We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful at the top!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arc de Triomphe

Arc de Triomphe
Place Charles de Gaulle, 75008 Paris, France
01 55 37 73 77
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$60*
and up
Romantic Horse and Carriage Ride through Paris
Ranked #24 of 636 Attractions in Paris
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Arc de triomphe was begun in 1806, on the orders of Napoleon I to honour the victories of his Grande Armée. Inspired by the great arches of antiquity, the monument combines the commemorative with the symbolic and it has always played a major role in the national republican consciousness. Every evening, the flame is lit on the tomb of the Unknown Soldier from the Great War. An exhibition portrays the history and explains its symbolic importance, nationally as well as internationally. The terrace provides superb views both by day and night across the city and its great sweeping avenues.-Opening hours : April to September: from 10 a.m. to 11 p.m.; October to March: from 10 a.m. to 10.30 p.m.-Closed: 1st January, 1st May, 8th May (morning), 14th July (morning), 11th November (morning), 25th December-Entry fees: Adults = 9,5 €; Concessions = 6 €; Free admission: 18-25 years old* (citizens of one of the 27 countries of the EU or are non-European permanent residents of France) * excluding school groups
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful at the top!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Really very worthwhile for the view from the top with all the avenues stretching away throughout Paris !

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,869
    3,462
    836
    80
    29
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tears ... It was so beautiful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I arrived at night.... Driving into the city by taxi from the airport, my first visit to Paris ! When at once there it was, I saw THE Arc before anything else ... It was such an overwhelmingly beautiful sight I literally came to tears !! I returned during the day and again after dark, walking up the Champs Élysées ....absolutely breathtaking !!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is one of the only days that it did not rain, we were not able to go up but we loved just being in that spot. The lines were too long and with two yound kids it was painfull but we will try again when we go.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The best view of paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've been to Paris 6 times and every time i come back here. The view is amazing and the perspective that you see is stunning. You can see the Eiffel tower and if you are lucky to be there around 8 30 in summer of earlier on in winter, you can see a beautiful sunset at la défense! So go, its a real must and you wont regret it !! Be prepared to climb a little bit, not that much! You are not too high like at the Eifell Tower so you can actually see paris and all the Haussmann work. The line was never more than 30 min.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Move over Eiffel Tower”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

While the Eiffel Tower seems to be the darling of Paris, I was overcome by the beauty and majesty of the Arc de Triomphe. It embodies one word power. The carvings are awe inspiring and the view from the top unforgetable. As you journey 360 degrees around the top, the 12 roads leading off into the distance look like the spokes of a gigantic wheel. The tree lined avenues, the hustle and bustle of the traffic, and the milling around of cointless people took my breath away. This is one sight that I wish everyone could see.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arc de Triomphe also viewed

 

Been to Arc de Triomphe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arc de Triomphe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.