We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montalembert

Save Saved
You added Hotel Montalembert to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Montalembert
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue de Montalembert | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #339 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location for strolling around Paris. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms fine and although on the small side (as expected for Paris) they are well appointed and nicely done. The wifi is a bit on the slow side but other than that there's nothing to complain about. The staff are an asset to the hotel and are very friendly and welcoming. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, General Manager at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Google Translation
Cher MrAwallace,
Je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de laisser un avis sur Trip Advisor.
Nous sommes heureux de lire que vous avez apprécié notre établissement. Nous ne manquerons pas de trasmettre vos compliments aux différents services.
Au plaisir de vous revoir très prochainement au Montalembert,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    96
    35
    25
    13
See reviews for
48
156
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glos, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Booked 3 nights at the Montalembert for our 25th wedding anniversary and were initially quite pleased with the hotel. The room was on the small side and a bit worn but still satisfactory. The location is brilliant for the Left Bank and so much to see and do on the doorstep.
After our stay, in the taxi on the way to the station, we realised we had left behind a Kindle on the table by the bed. We phoned the hotel and asked them to check as we just about had time to return and get it. After waiting as long as we could to hear back we phoned them again, and were told they had not had time to look. When they did phone back we were told the Kindle was gone. This was within an hour or so of us leaving the hotel.
That was disappointing enough from a hotel that prides itself on five stars but when we emailed about a week later to double check the Kindle had not been found we received no reply at all.
Things like this really put me off and I doubt I will book this hotel again. It might have helped if we had felt the staff were concerned or interested in tracking the item down for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yann C, Reservation Manager at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our property for your stay back in November 2012 and also thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

I am as sorry and disappointed as you are regarding the way things were handled by us concerning the loss of your kindle during your stay at the hotel.

I agree we were not efficient enough in replying to your request on your departure day and to your emails after your stay.

Please be assured giving our guests the finest and most personalized service is our top priority and we keep on focusing handling all our guest's requests the quicklest and best way a 5 star hotel should.

I am deeply sorry you had the feeling we did not take in consideration the urgancy and also importance of your claim and I confirm we will definitely make proper trainning to guarantee the deliverance of an upmost service.

I regret you lost your kindle during your stay in Paris but as you know we made internal investigations to find it but with no success. Our housekeeping staff has been working with us for many years now and there is no doubt about their commitment in collecting all the lost items from our guests.

I remain available for any further asisstance and deeply wish we would be able to welcoming you back for your future stay in Paris.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Based on a recommendation from a friend who travels to Paris monthly, we booked this hotel for 4 nights: 2 at the front end of our trip to France, 2 at the end. The hotel is in a fantastic spot if you like to stay Left Bank. Very easy to get around on foot to wherever you need to go.

When we arrived before noon, our room was not ready, which we expected. It would not have been an issue had the weather cooperated so that we could walk around the area until we could get to our room. As the hotel was fully booked and guests weren't rushing to check out, we couldn't get into the room until 3pm. Cynthia at the front desk could not have been more apologetic and helpful and generally seemed upset for us (probably from our bloodshot eyes from flying from the States). She would periodically give us updates on the status of our room and again, apologize which was completely unnecessary. After that, each time she saw us, she greeted us by name and asked about our stay and inquired if we needed anything. On our return to the hotel, she remembered us and again, greeted us with a big smile. She is lovely.

Our room for the first two nights was the Standard room and while very sleek and clean, quite small. Very little storage and room to move around but frankly, we weren't in it that long. We booked the Superior room for the last two nights and it was a significant improvement. The room itself is not huge, but tons of storage for clothes and such, but also much more space in the bathroom. And we had a little balcony with a little view of the Eiffel Tower.

My only complaint with the room which is minor, is that the areas around the faucets in the showers were brown and stained from use. But, that was it.

We only had lunch the first day at the restaurant and it was quite nice. We would sit in the bar area each night and the staff was fantastic in remembering us and how we liked our martinis after the first night. And on occasion, they would provide us with an amuse bouche - nice touch.

And, I am so sorry that I did not get the name of the concierge. He was fantastic. He directed us to two amazing little bistros walking distance from the hotel. We would inquire and he would immediately call and make a reservation. And though the staff at the restaurants spoke English, both places had far more locals in them than tourists and they were happy to help me along as I plodded thru with my French.

I love staying Left Bank and feel fortunate that we found this place. We would absolutely stay here again and recommend it. However, if staying more than a night or two, definitely try to get a Superior or higher room.

Room Tip: Superior and Deluxe rooms definitely have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear KHootch,
We would like to thank you very much for choosing the Hôtel Montalembert for your trip to Paris, and for taking time to write a review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our hotel, rooms and service. I will send your compliments to all the staff members, Cynthia at the front desk in particular.

About your minor complaint, I am sorry about the stained areas you mentioned, we do our best to keep our rooms in pristine order by refreshing them regularly, I will make sure it is taken care of and hope it was not too much of a problem.

We hope having the pleasure of welcoming you at the Hôtel Montalembert very soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyneton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Hotel Montalembert is a fantastic small hotel in the best area of Paris, St Germain. The staff are fantastic, the location perfect and the rooms excellent. We loved our 2 night stay at this beautiful hotel and would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Room 14 was great for us - just at the top of the first flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Brado145,
Thank you very much for choosing the Hôtel Montalembert and for writing this review.
It is a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff and the hotel met your expectations.
We hope having the pleasure of welcoming you once again very soon at the Hôtel Montalembert.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is well situated for the Left Bank area where we like to be when in Paris. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was not ready but we had an upgrade which was acceptable. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Andrew,
Thank you for choosing the Hôtel Montalembert and for taking some time to write a review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend our hotel. We are sorry you were not able to access your room right away and hope it was not too much of an inconvenience. This is, I'm afraid, rather typical during high activity periods such as the time of your stay.

We hope having the pleasure of having you amongst our guests very soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Montelembert for two nights in late December. The service was one of the most friendly I have ever experienced. We have stayed at many well known 5 star establishment but the staff this boutique establishment go well beyond expectation. We were upgraded and since it was my birthday we arrived back in our suite to find a birthday cake and a bottle of champagne in our room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Roger,
Many thanks for your review. It is delightful to read how much you enjoyed your experience at the Hôtel Montalembert, and all the staff was thrilled welcoming you and making your stay special. I will send them your good words.

We hope having the pleasure of welcoming you once more at the Hôtel Montalembert very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the med
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

48 busy hours in Paris where made very easy by this well located hotel with very pleasant staff. The location is great, the surrounding area great for 'mooching' around (and eating) . My only query is that in UK or USA this wouldn't be 5 stars, the rooms are small & just a little 'tired' looking in places. there are also no movies or tea/coffee making facilities, That being said, it's still very nice, the style of our room was modern & simple, the bed large & comfy. The lobby & exterior where very attractive. A couple of times I wished for better lighting in the bedroom but the bathroom was excellently lit. We where given an room upgrade as it was my birthday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear sallyw13,
Thank you for choosing Hôtel Montalembert for your past visit in Paris. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the property and the service. I can see your were quite disappointed by the size of your room. Please be informed our hotel offers upon availability a selection of various room types from 15sqm for our Standards to 40sqm for our Suites. I am also pleased to confirm you we are currently in a process of refreshing all the rooms of our hotel. This maintenance is made every year around the same period during our low season in order to keep our standards of performance and elegance.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you once more very soon at the Hôtel Montalembert.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montalembert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montalembert

Address: 3 Rue de Montalembert | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#142 Family Hotel in Paris
#167 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#305 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#330 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montalembert 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, MrandMrsSmith, Otel, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Montalembert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montalembert Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montalembert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.