We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uSpa at Hotel Fouquet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fouquet's Barriere

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fouquet's Barriere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fouquet's Barriere
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Avenue George V | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Lambertville, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“uSpa at Hotel Fouquet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This review is for the uSpa which is on the lower level of the hotel. I can't seem to find its own entry, so I hope this helps those who want to try it out. Non-guests can pay extra for access to the day spa facilities along with any and all treatments they offer. My girlfriend and I visited during our anniversary trip to Paris and, for the price, was an absolutely delightful experience.

Let me start by saying that, due to our poor planning, we did not bring bathing suits with us to the spa. They cleverly sell them at the spa, however they were in excess of 100 euros each! I was prepared to purchase one for both of us, however they did not have a size small enough for my girlfriend. The woman at the desk was very nice and called several places along the Champs-Elysées to see if anyone was selling them, seeing as though it was the middle of November. Thankfully we were able to purchase them at the Adidas store down the road and came back to enjoy an absolute treat.

We booked a couple's massage and access to the day spa. The spa itself is very well appointed with a large, heated pool and a separate pool with whirlpool jets and waterfall effect showers. Both pools were the same temperature, and neither were "hot tub" temperature. They have a male/female steam room and a sauna which are all very nice. They also have a lounge area with complimentary tea, coffee, water and nuts and dried fruit. They also offer a price fixed menu for 70 euros that gives a nice taste of what the restaurant upstairs has to offer, and you can enjoy it at your leisure in the spa facility.

Our massage was very good, not spectacular, but what really made the experience were the therapists. Jenna and Sarah were marvelous. Very funny and outgoing and since this was my girlfriend's first time getting a real massage, were very accommodating to her needs and likes during the session. Definitely would recommend both of them.

After the massage, we spent more time in the spa facilities, which offer free (fast!) wi-fi and comfortable places to lounge and relax before we headed out to a fabulous dinner.

I would recommend this spa for its location, opulence and extremely friendly staff. The price was very reasonable as well for a place like this. We looked at other places like the spa at the Four Seasons and the Mandarin, but I can't bring myself to pay upwards of 800 euros for a day at the spa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Fouquet's Barriere, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

The entire team of the USpa at the Hotel Fouquet’s Barrière is thrilled to read that you enjoyed their services! Thank you very much of sharing your comments on TripAdvisor and for giving such a detailed explanation of our wonderful Spa!

The USpa is member of the Leading Spas of Leading Hotels of the World and has additionally been rewarded recently Spa-A. The team enjoys making sure that our guests have a relaxing time with us. Thank you as well for your recommendations for Jenna and Sarah, this is a great source of motivation for them!

We all are looking forward to welcome you back to Paris, maybe on your next trip you have the opportunity in staying at the hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Fabrice Moizan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    59
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
74
248
21
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent a wonderful night here in November, and this is definitely the best hotel we have stayed in while in Paris.

The hotel staff were friendly and professional (particularly at the front desk), the room very stylish and spotlessly clean, bathroom was gorgeous (lots of black marble), and we were given some delicious canapes with our drinks in the 2nd floor bar that evening. Supper in the F brasserie - nice ambience - was very French and very expensive.

Being located on the corner of Avenue George Cinq and the Champs Elysees, and very close to the Arc de Triomphe, it is perfectly placed for walking to all the sights of Paris.

In addition to the complementary soft drinks in the mini bar, there were other little treats in the room, such as chocolates and boxes of lovely little biscuits.

All in all we had a lovely, relaxing break in this lovely hotel, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Fouquet's Barriere, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

How wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Fouquet’s Barrière! Thank you very much for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.

Thank you as well for your comments on the service of our staff and particularly on the Front Office staff. I will certainly not miss to share your impressions with them; this will be a great source of motivation!

We are looking forward to your next visit on the beautiful Champs-Elysees!

Yours sincerely,

Fabrice Moizan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed four nights in Paris at Fouquets barrierre and couldn't have been more pleased. We were upgraded to a terrific suite on the fifth floor with a balcony throughout, great view over George V, and of the Eiffel Tower in the distance. While not cheap by any means, the hotel excelled at every turn from the outstanding service, interior design, classic Parisian building with a contemporary feel, beautifully appointed bedrooms, the most comfortable beds, in a terrific location on the corner of the Champs Élysées and George V. Would definitely stay here again, one of the best options in Paris if trying to take advantage of AMEX's Fine Hotels and Resorts program. Quick comments on others: the Meurice, beautiful hotel, perfectly located on the one hand, right by the Louvre on Rue de Rivoli, but also in the middle of super touristy t-shirt and gift shops that would make me want to be somewhere. Plaza Athenee; wow, what a beautiful property right in the middle of classy Rue de Montagne. The Bristol, wonderful location on Rue St. Honore, in the heart of The best shopping in Paris. Hotel Crillon, incredibly majestic place on Rue de Rivoli, just down from the Meurice and clear of tourist shops.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Fouquet's Barriere, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is always such a pleasure to welcome our guests through the American Express Fine Hotels & Resorts Program!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and its services and thank you very much for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Paris in a not too distant future!

Sincerely,

Fabrice Moizan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed 1 night at the hotel Fouquet's Barrièr. It was complimentary night from the Leading Hotels of the World loyalty program. Getting a free night in Paris within the program can be rather challenging as some hotels require a minimum stay of several nights, however the very friendly LHW booking hotline was able to offer us a junior suite at the Fouquet's Barrièr, so we didn’t hesitate.

The hotel is rather conveniently located on the Champs Élysées, the hotel entrance is however on a side road. It is located on the “less busy” side of the Champs Élysées and the Metro Station George V is just 2min walking away. We were greeted by the doorman and our luggage was taken as we were guided to check-in. Check-in was LHW-unspecific conducted inside the room, which is a nice touch!

The hotel is rather small and as such lobby and public areas are fairly compact too, which does give it a cosy atmosphere. The hotel is decorated somewhere between boutique and French modern chic, so don’t expect Louis XIV furniture or antique paintings. Bot overall a decent look'n'feel and more appropriate than trying to fake something "old".

Same goes for the rooms, modern chic but without being too contemporary. Actually it’s a nice mix that suits the location. As motioned, we had a junior suite, rather big (especially for Paris) with high ceelings, facing the inside court of the hotel. It did feature lounge furniture, a desk and make-up table, a decently sized bathroom and walk-in wardrobe. Some nice features were the free mini-bar, complimentary WiFi or Ethernet and a nice gift from Hermès in the bathroom. According to LHW standards we received a complimentary fruit basket and some chocolate pralines.

During check-in a funny situation occurred. We were offered as welcome two glasses of champagne, we gratefully accepted and waited for room service which indeed a few minutes later brought us two EMPTY champagne glasses. Astonished, we did ask the young waitress where we the champagne was and she replied “Oh I don’t know!”. I don’t know if that was meant to be a funny joke from the hotel or a misunderstanding, yet we never received a drink. Strange!

Pool and spa area was typical for a European downtown hotel. Actually not many hotels in Paris seem to offer one. It did feature a small pool, some form of hot-tub-massage basin, steam and dry sauna and a little lounge area with complimentary tea and snacks. Nice to go for a quick swim or hop into the sauna and everything you can really ask for in this category of hotel.

Breakfast was great. It featured a buffet and a choice of cooked dishes you could order from a menu. However; when we were greeted: we were told "you can order whatever you want" and in the end we were only offered eggs. Strange.

A strange situation also happened during check-in in our room. We were offered two welcome glasses of champaign which we gratefully accepted. The charming lady from the reception left the room, reassuring us the champaign will be delivered to our room within a few moments. Indeed, 2min laters; room service with two EMPTY glasses. We asked the room service "and what about the champaign?" and she replied "Oh... I don't know: check the mini bar maybe?". That was it: we have never received the champaign in the end and even if there were any in the mini bar: I wouldn't expect a guest to serve himself? Strange - maybe a joke from the hotel.

All in all a typical European downtown property with great service and modern accommodations at a decent location. It’s not one of Paris’ legacy luxary hotels and I feel this does show in the staff trying extra hard to shine and excel. I would stay here again and I would recommend it to anybody.

+Spa and Pool
+Breakfast
+/-Friendliness of service yet here and there a little inconsistent

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Fouquet's Barriere, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for the detailed comments following your recent stay with us at the Fouquet’s Barrière!
We enjoyed welcoming you with the Leading Hotels of the World Programme and are glad that you were able to redeem your reward certificate in our hotel. What a wonderful way to discover a new property! I am thrilled that you had a wonderful stay with us and we truly hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

I was however concerned about your remarks with the welcome champagne at your arrival. We do indeed propose complimentary drinks at your choice upon arrival in order to help you relax and settle in. Please accept our sincere apologies in regards of this misunderstanding in the delivery. I sincerely hope that you will contact me upon your next reservation and it will be my pleasure to ensure you that this was an exception rather than the rule.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Paris!

Yours sincerely,

Fabrice Moizan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great Hotel at the best location. Of course the rooms are small by American standards but this is Paris! The staff was warm and friendly by any standard. The only negative is that the hotel is directly across the street from the primary Louis Vuitton store in France, this means that your purse can be instantly drained at any time!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong. Facing the Arc with a balcony is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Fouquet's Barriere, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor!

Our rooms do indeed start at 38m2, which is large for Parisian standards. Maybe we can as well show you one of our large suites on your next visits?

Our team is grateful for your generous remarks on their service, thank you for sharing!

We certainly do apologize that our location is that well but we are confident that you enjoyed your shopping time!

We hope to see you soon back in Paris,

Yours sincerely,

Fabrice Moizan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights and we were both extremely happy with the hotel. It's a nice hotel in a convenient location right across from a metro station. There is also a beautiful pool in the hotel that apparently few people know about, because there is nobody there in the mornings.

Our room was very nice and clean and well maintained. However, as others have mentioned too, it's really the service that stands out. The staff is very friendly and they try really hard to make you happy. It's things such as calling you by your last name and sending somebody up immediately when you ask for laundry to be picked up that really make a difference.

We had an issue with the TV in the bathroom and although we only brought it up on the third day since we hadn't had time to use it and thought it was easy to fix, they actually offered us a new room. I was very surprised that they took this so seriously, because I definitely hadn't made a big deal out of it. In fact, I felt kind of bad and told them that we didn't need a room change and that they really shouldn't worry about it. However, when we came back to the room after dinner, there was a bottle of champagne, a plate with macaroons and a note apologizing for the broken TV in the bathroom. I think this was very impressive and it shows how much they care about their guests.

The only thing that didn't seem at the same high level of quality as the rest of the hotel was the breakfast buffet. Nothing major wrong with it, but little things, such as asking for "coffee" 3 times and getting something different each time, and crepes that were lukewarm. At any other hotel you wouldn't have noticed any of this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Fouquet's Barriere, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear guest,

It is always such a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their stay at the Hotel Fouquet’s Barrière and I thank you very much for your wonderful feed-back!

We do apologize for the unfortunate incident with the bathroom TV, we have already changed it following your comments. Indeed, our team takes much pride to ensure that our guest needs are fulfilled and that their service is up to the standards you would certainly expect from a hotel like ours.

I have taken your comments about the breakfast buffet very seriously and our Manager is taking the necessary steps to improve this service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon in Paris!

Yours sincerely,

Fabrice Moizan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

even though its extremely expensive
the rooms are amazing , breath taking , the service aswell is good , as i wouldnt expect in france good service but this is an exception. lovely atmosphere , nice restaurants , i loved this place so much , i plan to do my honeymoon there.
one of the best places in the world

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Fouquet's Barriere, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

It is us to be impressed with an amazing comment like yours! Thank you very much for your kindness in sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and we would love to organize your honeymoon at the Hotel Fouquet’s Barrière!

Looking forward to your future visit,

Yours sincerely,

Fabrice Moizan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fouquet's Barriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fouquet's Barriere

Address: 46 Avenue George V | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Paris
#6 Spa Hotel in Paris
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#44 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fouquet's Barriere 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel Fouquet’s Barrière is in a prime location, right on the corner of the Champs-Élysées and the George V Avenue, making it just a stone’s throw from practically anywhere you want to go, be it museum, cabaret, or concert hall, etc. The hotel boasts elegant and refined contemporary decor by Jacques Garcia, and the extremely spacious rooms 37 sq.m. (400 sq. ft.) to 45 sq.m. (480 sq.ft.) all have luxury bathrooms, where mosaics and mahogany promise pleasure,peace and relaxation! This exceptional Paris hotel also offers suites up to 250 sq.m. (2700 square ft.) in size, perfect for discerning guests in search of elegantsurroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Fouquet's Barriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fouquets Barriere Hotel
Fouquets Barriere Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fouquet's Barriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.