We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel in the Marais - Place des Vosges” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavillon de la Reine

Save Saved
You added Pavillon de la Reine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pavillon de la Reine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Place des Vosges, 75003 Paris, France (Notre Dame / Marais)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #38 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in the Marais - Place des Vosges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Amazing location in the Marais district literally at the Place des Vosges. This is a very interesting area of the city with convenient access to the Metro and many local galleries, restaurants and boutiques. From morning to dusk the park across the courtyard is filled with people enjoying Parisian outdoor life. The hotel's entrance is a set of glass doors off the main walk. It opens onto a beautiful and secluded courtyard oasis where one can relax with a drink from the honor bar or enjoy an alfresco breakfast. The room was a bit on the small side but it was comfortable and the bathroom facilities were excellent. The staff were all very helpful and rivals the service levels at the very best hotels anywhere. Our breakfast, which was included, offered an array of breads, meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, cereals, etc. You get the drift. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I personally would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Directeur général at Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Ken S,
First we wanted to thank you for your kind comment.
We are really pleased to know that you liked the hotel and the area.
We are sorry that you will find the room a little bit too small but we hope to have the occasion to welcoming you again and that you will find out other rooms in the hotel!
Best regards
Tim Goddard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    321
    71
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
62
238
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I had a rocky start with this place. I was booked in for one night with a friend of mine and due to a sold out hotel and a sick guest , I was bumped to their sister hotel down the street. They did a great job with the bad luck that I had, they took care of me exactly how a hotel of this level should have - aside from covering the room entirely, but i know its France and they have different rules/ways of dealing with things than we americans do. ANYWAY, fast forward and my flight was canceled and I was stuck in Paris another 3 days , I was able to stay here and it was well worth the wait ! The rooms were beautiful, the staff was exactly as they should be and ill easily go back in January when I have to travel for work again. Two thumbs up !

Room Tip: book early , it sells out fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Directeur général at Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear BWBrooklynNY,
First we want to apologize again for the beginning of your stay with us. It was really an unlucky situation that we try to avoid at maximum.
We are really happy that you had the occasion to come in the hotel Le Pavillon de la Reine and we will receive you with a large pleasure on your next trip.
Best regards
Tim Goddard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The wonderful thing about this small intimate hotel is the instant access it gives you to the beautiful Place de Vosges in the very heart of the Marais district of Paris. It's just moments from the door of your room out through the foyer of the beautifully peaceful hotel into the hustle and bustle of the busy Place. That isn't to say that the hotel itself isn't special. It is very special indeed set in what was originally a Royal Palace. The staff couldn't be more helpful and the concierge service is quite brilliant. The hotel itself doesn't have a restaurant as such but the concierge can book any number of dining options for you ranging from the very expensive but equally well thought of Michelin 3 star L'Ambroisie, which is actually in the Place de Vosges, to a range of enchanting reasonably priced Bistros all within easy walking distance. We always enjoy eating at Ma Bourgogne which is again in the Place no more than 100 yards from the hotel.The hotel provides a very good breakfast in it's two lounges, although we prefer to eat taking in the morning atmosphere in the Place de Vosges, together with excellent room service. There is also a well stocked honesty bar. The rooms themselves are very well appointed and the bathrooms come with Molton Brown products that will please the ladies. The hotel now has it's own Spa but it's not a fascility that we have used so others will have to tell you about that. The building itself is so beautiful that people regularly step in from the street to photgraph it.

Room Tip: All rooms well appointed as ever more money buys nore space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Directeur général at Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Duncan A,
We would like to thank you for your kind comment.
We are pleased to know that you felt the special atmosphere of the Place des Vosges and that you spent a good stay with us.
Don't hesitate to come back to test new restaurants in the area!
Best regards
Tim Goddard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Tropez, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just spent three nights at this gem of a hotel, an absolute haven in the centre of this very busy city.
Pavillon de la Reine reflects the elegance of the Place des Vosges, ideal location with restaurants a short walk away. Staff were all excellent, welcoming and curtius. The bed has to be the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept in, a beautiful room and bathroom. Pavillon de la Reine made our stay in Paris very special .
A.Goulty

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Directeur général at Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Adele g,
We are really happy to know that you have liked your experience with us, and we thank you for your comments about the bed!
We hope to welcoming you in another occasion in our hotel.
Best regards
Tim Goddard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We have just checked out after a wonderful stay in this charming hotel. As others have said it is tucked away , set back from the Place des Vosges ( where I am sitting writing this thanks to the free wifi in the park!) the courtyard is a lovely space to relax out of the heat of the day and we took full advantage of the honesty bar.

Our room was # 72 on 4 floor. So quiet and peaceful it was so hard to believe you are in the city. The attention to detail cannot be faulted, well laid out duplex style accommodation was a real bonus. The bathroom was exceptional and spotless and so was the housekeeping.

Breakfast is a highlight, such charming surroundings and so relaxed, excellent high quality produce.

The concierge gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner, Gaspard de la Nuit, excellent food and wine but would have liked a bit more of a buzz. We also enjoyed eating outside in St Catherine's Place, really great for people watching.
The cafes around the Place des Vosages don't want to serve you with just a drink after about 7pm but we found Cafe Hugo accommodating!
A favourite for us is to go to Rue Moffetard on a Sunday and this is an easy half hour wall from the hotel, apart from the big hill at the end!

Really great area to stay and would highly recommend Pavillion de la Reine.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Directeur général at Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Nospringchicken,

We are plaesed to know that you spent a good time in the hotel and in the area. We try to give the best to our guests and we are really happy to know that you felt it.
We hope to have the pleasure to see you in another occasion in the Pavillon de la Reine.
Best regards.
Tim Goddard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had two families stay at the Pavillon de la Reine, and we overwhelming loved it, teens included! The location is ideal in the busy and interesting Marais, but we always loved returning to the quiet and beautiful courtyard of the hotel. The hotel is beautiful and well-appointed throughout. Breakfast in the lobby is lovely, and we took advantage often of the convenient honor bar in the evenings. Concierge helpful and attentive. Sometimes when you stay in Paris, you wonder if you could have done better (hotel-wise), but not the case here. Will recommend and return!

Room Tip: Our group had rooms on three different floors, all were facing inside courtyard, beautiful, and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Directeur général at Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear BayAreaSloz,
We are really pleased to know that you had a good stay with us and that you liked the hotel and the rooms inside the courtyard.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you on another occasion.
Best regards
Tim Goddard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We loved Pavillon de la Reine. We have travelled to Paris many times and this hotel gave us one of our best experiences. The staff starting with the front desk and then including housekeeping, breakfast, and bell staff were all excellent. We had a junior suite that was very nice with probably the nicest bathroom we have had in Paris. The courtyard is a magical place to sit on warm nights--it is hard to believe you are in Paris with all of the serenity. They have an honor bar, which is a great idea. The hotel is in a good location for exploring the Marais, Ile de la Cite, Latin Quater, and Ile St.Louis-and is convenient to the Metro for exploring others. We like to walk so we had no problem walking from the hotel all the way down the Seine to the Eiffel Tower. The Pavillon de la Reine is a marvelous place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Directeur général at Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Big Brion,
We thank you very much for your kind comment. We are pleased that you appreciated your stay and especially the bathroom and the honesty bar.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you a next time in our hotel.
Best Regards
Tim Goddard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pavillon de la Reine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon de la Reine

Address: 28 Place des Vosges, 75003 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Paris
#23 Family Hotel in Paris
#24 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#32 Business Hotel in Paris
#53 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavillon de la Reine 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pavillon de la Reine... A discreet luxury address in the heart of Le Marais! Established in the Place des Vosges, in the heart of Le Marais, both one of the most famous and most historical districts of Paris, the Pavillon de la Reine perpetuates an elegant atmosphere combined with discreet luxury to attract the most stylish globetrotters in the world in their quest for a quiet and discreet place to relax. The Pavillon de la Reine is embellished with its shady gardens s and its distinctive facade. Its historical setting has been totally reviewed by Didier Benderli (Kerylos Interieurs) blended with a contemporary and friendly touch, combining aesthetics with original ideas. The Pavillon de la Reine offers a universe with a subtle and contemporary charm and unexpected combinations of material, colours and styles. The Pavillon de la Reine comprises 54 rooms and suites 4 stars all decorated distinctively, using different shades of colours and furniture. They make use of the surrounding space elegantly and they are in total harmony with the atmosphere unique to ParisHotels Particuliers. Decoration, in some rooms, combines beams with large mirrors and iron bound trunks, while more contemporary dark wood furniture is the focus of other rooms. The Suite de la Reine and Victor Hugo Suite hint at the history of Le Marais comprising graphic literary details, punctuated with a modern decorative touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pavillon de la Reine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon De La Reine Hotel Paris
Pavillon De La Reine Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavillon de la Reine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.