We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty, Service, and Location, Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meurice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meurice to your Saves list
Le Meurice
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Palais-Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #53 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beauty, Service, and Location, Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

In a city that is already stunningly beautiful, Le Meurice stands out, as does its level of service. With the Metro across the street, the Louvre just a couple of blocks away, and the Tuileries Gardens to stroll through, the location is also ideal. No complaints whatsoever, simply loved everything about it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear NewYorkSunWorshipper

I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leaving us such a great rating. I am glad that you appreciated our level of service as well as our convenient location.

I hope to welcome you again at Le Meurice very soon for your next trip to Paris.

Franka Holtmann, General Manager, Le Meurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    114
    45
    19
    12
See reviews for
129
334
47
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were strolling down rue de Rivoli and decided to stop in for a drink, though we were not guests of the hotel. Le Bar 228 is a beautiful bar, dark wood with comfortable leather seating. We were entertained by a piano-bass duo while enjoying our drinks and fois gras canapés. The atmosphere in 228 is first class and the servers are very efficient. It was the perfect place to bask in luxury for a while on a hot July evening in Paris. At 96 euros for 3 drinks and fois gras, Le Bar 228 is not for the faint of wallet, but then, we found very little in Paris that is.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear 4gentexn,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on our bar. I am glad that you enjoyed your entire experience at Bar 228 from the drinks, the the music, not forgetting the quality of our service.

We hope to welcome you again very soon in our establishment.

Kind regards,

Franka Holtmann, General Manager, Le Meurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I need to get one point out of the way. The Le Meurice is a nice hotel. It is withing walking distance to alot of the things one wants to do in Paris. My room was large and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large and really high end. There was of course a high end price that came with that so the accommodations should be exactly as they were. Here is what should not accompany that high price, Attitude. I do not like to arrive at a hotel and feel as though I am a bother to the staff when checking in. When I checked in at Le Meurice I was met by a gentleman who truly wanted to do anything other than check me in to the hotel. During the process I considered going somewhere else but trudged on. Got to the room and as I said it was good. I went down to the lobby restaurant for a late lunch and it turned out the restaurant staff would rather have done anything other than get me food. I was sitting next to a couple from the States who remarked to me on the attitude of the food service staff and told me I should just get used to it as they had experienced that treatment since their arrival. I rolled on and went through a couple of non eventful days and then I need to use the hotel laundry service. Out in the morning and back in the evening is the rule on laundry. When my laundry did not arrive by 7pm in the evening I called the desk and they said they would locate it and get it to me. The next morning I inquired at the desk about the laundry and got that Le Meurice attitude again. I swear asking for anything at this hotel, including finding my laundry you lost, is a problem. There are plenty of places to stay in Paris. I will find a different one next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear TravellingCoroner,

I would like the personally thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, it is valuable to us as we aim for perfection.

I am happy that you enjoyed our location, décor and rooms, and I am however sorry that you could found the attitude of our staff sub-par. This is indeed unacceptable and I will make sure to speak to my staff to resolve the problem. Please be assured this is unusual and in no way reflective of our high standards.

I do hope to welcome you again in our establishment,

Kind regards,

Franka Holtmann, General Manager, Le Meurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
548 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Le Meurice is a very charming hotel, which immediately made me feel that I could only be in Paris. It is located near the Tuileries Garden, very convenient to metro line 1. It is also walking distance to the Lourve, the Seine, Musee D'Orsay, etc.... The only potential downside of the location was that during the summer, the rides in the Tuileries garden involve a lot of screaming children and could be heard in our room. I thought, however, that this added to the experience and really was not problem since we didn't get to bed until 0100, by which time the rides stopped running.

I loved the hotel decor, especially in the room where breakfast was served. Our hotel room had an excellent viewed of the gardens, but we could also see from the Lourve to the Eiffel tower. The room might be considered small for the price of the hotel stay, but based on the location of the hotel I was not surprised. The bathroom, however, was much larger than expected.

Service was excellent, from housekeeping to the concierge. There was often a wait to speak to the concierge ,but that was in part because they were extremely thorough in answering questions. I greatly appreciated that they had tickets to many of the major museums so that I could buy tickets from them and avoid waiting in line.

Breakfast was very good, in terms of the ambience and service although it felt very formal. The food itself was very good, but heavy on the carbohydrates. I did not use the hotel spa but did use the fitness center. Many European hotels do not seem to have large fitness centers so I was grateful to have this but it was very basic (four machines for cardio, free weights and three weight machines).

The only negative I associate with this hotel is that while the room rates are high they do not include breakfast (about 50 euros) and wifi (about 24 euros per device for 24 hours). I was disappointed that complementary wifi was not available in the public areas or in a business center. There are other fine hotels in Paris, such as the Shangri-la, which do offer free guest wifi.

Overall, this was a pleasant experience and great for a holiday. I would think twice about staying here on a business trip due to the internet issues.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Kat0425,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review on Trip Advisor. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you liked our timeless decor and found our quality of service excellent.

I am sorry that you did not find our wifi service on par with other properties and this is something I will discuss with our team.

We do hope to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,

Franka Holtmann, General Manager, Le Meurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Romana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It is hard to explain. It is a simply perfect hotel.

The price is very high, but completely worth it.

I was there during a transit taxi strike, and they repaired my wheelchair.

If there is a heaven on earth, it is there.

The only negative thing I can say is their loaner wheelchair is from WW2, has a wobbly right front tire, like a shopping cart, and the rear wheels squeak.

Other than that, if you want to have a honeymoon in The City Of Lights, and can afford it, Le Meurice is the only place on earth to so.

Six stars.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear HRquadracci,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive comment on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to read about your positive experience with us! Thank you for praising the quality of our hotel. I have duly noted your comment about our wheelchair and we will make sure to have it replaced.

We would be happy to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,

Franka Holtmann, General Manager, Le Meurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I have had afternoon tea in eight different hotels including the Ritz in London but Le Meurice is the best so far. The staff were welcoming and very friendly. At no point did we feel rushed or under pressure other than to enjoy ourselves. The room in which we had the tea was beautiful and very grand, light and airy and the furniture was gorgeous.

The tea itself was served in lovely teapots and crockery. The sandwiches including smoked salmon with herring eggs and beef gravlax and were a step up from the usual formula elsewhere. The scones came with cream, jam and marmalade.

The cakes included a lemon meringue tart and a cherry tart complete with chocolate stem.

A perfect afternoon tea!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear BrennanHertfordshire,

I sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you loved our afternoon tea so much that you called in "The best so far!" I shall pass your kind comments along to our chef and our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife again in the future,

Kind regards,

Franka Holtmann, General Manager, Le Meurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Arkansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was our third stay with Le Meurice, but this time with our kids. We were reminded at every turn why this is our favorite hotel. The staff was there for our every need and especially welcoming to the children. We had connecting rooms that were perfect for our family of four. The rooms and bathrooms were more than large enough to give all of us the space and comfort we needed. As I've said before the location is outstanding, and was perfect for our view of the fireworks on Bastille Day. What a great trip for all of us! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear wll70,

I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leaving such a positive review. I am glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay, felt welcomed and that you had the perfect view to enjoy the Bastille Day fireworks.

We hope to welcome you again for your next stay in Paris.

Franka Holtmann, General Manager, Le Meurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#8 of 1,792 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton
Hotel Brighton
#115 of 1,792 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Continent
Hotel du Continent
#50 of 1,792 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#15 of 1,792 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meurice

Address: 228 rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Paris
#33 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#43 Family Hotel in Paris
#76 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meurice 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, opposite the Tuileries Gardens, lies one of Dorchester Collection’s gems; Le Meurice. Le Meurice, the first Parisian Palace hotel, has presided over Rue de Rivoli since 1835. Since its creation, Le Meurice has carried a sense of the grandeur and splendor of Versailles, of Kings and Queens, Patrons and artists, enthusiasts and adventurers – and has been perfecting l’art de vivre into a fine art for 190 years.Here, the past and present meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Meurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meurice Paris
Le Meurice Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meurice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.