We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Montalembert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montalembert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Montalembert to your Saves list
Hotel Montalembert
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue de Montalembert | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #364 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Benfleet
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Montalembert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is well situated for the Left Bank area where we like to be when in Paris. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was not ready but we had an upgrade which was acceptable. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Andrew,
Thank you for choosing the Hôtel Montalembert and for taking some time to write a review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend our hotel. We are sorry you were not able to access your room right away and hope it was not too much of an inconvenience. This is, I'm afraid, rather typical during high activity periods such as the time of your stay.

We hope having the pleasure of having you amongst our guests very soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    100
    37
    26
    13
See reviews for
50
162
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Montelembert for two nights in late December. The service was one of the most friendly I have ever experienced. We have stayed at many well known 5 star establishment but the staff this boutique establishment go well beyond expectation. We were upgraded and since it was my birthday we arrived back in our suite to find a birthday cake and a bottle of champagne in our room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Roger,
Many thanks for your review. It is delightful to read how much you enjoyed your experience at the Hôtel Montalembert, and all the staff was thrilled welcoming you and making your stay special. I will send them your good words.

We hope having the pleasure of welcoming you once more at the Hôtel Montalembert very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the med
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

48 busy hours in Paris where made very easy by this well located hotel with very pleasant staff. The location is great, the surrounding area great for 'mooching' around (and eating) . My only query is that in UK or USA this wouldn't be 5 stars, the rooms are small & just a little 'tired' looking in places. there are also no movies or tea/coffee making facilities, That being said, it's still very nice, the style of our room was modern & simple, the bed large & comfy. The lobby & exterior where very attractive. A couple of times I wished for better lighting in the bedroom but the bathroom was excellently lit. We where given an room upgrade as it was my birthday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear sallyw13,
Thank you for choosing Hôtel Montalembert for your past visit in Paris. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the property and the service. I can see your were quite disappointed by the size of your room. Please be informed our hotel offers upon availability a selection of various room types from 15sqm for our Standards to 40sqm for our Suites. I am also pleased to confirm you we are currently in a process of refreshing all the rooms of our hotel. This maintenance is made every year around the same period during our low season in order to keep our standards of performance and elegance.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you once more very soon at the Hôtel Montalembert.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

a small room, a bath room without ventilation, poor accoustic isolation do not fit with a five star classification in a asuperior room...
breakfast was good and luckyly all the employees were very kind and helpfull.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yann C, Reservation Manager at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your past stay in Paris and also for taking your time to share your comments about our hotel and your recent stay with us.

I took note you highlighted some inconvenients such as the size of your room (Superior room which represents our 2nd room category of 18m2) and also the accoustic isolation.

Concerning the room size, the scale is clearly mentionned on the several websites we are represented. Nevertheless I can understand our first categories (Standard and Superior rooms) can seem a little bit too small but it is a general situation for 99% of the hotels located on the Left Bank which are always smaller than the ones of the Right Bank due to space discrepancy between these 2 parts of the city.
I am pleased to inform you our hotel offers depending on availability of course a total of 5 rooms types from Stnadard rooms (15m2) to Suites (40m2) that allows our guests to select a more spacious room if they want.

Concerning the accoustic issue you mention, I presume you focus your claim on the internal noise that might occur within the hotel as the external noise from the traffic is entirely avoided thank to our soundproof windows.
I apologize for the noise inconvenient during your stay and I would be pleased to discuss further elements of this part with you if you agree in order to isolate the reasons of this disturbance and to update your preferences in term of room assignment.

Despite your disappointment made from the mentionned issues, I hope we will be able to welcome you for an upcoming visit in Paris and make your stay more pleasant and that you would give us the opportunity to show you that we are definitely a 5 star hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Having had to check out of the pont royal due to the appalling service rude and abnxious staff that seems to be common complaint clearly ignored by the general manager it was a pleasure to come back here having stayed years ago the friendliness helpfulness and kindness of the staff could not be more different from the pont royal even on checking in a bottle of champagne was sent to our room as it was my birthday they couldn't have done more to make our stay comfortable and helped recover from our disgraceful treatment receved next door stay here different claSs

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear greenygreeny,
Thank you very much for leaving a review about your experience at the Hotel Montalembert.
We are thrilled to read you had a pleasant stay and that we managed to make you feel confortable and at ease while in Paris.
We hope having the pleasure of welcoming you once more very soon.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Wow, this hotel was just what we wanted- it was typically Parisian and so luxurious! Great central location, a few minutes walk away from the Louvre and situated near a fantastic boulangerie that sells amazing sandwiches. The service was brilliant and all the staff were very helpful. The rooms were a little small compared to others I have stayed in, but this is Paris and they were decorated perfectly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It really is a super place to stay, especially if it your first time in Paris and if you want a very chic hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Hannah,
Many thanks for your review.
We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Montalembert. I will send your good words to the staff.
We hope having the pleasure of welcoming you once more very soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I've stayed at the Montalembert 5 times now and have decided to continue staying there for all my future visits to Paris. The physical building is really not spectacular--still beautiful for the most part, but nothing grand; the main "birdcage" elevator is out-of-service more often than it's in and the postage stamp elevator to its right can be funky. But rooms are clean and cheerful (I like the contemporary rooms more than the so-called classic rooms) and the public spaces are very comfortable and a great place for a cocktail and conversation if one chooses. The absolute best feature of the Montalembert, however, is the staff! Where did they find so many professional, helpful, patient, and overall fabulous people? Whoever does the hiring there should be commended for their good taste and people skills. [Note: Room 66 is available anytime that I'm not in Paris--if I'm in town, though, it's mine!]

Room Tip: Room 66 has a view of the Eiffel Tower and a small terrace to see it from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear bozzart,
Thank you for leaving a review about your stay. It is a pleasure for us to read you enjoyed your experience at the Montalembert. I will send your compliments to the staff. I am sorry about the elevator problems you had while you were here, I will make sure this does not happen again.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you once more at the Hotel Montalembert very soon.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montalembert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montalembert

Address: 3 Rue de Montalembert | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#149 Family Hotel in Paris
#178 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#336 Business Hotel in Paris
#349 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montalembert 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montalembert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montalembert Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montalembert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.