum, it is so large it can seem daunting, but with a little bit of homework you can see most of the masterpieces you don't want to miss. The Denon and Sully wings contain most of the "must see's".
Winged Victory is being restored and is not available to view currently and Liberty Leading the People is on loan, but will return soon.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee du Louvre also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Musee du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee du Louvre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Musee du Louvre to your Saves list