We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel Location and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee

Save Saved
You added Hotel Plaza Athenee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Plaza Athenee
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 avenue Montaigne | L'Hotel s'agrandit, Rendez vous le 1er Juin 2014 pour decouvrir nos nouveautes, 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Beirut
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel Location and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We checked in for 4 nights. The check in was fast, the room was good, spacey, bathroom large, it was comfortable overall. Better than most regular rooms we've had in Paris.

The most outstanding feature in this hotel was the staff, they were all very attentive, immediately responded to all our requests and questions. The service just takes this hotel above the rest.

1 major issue we had and the reason we only give it 4 stars is the internet connection. It was painfully slow and was being disconnected every 2 mins. We informed the hotel and were sent a technician but the problem was not fixed and we were told that the problem is from the company they are contracted with to provide internet to the hotel. That was not a good enough response, since the problem persisted. For a 5 star hotel of the Plaza'a stature, these problems should not exist. I had a lot of business to handle through email that I could not get done It was quite frustrating.

Otherwise, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaathenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest and straight-forward comments. We welcome feedback at all times and will actively address the situation explained in your review.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely,
François Delahaye - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    46
    15
    10
    8
See reviews for
60
167
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed here recently with my partner for our anniversary and it was amazing. The staff in the hotel are so attentive and welcoming. Everyone made us feel at home whilst we were there. The bar is stunning and the team make delicious cocktails.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaathenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are delighted to have added to the success of your anniversary, shall we see you next year?
With best regards,
François Delahaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Utterly sophisticated and full of charme, perfect service, sublime suites, views of the Eiffel Tower, amazing cuisine at Alain Ducasse, quintessential Parisian evenings at Relais, great martinis at the Bar, wonderful spa treatments. I could go on and on ... And I will be back soon :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaathenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback which we are delighted to read.
Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon,
Sincerely,
François Delahaye - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hills Village, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent two nights at the Hotel Plaza Athenee in early May. We arrived at reception, and were upgraded from our adjoining rooms to a two bedroom suite, overlooking the quiet, charming courtyard. We were completely swept away by the elegant atmosphere. The window boxes full of brilliant red geraniums, the spring breeze through the windows, the music of the harpist drifting up from the Gallerie. It was every dream we have ever had of Paris, come to life! We have stayed at some wonderful hotels in the city, including the Ritz and George V, but Plaza Athenee, to me, was the best. Every staff member we encountered at the hotel was exceptional. We especially loved Laurent at Concierge, who made our heavenly trip even more special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaathenee, Directeur général at Hotel Plaza Athenee, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear "Aperitifi",
What a wonderful description of life at the Plaza Athénée! Thank you most sincerely,
François Delahaye, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were treated SO incredibly kindly after a small mistake on our first room. The problem we
encountered and the fact that it was remedied so well made us huge fans of this hotel and
we plan on visiting other hotels in the Dorchester collection as well. If the problem had not
occurred I am not sure we'd have been as impressed as we were. The very best hotels are
the ones who remedy problems in the most customer service based manner. Manager
Sebastian was so kind to us. He upgraded us to a beautiful suite and kept in touch with us
throughout our stay. We have never experienced service as fabulous as the service we
received at the Plaza Athenee. It was simply incredible. We usually stay at Four Seasons, Ritz
Carlton and Aman resorts. The Plaza Athenee was superior to every other hotel experience we
ever had. This was primarily due to the extraordinary grace of Sebastian as well as all of the
staff at the hotel - from the concierge to front desk to room service to housekeeping. Roger in
room service was wonderful. We also had the misfortune of contracting the stomach flu when
we were in London - the flu hit me first in Paris, then my daughter came down with it, then
my husband. The Plaza Athenee made sure we received a visit from a great physician and
then proceeded to send us up extra blankets, tea, water, coca cola and rice which was all we
could eat. This was an unforgettable week for us and we will remember this hotel always.
They took extra special care of us. We look so forward to returning in the future. 5 Stars is not
enough for this property!

Room Tip: Suite on the Avenue offer beautiful views, but all the rooms are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaathenee, Directeur général at Hotel Plaza Athenee, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you most sincerely for this wonderful review and for rewarding us with 6 stars!
Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon to the Plaza Athénée,
François Delahaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everying about the Plaza Athenee is grand. The decor is sumptuous and rich. The staff is the most incredibly helpful and friendly that I have ever experienced. I felt like I had a special relationship with each of the staff, but I am sure they make everyone feel that way. The rooms were large by European standards with all views of either a geranium window box ladened courtyard or of the beautiful rue Montaigne. You are truly almost at the feet of the Eiffel Tower. The one problem I had was that there was little information about the services of the hotel. It was a fabulous romantic stay in Paris with my husband.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaathenee, Directeur général at Hotel Plaza Athenee, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are most grateful for your gracious comments and review of the Plaza Athénée.
I am sorry that you did not receive enough information regarding hotel services, this has duly been taken note of.
Hoping to welcome you again very soon,
Sincerely,
François Delahaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, NJ
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you want old world Paris and a truly unique, classic european experience, we highly recommend it. The rooms are not huge, but tasteful. The restaurant was very good as was the nightclub. The location is excellent as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazaathenee, Directeur général at Hotel Plaza Athenee, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are thrilled that your stay met royal standards and thank you for your kind words.
The Plaza Athénée Palace is more than happy to be your residence away from home!
Sincerely,
François Delahaye - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee

Also Known As:
Plaza Athenee Hotel Paris
Address: 25 avenue Montaigne | L'Hotel s'agrandit, Rendez vous le 1er Juin 2014 pour decouvrir nos nouveautes, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#34 Business Hotel in Paris
#35 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#127 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Travelocity and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Athenee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.