We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and Great Location in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Pavillon Des Lettres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Pavillon Des Lettres to your Saves list
Hotel Le Pavillon Des Lettres
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 rue des Saussaies, 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #111 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel and Great Location in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here on the front and back end of our month in France. Wanted a quiet and small hotel and Le Pavillon was the perfect fit. The staff was always pleasant and most helpful is arranging reservations. The rooms were small but wonderfully done. The location was the best as you could walk to all of the central Paris sites. Looking forward to returning here on our next visit.

Room Tip: Request the corner suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAVILLONDESLETTRES, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Pavillon Des Lettres, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Mr Parker
We hope that this bracket in Le Pavillon des Lettres closed in beauty your stay in France. We are thankful for your message to our staff – our hotel and our rooms are indeed Parisian boutique-hotel size but we are happy that you liked the arrangement. Hope to see you back very soon, our Junior Suites are larger and might be more what you are looking for.


Best regards
Benoit Saudemont
Front of house manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    47
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
70
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bali
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

i only had one problem
the free internet pass word was like this H7j(%$asG33m
completely insane
Well its been fixed simple
it funny how such a small thing was too much
i was just about to tell them a story about a girl named mary who told them to eat cake
and the manager merged an done!!!

Room Tip: all different sizes check
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAVILLONDESLETTRES, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Pavillon Des Lettres, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you very much for your loyalty to our hotel. It is always a pleasure to have you among us. The internet connection in our hotel has indeed been recently changed by the new management and your comments from your previous stay were very useful and helped us to improve the wifi service for our guests.
We look much forward to seeing you back soon.

Benoit Saudemont
Front office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We wanted the charm of a typical Parisian hotel ,but with modern comfortable rooms, big fluffy white towels, luxurious cotton sheets and space to chill out after a long days sightseeing. The rooms were small, but ours was a corner room, very light and airy with two en-suite bathrooms (perfect)! I expected the room to be small, so the size didn't concern me as much as my other half who likes plenty of space! My only gripe about the room was the hair dryer so if that is an important issue take your own. As this was a luxury boutique hotel I presumed the hairdryer would live up to those standards too! The bed was really comfortable, everything was spotless and the towels were the perfect fluffiness! We didn't have breakfast in the hotel ,but do bear in mind that on a Sunday, the streets nearest the hotel are very quiet and few bars and cafes are open.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and really unobtrusive. This was fine for us and most of the time it felt like we were the only ones in the hotel. It is in a very quiet yet central location, but within a pleasant walk of Champs-Elysees and Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honore for window shopping. If you want more night life and buzz then this hotel isn't a great location as at night it's very quiet with few cafes and bars within a ten minute walk. This does mean you should have a pleasant nights sleep though!
All in all, an attractive hotel in a peaceful, safe yet central location within easy reach of all major sights. It's within a ten minute walk from a metro station and if like us you prefer to walk everywhere then it is a perfect base for that too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAVILLONDESLETTRES, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Pavillon Des Lettres, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Your feedback on your experience and your comments on our property, the facilities and the location are very valuable for our future guests and our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Benoit Saudemont
Front office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights (March 27 to April 4) at this nice hotel in the 8th arrondissement. Well situated. (Champ Elysee. La Madeleine. Place de la Concorde.) Quiet street near French ministry buildings. Lots of security. Nice little convenience store on the corner. The owner is very friendly. The nearest Metro station (Miromesnil) is 5 minutes away (the other, La Madeleine, is 10 minutes away walking at a slow pace). Rooms were small (You can only slow dance with your partner), but clean and efficient. Comfortable bed and good size bathroom with a rain shower head. Our room included breakfast and that was a great way to start the day. (You can also get breakfast brought to your room at no extra charge.) The breakfast attendants were great. Continental breakfast plus scramble eggs and bacon (or you can get the attendant to cook you some eggs the way you like it). Front desk staff were good and friendly. The concierge was very helpful. We felt at home and secure. Excellent value for the price. We would definitely stay again at this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAVILLONDESLETTRES, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Pavillon Des Lettres, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like thank you for having chosen Le Pavillon des Lettres for your last stay in Paris.
I will forward your nice feed back to our staff and we thank you for your comments on our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay among us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Benoit Saudemont
Front office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Again, I was between a 4 and 5 stars... Going to give 5 because of the service.

We stayed during New Year's, 4 nights.

My only remarks:
- The room is really small. I know, it's Paris! I have been to other hotels there, but this one was really really small. There was no place to leave the luggage except in the way.
- The glass door of the bathroom, it always looks nice, but is never very functional...
- The Internet works fine, but the password thing is annoying. You have to type the password every time after disconnecting, for Iphones and Ipads especially it gets annoying after a while.

The good things:
- The room is really nice, very well decorated, modern style.
- The staff was great, very friendly, very helpful.
- Breakfast was very good. Not a lot of options, but enough and great quality in the small restaurant.
- Central location, close to Champs Elysee, close to the subway, to the shopping areas.
- The cleaning staff was great. They really organized the room every morning, folding clothes and the like.
- On new year's, they offered us a bottle of prosecco and handmade chocolate.

Overall a great experience, it is a charming hotel.

Room Tip: Pictures are from room Q, for Queiroz. Each room is a letter, a Writer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

If you are thinking of trying this hotel because you are a fan (as we are of the big sister hotel Le Pavillon de la Reine ) then a couple of points to note. The breakfast is not as good or well organised (staff are sometimes hard to find ) and the reception was often manned by one person eg no help for getting luggage down on checkout this is despite a very awkward need to cross a spiral staircase which separates some rooms from the lift (and we had a number of heavy bags). Also the quality and experience of the reception and concierge staff at la Reine is much more professional. Here it seemed the Internet was the only real source of restaurant recommendations and no value add when booking other attractions. All of this contrasts our previous couple of visits to de la Reine. Having said that there is some price difference.

On the plus side the staff are young and enthusiastic and the hotel is very well located to shopping and attractions. It is located right near a number of French ministry buildings which did see one of our street exits from the hotel blocked during our stay due to a protest.

The rooms are very modernly decorated with excellent TV and Internet. They are a typical Parisian size but very quiet.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A small quality hotel right beside the Élysées palace. Style is literary, with all rooms names after writers. Decor is stylish and fresh. Very clean. Lots of nice little touches that show care and attention to quality. We had to connecting rooms for us and 2 children. All turned out exactly as was explained to us. The top marks go to the excellent staff. Benoit is the head concierge. Very intelligent, and proactive. Almost like an executive PA. All offered with a smile. Outstanding. Breakfast in the morning good. High quality of the basic this, like OJ. No skimping on these things tells a lot. In short, a great place, that we enjoyed a great deal. Rooms are not so big, but very very cosy and high quality. Staff great. Felt like home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Pavillon Des Lettres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Pavillon Des Lettres

Address: 12 rue des Saussaies, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Pavillon Des Lettres 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon des Lettres... The 1 st Paris literary hotel ! In the image of the 26 letters of the alphabet, the rooms and suites of the Pavillon des Lettres reveal the beauty and poetry of the various authors. Behind each door hides the spirit of a poet, a writer, an impassioned virtuoso, a genius, which will give a special atmosphere to the room, with the help in particular of extracts chosen and printed on the walls. A few steps from the Champs-Elysees, the Pavillon des Lettres opens the doors of Paris fashion and trends to you. It is excellently located close to the Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honore, symbol of haute couture and refinement and composed of art galleries, embassies and luxury shops. At the heart of the prestigious neighbourhood of the Elysee Palace and Place Beauvau, the Sotheby's and Christies galleries, just a few steps from the Place de la Concorde and the Grand Palais, the Pavillon des Lettres breathes luxurious elegance and the muffled charm of the great houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Pavillon Des Lettres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Pavillon Des Lettres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.