We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musee Rodin

Musee Rodin
79 rue de Varenne, 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)
+33 1 44 18 61 10
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #7 of 762 Attractions in Paris
Type: Art Museums, Gardens, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in this 18th-century hotel (Hotel Biron), Musee Rodin holds an impressive collection of works by this famous French sculptor and his circle as Camille Claudel. The museum also features an exquisit garden and a temporary exhibition hall.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Garden visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Only visited the garden but it was great. Entry just 2 euros and it was a classic French style formal garden, with The Thinker, The Gates of Hell and other Rodin sculptures. Like the Tuileries but with awesome art and no crowds! Best 2 euros we spent in Paris.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,019
    1,188
    249
    52
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Great Museum - Great Sculpture in a Calm Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We adored this museum

- One other reviewer said it best "An oasis in Paris" as with the lovely gardens this truly is an calming stop (and even on a lightly raining day the gardens were lovely)
- Great collection of sculpture - my art aficionado wife loved them all, but even with my less cultured taste I enjoyed it - and even recognized several works (The Thinker, Gates of Hell).
- On the Paris Museum Pass so you can save money on admission
- Short walk from Orangerie and Invalides so it is easy to visit this along with other great spots on the Left Bank

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I adored this museum, with its beautiful gardens and wonderful collection of sculptures and paintings by Rodin. I liked it above many of its other, more flamboyant counterparts, as it was truly beautiful and relaxing to walk around in. To see The Thinker and The Kiss up close is fantastic, and the museum is situated in a elegant quartier.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This museum has a wonderful garden and grounds. The work in both the museum and grounds is continually amazing with every turn. One of the best you can visit in the city.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Kiss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

So i LOVE LOVE LOVE this artist so for me it was great! I loved the sculptures and the sweet cafe that was placed just on the grounds. it was a little hard to get to but was well worth the circles we walked in. there was a more modern artis displayed there too which was edgy and HOT! a must see!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Rodin also viewed

 

Been to Musee Rodin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee Rodin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.