We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Bristol

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Bristol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Le Bristol
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 rue du Faubourg Saint Honore | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Birmingham
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Special Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Having visited Le Bristol previously, we were persuaded to return and the hotel was all that we could have hoped for and more.

The hotel was very clean and everyone was very friendly. There were a number of celebrities staying at the hotel whilst we were there (including David Beckham) and I was concerned that we might find ourselves being obviously second in line to them but this was not the case. On the contrary, we were made to feel as though we were the special guests who had come to stay.

I hesitate to single any member of staff out for the quality of service we received, as that may suggest (incorrectly) that the unmentioned staff were not on the same par. However, Jean-François on the concierge desk was exceedingly helpful and gave us excellent directions (even if we ran out of luck when we followed them!) and Stéphanie was also fantastic, managing to save the day on more than one occasion – like locating a camera which we could borrow as I had forgotten mine.

The suite we stayed in was very spacious, clean and furnished in character with the hotel as a whole. We could see the Eiffel Tower from it which made our stay more magical and romantic (which is hard to achieve with two children in tow.) We also had a DVD player in the lounge and bedroom. There was plenty of drawer space available. (Travelling with two young children, it often seems to be the case that, whilst there is plenty of hanging space, there is a lack of shelves/drawers for the children’s clothes.)

We chose to take meals in our room – a lot more relaxing with a two year old. The food was excellent and presented beautifully. We had to wait no longer than if we had been in the restaurant and the food was still piping hot when it came. We very much appreciated all the little extras.

I definitely think that we should come back to this hotel – if only to make sure that the service we received this time is in fact the norm! My husband will always remember his 50th Birthday treat (as will I) for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Hotel Le Bristol, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Ms. Woodhouse,

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding the family trip to Le Bristol early last month.

Needless to say we were thrilled that the quality of service met your expectations.
I have passed on your appreciation to Jean-François and Stephanie. You are too kind to have singled them out. It is true that all our guests should feel that they are the most special guests.

Look forward to seeing you and the family in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Leah Marshall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    589
    70
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
138
276
49
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Le Bristol provides even the frequent traveller with an experience of unique elegance, excellence, friendliness, and consistency in all areas. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is uniformly kind, competent and enthusiastic, everything works like a charm and the overall experience is unmatched. What Leah Marshall and her team produce every day is remarkable -- far, far better than the Ritz or Cinque. Make a special effort to stay here; in Paris, don't consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Hotel Le Bristol, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear James_M358 from New York !

Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at Le Bristol in Paris.

We know that our business is such that we can always improve, all the same it is such a boost to know when our guests have truly had a memorable time with us.

We look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future!

Best regards from Paris,

Leah
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Dear Traveler,

I just returned after spending three weeks in Europe. I am very grateful, 5 Star Hotels have become my home away from home.

Le Bristol in Paris is in a league of it's own truly leading in the hospitality business. They are so out front that no one competitor is even in sight! The pride and care every guests receive is truly so very special.

The new Le Bar a spectacular edition making your late evenings especially on the weekend very entertaining with some amazing sounds from some of Paris's most talented DJ's. Le Bristol you might want to consider selling some of the discs by just calling them the sounds from Le Bar.

Hats off to real Top Class operation and absoulutely worthy of this years Travel and Leisure 2013 Best of the Best.

Well deserved and keep up the excellent work!!!!!!! Mr. Anthony J Vecchione NYC

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Hotel Le Bristol, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Vecchione,

You are too kind to take the time to post your thoughts regarding your stay at Le Bristol Paris during your stay in February.

It is understood that when one travels as extensively as you do, it is comfortable when you can say that one hotel is now like ‘home away from home’.

We are really thrilled that you enjoyed our new evening Bar that opened in September. As the majority of guests are from Paris, it is nice for our North American or Anglophone guests to actually realize they are in Paris by being surrounded by French patrons! It is agreed that we need to work on making our own compilation of discs!

Thank you for your positive comments, and your support! It is so much appreciated when our guests recognize our earnest efforts to please each and every guest.

Best regards,

Leah Marshall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Having stayed here many times over the past twenty years, it amazes me not a little how the quality of the service and the understated but luxurious surroundings have always met or exceeded my expectations. I especially love the two junior suites I always request by room number. Naturally the junior suites are not even close to the top categories suites offered at Le Bristol. Nevertheless we are greeted and cared for as if we had been personally invited by the General Manager. As always, our junior suite, which faces the garden, was sparkling and fresh. The decor is really elegant inasmuch as it isn't over-the-top formal French 18th Century, but an incredible blend of a few exquisite antique pieces, rock crystal chandeliers, and understated fabrics against clean, crisply painted woodwork, mirrored closets and light colored walls. In our idiosyncratic suite, the two columns in the room were cleverly mirrored and a beautiful settee was placed in between them. The bathrooms are just huge, and marbled and understated but so fabulous because of details such as a generous amount of space to actually unpack your items neatly, out of sight. In all the rooms I have been in, including our last suite, I really appreciate the corridor and second set of doors separating the public hall from our suite. The hall is ample, mirrored and is a perfect place to store luggage. It adds great privacy especially with room service deliveries.
Our suite, as always, faced the garden. We ave never been disappointed in our request. The plethora of gracious amenities such as fruit, flowers in an extraordinary, truly lush display, chocolates, macaroons, etc. are constantly replenished.
There is an originality to Le Bristol, a style that is unique and so perfect but still traditional and historic. Nevertheless, the service shines like no other hotel. I've stayed in most of the best hotels in Paris and I have to say every time we reserve, and sometimes more than a year or two will have passed, the team recognizes me and the women in reservations are always happy to have a laugh with me as I try to recall the special requests that are always fulfilled.
Paris, to my mind, is the only major capital in Europe with a hotel-lover's embarrassment of riches in the ultra luxe category of hotels. There are many exquisite hotels, but Le Bristol doesn't shout. it is confident. The rooms are expensive here, as well as at the other Parisian luxury hotels but compared to what one gets in London or Rome, or on the Riviera for that matter, Le Bristol, (and Paris) is absolutely worth it : sensible, perhaps a bargain, in fact: I believe you actually get more tan you pay for. Ad you are in Paris.
I thank Le Bristol for peerless service, great beauty, exquisite taste, and an easy, unstuffy yet still absolutely formal ambience. Le Bristol...I have yet to meet even one employee without a gracious sense of kindness and/or humor. With such a spectacular setting, the location which is central but discreet, and where "my" suite feels as if it were freshly painted and every detail carefully attended to just before my arrival, I join the chorus of well travelled guests who rank Le Bristol as "parfait."

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Hotel Le Bristol, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Francesca Z. from Bruxelles,

Thank you for being so thoughtful in detailing your appreciation of your time with us at Le Bristol Paris over these many years.

It is rare that one takes the time to outline the detail experienced by a certain room accommodation, such as the two junior suites that you particularly enjoy, and the reasons for that.

More importantly are your comments pertaining to the service, our attention to detail by ensuring that special requests are always fulfilled. We agree and know too well that for hotel-lovers, the choice is very rich in the ultra luxe category of hotels’ as you has so correctly pointed out.

We so look forward to having the opportunity of having you and your family with us in the not too distant future. I hope to have the opportunity of meeting you then.

Best regards,

Leah Marshall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The recent addition to the hotel is the new bar a very nice cozy room intime. Atmosphere ,the hotel personal service .nice rooms and very good food offered in all the restaurants of the hotel makes it a very attractive place in paris. It's upper class luxuriously place prices are in line with level

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Hotel Le Bristol, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Yosef L.,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at Le Bristol in February.

Delighted that you enjoyed our new evening Bar that opened in September. It is most popular with the locals, and not sure if you caught the DJ on Thursdays from 7 p.m. or either Friday or Saturday from 9:30 p.m., but they have been a very positive draw.

Look forward to having the pleasure of meeting you on a future visit!

Best regards,

Leah Marshall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

When you are at the top of the class the things that may cause you to fall deep in your customers regard may be very small. Unfair? Maybe. But that is the name of the game in the high end service business; whether it be hotels or anything else. That was what happened the first time we stayed at the Bristol. Small things that annoyed our enjoyment came to overshadow the fact, that the hotel may have delivered on 90%+ of expectations.

Coming back, expectations were high. We arrived on the back of a dialogue with the hotel about some of the grievances that we listed on this site. The dialogue was open and forthcoming, even if we may never agree on all issues. But that is not the point. The point is that by engaging with your customers in a forthright manner you may be understood and sometimes even "forgiven".

We stayed two nights in a junior suite (I recommend room 738 to everyone using that category of rooms) and simply enjoyed every moment.

In part it was due to some of the changes made, especially the introduction of the bar as an add on to the coffee/tee lounge. The bar really works well, not an easy accomplishment in an establishment such as the Bristol. If you're not staying, do go there when the DJ is playing for pre dinner drinks. Great surroundings, great atmosphere.

But the true nature of the greatness rests on three things in our view:

1. The Bristol is the only Hotel that really that exudes the greatness of Paris. It is this greatness that keeps many of us coming back - even if we know that it may actually be hard to find in Paris at times. As hotels go, I believe this may be one of the few places to go for that rare sentiment of being in the middle of a place that truly reflects the fascination of the city you're visiting.

2. At the same time it is also distinctly modern. The staff is of course courteous and helpful. But also warm, personal and attentive in the way that shows you that the person in front of you invests time in making sure you feel relaxed and comfortable. The attention we received, especially from Jean-Marie Burlet was nothing less than extraordinary.

3. The surroundings are truly amazing. You can almost feel the grandeur and the warmth of the place when you walk around the corner at the Elysee and see the bright walls, the overhangs and the lights outside. And the light and the flowers in the spacious reception and lounge area feel so welcoming.

After a bumpy start, we are hooked. We already look forward to coming back again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Hotel Le Bristol, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are truly honoured that you would put us in a category all alone in the amazing city. Thank you for taking the time to post your gracious comments regarding your visit to Le Bristol Paris in February.

The personalized service from a Jean-Marie Burlet as an example, should be the norm for each and every guest. It is true that those very small details are what makes the difference, and you are so correct, that is normal for the top-end of any business.

Thrilled that you enjoyed our new evening Bar that opened in September. It is such a pleasure to see how the locals are also becoming more and more regular, and that is what our in-resident guests enjoy, that Parisian feeling. For your information, DJ from 7 p.m. Thursdays, and Fridays and Saturdays from 9:30 p.m.

I hope to meet you on a return visit in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Leah Marshall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I spent a marvellous time in Bristol Bar with my girlfriend. The new small and confidential bar with a fire place is so beautiful and I was perfectly welcome by the manager Edgar. A perfect and distinguished service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Hotel Le Bristol, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the lovely review.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time in our new evening Bar. Maxime Hoertz, our Chef bartender was awarded “Meilleur Ouvrier de France”, and is only one of two “Meilleur Ouvrier de France”Barman.

Kindly know that Edgar felt truly honored that you singled him out.

Hopefully we will get the chance to meet you by the fireplace on your next visit!

Best regards,

Leah Marshall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bristol

Also Known As:
Le Bristol Paris
Le Bristol Hotel
Address: 112 rue du Faubourg Saint Honore | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paris
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#17 Business Hotel in Paris
#202 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Le Bristol 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bristol is a unique place in Paris for its exemplary service and great refinement.Located on the elegant Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, at the heart of the city's arts and fashion district, the hotel has been welcoming privileged guests since 1925 and features 188 rooms and suites, all renovated, spacious, bright and decorated in elegant 18th century style.Three star Michelin Chef,Eric Frechon, creates everyday an exceptional, generous and innovative cuisine in the new gastronomic restaurant « Epicure ». ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.