We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and special hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Costes
Save
You added Hotel Costes to your Saves list
239, Rue Saint-Honore | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Palais-Royal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #576 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unique and special hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Costes for four nights. The location in Paris's 1st is excellent because it is surrounded by all of the designer shops but away from the bustle of the 8th. Returning from the hotel after sight seeing and shopping was a pleasure. The hotel is in walking distance to the Louvre, Musee D'Orsay, Place Vendome, and the department stores. The staff at this hotel was efficient and more than helpful. A train strike occurred during our stay and they sent someone by foot to the station grab a last seat for my 80 year old mother in law. Dinner reservations are made quickly. The rooms are on the small side but they are lovely. The housekeeping was excellent. They changed light bulbs and replenished everything that was needed without having to ask. The rooms on the top floor are a bit stuffy so I would try to avoid them. We stayed on the second floor and the ceiling was high and the room was airy and an oasis for us. The spa and pool in the basement are fantastic. The length of the pool is wonderful for swimming laps. The hammam is a perfect size and temperature and the locker room great. I had two excellent treatments, a facial and a massage. The atmosphere at this hotel is unique. The music that is constantly playing is both calming and exciting. It makes you feel good. The scent that is wafting in the air is light and nice. The dim lighting can take a bit of getting used to but once you do it is very nice. The hotel is built around a beautiful courtyard where food and drink is served. There is a lot of excitement and the courtyard buzzes with activity. People are happy to be there. Dinner was outstanding. I hope I will have the opportunity to return to this hotel soon and I recommend it to travelers who like something special and unique.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    128
    45
    35
    56
See reviews for
23
179
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Costes brothers are world reknowned for this hotel! and it's decently worth to experience it.
the original boutique Hotel, very romantic and dramatic entry lobby, and the cafe is my favorite;
rooms a bit small but very cozy, superb location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Personally, I think it has the potential to be a hotel of a better category; the décor was tacky though they try to follow the classic & dynamic decoration of Paris' hotels. Excellent location, regular service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

what a beautiful place. the courtyard was amazing. so classy was the interior one felt really pampered on the soft red sofas. the tables surround the courtyard making it the perfect place to people watch. saw some famous faces when i was there. what a treat. would love to be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is cool,trendy bar and restaurant. There is a smokers bar which was busy during the day, a VIP bar in the back which was empty, and a small bar near the restaurant. If you eat , you can smoke in the restaurant. The drinks are expensive especially for Americans. We had a great time and met some cool peeps from Greece. The one issue I had was with the waitress and the bill. Long story short I would pay cash here. Also I ordered Belvedere that was suppose to be 17 euros , but it came out to be 20 euro. Plus I wanted vodka and tonic so you have to pay for the tonic. Thats common in Paris bars. Tonic was $6 a glass. I ordered two rounds for myself. Anyways make sure you check your bill and sign your credit card receipt at this place.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Beautiful bar, with it's wonderfully furnished and fascinating decor.
It is an escape from the real world, just like what a great bar should be.
Professional, genetically perfect staff with chilled Parisian cool, just get use to it,
and go with the flow, if you want "friendly" this isn't your scene,
go check in to your neighbour bar instead. Like the saying goes, " when in Rome....

I have always been a fan of Costes music and finally made it there, my mecca of bars.
The best things here are the excellent cocktails, and my favourite chill out music,
sounds even better with the whole atmosphere.
Loved every minute there, and hope they don't change a thing, need I say more?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad, Aruba
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Still unbeatable ambiance in the heart of Paris, I see review talking about the snobbishness of the staff, If you go there as a curious you will be treated like one. Service is not the most professional yes but ambiance is cozy, place is beautiful, the Spicy Tuna was with avocado was lovely with a glass of Chablis. All in All a pretty good afternoon hang out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costes

Address: 239, Rue Saint-Honore | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#414 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 82
Also Known As:
Hotel Costes Paris
Costes Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.