We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Bristol

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Bristol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Bristol
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 rue du Faubourg Saint Honore | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Birmingham
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Special Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Having visited Le Bristol previously, we were persuaded to return and the hotel was all that we could have hoped for and more.

The hotel was very clean and everyone was very friendly. There were a number of celebrities staying at the hotel whilst we were there (including David Beckham) and I was concerned that we might find ourselves being obviously second in line to them but this was not the case. On the contrary, we were made to feel as though we were the special guests who had come to stay.

I hesitate to single any member of staff out for the quality of service we received, as that may suggest (incorrectly) that the unmentioned staff were not on the same par. However, Jean-François on the concierge desk was exceedingly helpful and gave us excellent directions (even if we ran out of luck when we followed them!) and Stéphanie was also fantastic, managing to save the day on more than one occasion – like locating a camera which we could borrow as I had forgotten mine.

The suite we stayed in was very spacious, clean and furnished in character with the hotel as a whole. We could see the Eiffel Tower from it which made our stay more magical and romantic (which is hard to achieve with two children in tow.) We also had a DVD player in the lounge and bedroom. There was plenty of drawer space available. (Travelling with two young children, it often seems to be the case that, whilst there is plenty of hanging space, there is a lack of shelves/drawers for the children’s clothes.)

We chose to take meals in our room – a lot more relaxing with a two year old. The food was excellent and presented beautifully. We had to wait no longer than if we had been in the restaurant and the food was still piping hot when it came. We very much appreciated all the little extras.

I definitely think that we should come back to this hotel – if only to make sure that the service we received this time is in fact the norm! My husband will always remember his 50th Birthday treat (as will I) for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Hotel Le Bristol, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Ms. Woodhouse,

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding the family trip to Le Bristol early last month.

Needless to say we were thrilled that the quality of service met your expectations.
I have passed on your appreciation to Jean-François and Stephanie. You are too kind to have singled them out. It is true that all our guests should feel that they are the most special guests.

Look forward to seeing you and the family in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Leah Marshall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    690
    87
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
165
326
50
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Le Bristol provides even the frequent traveller with an experience of unique elegance, excellence, friendliness, and consistency in all areas. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is uniformly kind, competent and enthusiastic, everything works like a charm and the overall experience is unmatched. What Leah Marshall and her team produce every day is remarkable -- far, far better than the Ritz or Cinque. Make a special effort to stay here; in Paris, don't consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Hotel Le Bristol, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear James_M358 from New York !

Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at Le Bristol in Paris.

We know that our business is such that we can always improve, all the same it is such a boost to know when our guests have truly had a memorable time with us.

We look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future!

Best regards from Paris,

Leah
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Dear Traveler,

I just returned after spending three weeks in Europe. I am very grateful, 5 Star Hotels have become my home away from home.

Le Bristol in Paris is in a league of it's own truly leading in the hospitality business. They are so out front that no one competitor is even in sight! The pride and care every guests receive is truly so very special.

The new Le Bar a spectacular edition making your late evenings especially on the weekend very entertaining with some amazing sounds from some of Paris's most talented DJ's. Le Bristol you might want to consider selling some of the discs by just calling them the sounds from Le Bar.

Hats off to real Top Class operation and absoulutely worthy of this years Travel and Leisure 2013 Best of the Best.

Well deserved and keep up the excellent work!!!!!!! Mr. Anthony J Vecchione NYC

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Hotel Le Bristol, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Vecchione,

You are too kind to take the time to post your thoughts regarding your stay at Le Bristol Paris during your stay in February.

It is understood that when one travels as extensively as you do, it is comfortable when you can say that one hotel is now like ‘home away from home’.

We are really thrilled that you enjoyed our new evening Bar that opened in September. As the majority of guests are from Paris, it is nice for our North American or Anglophone guests to actually realize they are in Paris by being surrounded by French patrons! It is agreed that we need to work on making our own compilation of discs!

Thank you for your positive comments, and your support! It is so much appreciated when our guests recognize our earnest efforts to please each and every guest.

Best regards,

Leah Marshall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The recent addition to the hotel is the new bar a very nice cozy room intime. Atmosphere ,the hotel personal service .nice rooms and very good food offered in all the restaurants of the hotel makes it a very attractive place in paris. It's upper class luxuriously place prices are in line with level

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Hotel Le Bristol, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Yosef L.,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at Le Bristol in February.

Delighted that you enjoyed our new evening Bar that opened in September. It is most popular with the locals, and not sure if you caught the DJ on Thursdays from 7 p.m. or either Friday or Saturday from 9:30 p.m., but they have been a very positive draw.

Look forward to having the pleasure of meeting you on a future visit!

Best regards,

Leah Marshall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

When you are at the top of the class the things that may cause you to fall deep in your customers regard may be very small. Unfair? Maybe. But that is the name of the game in the high end service business; whether it be hotels or anything else. That was what happened the first time we stayed at the Bristol. Small things that annoyed our enjoyment came to overshadow the fact, that the hotel may have delivered on 90%+ of expectations.

Coming back, expectations were high. We arrived on the back of a dialogue with the hotel about some of the grievances that we listed on this site. The dialogue was open and forthcoming, even if we may never agree on all issues. But that is not the point. The point is that by engaging with your customers in a forthright manner you may be understood and sometimes even "forgiven".

We stayed two nights in a junior suite (I recommend room 738 to everyone using that category of rooms) and simply enjoyed every moment.

In part it was due to some of the changes made, especially the introduction of the bar as an add on to the coffee/tee lounge. The bar really works well, not an easy accomplishment in an establishment such as the Bristol. If you're not staying, do go there when the DJ is playing for pre dinner drinks. Great surroundings, great atmosphere.

But the true nature of the greatness rests on three things in our view:

1. The Bristol is the only Hotel that really that exudes the greatness of Paris. It is this greatness that keeps many of us coming back - even if we know that it may actually be hard to find in Paris at times. As hotels go, I believe this may be one of the few places to go for that rare sentiment of being in the middle of a place that truly reflects the fascination of the city you're visiting.

2. At the same time it is also distinctly modern. The staff is of course courteous and helpful. But also warm, personal and attentive in the way that shows you that the person in front of you invests time in making sure you feel relaxed and comfortable. The attention we received, especially from Jean-Marie Burlet was nothing less than extraordinary.

3. The surroundings are truly amazing. You can almost feel the grandeur and the warmth of the place when you walk around the corner at the Elysee and see the bright walls, the overhangs and the lights outside. And the light and the flowers in the spacious reception and lounge area feel so welcoming.

After a bumpy start, we are hooked. We already look forward to coming back again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Hotel Le Bristol, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are truly honoured that you would put us in a category all alone in the amazing city. Thank you for taking the time to post your gracious comments regarding your visit to Le Bristol Paris in February.

The personalized service from a Jean-Marie Burlet as an example, should be the norm for each and every guest. It is true that those very small details are what makes the difference, and you are so correct, that is normal for the top-end of any business.

Thrilled that you enjoyed our new evening Bar that opened in September. It is such a pleasure to see how the locals are also becoming more and more regular, and that is what our in-resident guests enjoy, that Parisian feeling. For your information, DJ from 7 p.m. Thursdays, and Fridays and Saturdays from 9:30 p.m.

I hope to meet you on a return visit in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Leah Marshall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I spent a marvellous time in Bristol Bar with my girlfriend. The new small and confidential bar with a fire place is so beautiful and I was perfectly welcome by the manager Edgar. A perfect and distinguished service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Hotel Le Bristol, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the lovely review.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time in our new evening Bar. Maxime Hoertz, our Chef bartender was awarded “Meilleur Ouvrier de France”, and is only one of two “Meilleur Ouvrier de France”Barman.

Kindly know that Edgar felt truly honored that you singled him out.

Hopefully we will get the chance to meet you by the fireplace on your next visit!

Best regards,

Leah Marshall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montigny-le-Bretonneux, France
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

For our 15th anniversary we decided to try Epicure restaurant. As we live outside Paris and we did not want to take the car after having wine we also booked a room with Amex FHR program.

The restautant itself is great. Service, food, everything was perfect and we really enjoyed this special moment. Attention to detail is genuine. We probably had the best meal in our life. This being said, I usually prefer TripAdvisor for hotel advices so let's move on to the next part.

Check-in was fast & efficient, reception attendant was very kind & warm (acknowledged it was our anniversary and congratulated us). From the very beginning it was like we were 'part of the family'.

We were upgraded to a nice suite looking over the inner garden. Overall hotel is nice, but I expected more. Service is excellent, but the hard product itself shows its age and lacks some modern amenities (like iPod deck, Nespresso machine, no powder room in a big suite, mini bar located in a small corner by the bedroom instead of being in the living area, many strange things like that).

We went to the swimming pool which is very nice, but in need of some upgrading.

Location is good.

Overall we had a very good stay, but if it was not for Epicure I would prefer to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Hotel Le Bristol, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor following your stay in January at Le Bristol.

Delighted to see that on the occasion of your 15th anniversary you chose to be with us, and that your dining experience at Epicure rose to the occasion. To say that it probably was the best meal in your life is the highest compliment the Chef and team could have!

We are equally pleased that your arrival was warm and thoughtful, as “part of the family”, while all the same being efficient.

While we have totally renovated the majority of our guest rooms and suites, we do have a number that are still scheduled to be completely redone, such as the suite in which you stayed overlooking the garden courtyard. The colors may have initially pleased you upon arrival; however, we can appreciate your comments regarding the mini-bar, I-Pod accessibility, and other modern conveniences. All suites that have a pantry or small kitchen are equipped with the Nespresso machine and other items of the nature. Likewise the larger suites have a powder room; however not the smaller suites that are generally not used as much for entertaining.

For your information, we closed the pool for the past two weeks in order to do the necessary preventative maintenance and give it a fresh look. We hope that on the occasion of your next visit you will witness the improvements.

Do not hesitate to let me know when you are looking at a return visit over the weeks to come.

Yours sincerely,

Leah Marshall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bristol

Address: 112 rue du Faubourg Saint Honore | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Paris
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#3 Family Hotel in Paris
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Bristol 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bristol is a unique place in Paris for its exemplary service and great refinement.Located on the elegant Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, at the heart of the city's arts and fashion district, the hotel has been welcoming privileged guests since 1925 and features 188 rooms and suites, all renovated, spacious, bright and decorated in elegant 18th century style.Three star Michelin Chef,Eric Frechon, creates everyday an exceptional, generous and innovative cuisine in the new gastronomic restaurant « Epicure ». ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bristol Paris
Le Bristol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.