We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like a Marquis and Marquise in the Marais” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavillon de la Reine

Save Saved
You added Pavillon de la Reine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pavillon de la Reine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Place des Vosges, 75003 Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Feel like a Marquis and Marquise in the Marais”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

“Quiet luxury” is a total understatement for what you will find at the Pavillon de la Reine ensconced in its commanding position in the elegant Place des Vosges in the heart of the trendy Marais. The serene half-lit hallways and stairs to your cozy rooms make you feel as if you truly are among the nobility slipping through one of those discreet passageways behind the scenes of a great palace. The staff are extremely warm and helpful, the beds fit for royalty, and the little salon so quiet you can hear the champagne bubbles murmuring joyfully in your glass. For the experience alone the blue blood price is a pittance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Directeur général at Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read your "royal" feedback following your recent stay with us at Le Pavillon de la Reine.
To be compared with a great Palace is certainly an honour and we are very pleased that you enjoyed all the small treats and attention to detail .

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again .

Best Regards,
Tim Goddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    67
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
54
230
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Arriving on a cold evening this place was very welcoming. It's dimly lit and can only be described as being "sexy" - and as the great Nigel Tuffnel once correctly remarked "what's wrong with being sexy?".

The breakfast/honesty bar area is a tremendous communal space that woks well both in the morning and at night.

Staff are helpful and friendly - simpy ask and they will sort out whetever you need.

Our room (#12) was lovely - a two story duplex with sofa, chairs and TV downstairs, separate loo and shower/basin room. The shower is top-draw.

The beds are excellent - we both slept very well. It had a double-height door that opens onto the courtyard.

Breakfast was decent with some of my favourite things - fresh passion fruit, pre-cut half pink grapefruits and the coffee was excellent (double espressos with a little jug of warm milk).

There are some imperfections (a little dust, the TV picture wasn't great) but really, who cares? This hotel is in one of the nicest areas of Paris when visiting for a short time and it just feels intimate, cool and as I said before - sexy.

And these days, not many hotels are that.

Room Tip: Room 12 (Junior Suite) is on two floors on the 1st floor and close to the stairs so it's very ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Directeur général at Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your very kind words following your recent stay with us at Le Pavillon de la Reine.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed all the areas of the hotel.
Concerning the TV issue, I have passed this on to our Maintenance team to follow up.

Best Regards,
Tim Goddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Set back from the Place des Vosges in the heart of La Marais this hotel is how it should be done. In no particular order:

-decent sized and well laid out room VERY well located
-super comfy beds, very quiet rooms and black out curtains = a seriously good nights sleep
-fast and hassle free internet
-friendly staff - in particular the wonderful lady who handled breakfast during our stay so efficiently - all with a smile
-outstanding breakfast

The benefit of staying in La Marais on the weekend is that on sunday, unlike other parts of Paris, many of the shops are open.

Downside:

-pricy
-bathroom was a bit tired

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Directeur général at Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like first to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay at Le Pavillon de la Reine.
We are pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay, the comfort of our beds, the service and the breakfast in particular.
It seems that you found most of the service you received to your expectations.
Having read also the "down" part of your comments , please be assured we remain at your disposal if you wish to let us know the potential issues you had with the bathroom, in order to pass this on to our Maintenance team to follow up.

Best Regards,
Tim Goddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We loved this hotel in the Marais district of Paris. Great location in the midst of fun shops, lots of history and easy access to all that Paris has to offer. The staff were wonderful and met our every request. The room was fantastic. They upgraded us with a jr suite. Nice breakfast each morning and wine in the evenings. We enjoyed the lovely little courtyard as a quiet respite. Would definitely go here again!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that looks out onto the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Directeur général at Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Madam,

I was honored to read your feedback following your recent stay with us at Le Pavillon de la Reine.
The entire team and myself were delighted that you enjoyed the attention to detail, the quality of the service and also the charm of one of our courtyards.

We will definitely have the pleasure to welcoming you again,

Best regards,
Tim Goddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Lovely, quiet hotel tucked behind a small portal at the Place des Vosges. Great location with art galleries and wonderful restaurants nearby. Staff could not have been more welcoming and accommodating also for our dog. Room small but comfortable bed with lots of well placed plugs and good reading lights. Nice bath. Honour bar and library downstairs where we could entertain friends we met in Paris. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Directeur général at Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments following your recent stay with us at Le Pavillon de la Reine.
We were delighted to read your feedback and in particular that you enjoyed the professionalism of our teams and the outstanding location of the hotel in the Marais district.
We hope you will come and stay with us again soon.

Best regards,
Tim Goddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and i took a short break to Paris from Nov 5 - 10th and stayed at the PDLR for the first time. We regularly stay at small boutique hotels and this one far exceeded our expectations. The location (right in the Marais on Place de Vosges) was ideal, with great shopping and small family owned bistros everywhere. Great proximity to all the areas people familiar with Paris would want to revisit as well as some smaller museums you might have missed on previous trips. The staff was sepectacular, providing great recommendations on restaurants and shopping. We stayed in a junior suite (#74), which was more than enough room and included both a shower and generous sized tub in the master room as well as a sitting room. Quiet and serene location perfect for a getaway. We will absolutely be staying again upon our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Directeur général at Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at Le Pavillon de la Reine.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed every moment of your stay.
We have passed on your kind words to our teams.

With renewed thanks,
Tim Goddard,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We loved it. Staying in Marais out of the tourist area gave us a different more local perspective of Paris. Hotel was very quaint. Awesome breakfast. Room was a bit small for the price, but nicely outfitted. We look forward to coming again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Directeur général at Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Kendric W,

We were delighted to read your positive feedback following your recent stay with us at The Pavillon de la Reine.
We were pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and all of the service and facilities We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Tim Goddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pavillon de la Reine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon de la Reine

Address: 28 Place des Vosges, 75003 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Hôtel-de-Ville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Paris
#19 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#27 Business Hotel in Paris
#48 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#66 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavillon de la Reine 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Venere, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Pavillon de la Reine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon De La Reine Hotel Paris
Pavillon De La Reine Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavillon de la Reine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.