We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best cafe in Paris?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cafeotheque

La Cafeotheque
52, rue de l'Hotel de Ville, 75004 Paris, France (Le Marais)
+33 1 53 01 83 84
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 190 Coffee & Tea in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Neighborhood: Le Marais
Essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best cafe in Paris?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I am really into my coffee, and I get so frustrated at the poor quality, bitter coffee served routinely at cafes in Paris and elsewhere. La Cafeotheque was a revelation. Very well located near the Seine, lovely decor, a shop area where you can buy your beans and the best coffee I have had in a long while. There is a large selection available, both in style and in choice of bean. We went for the ice coffee and a tarte tatin and it was heavenly. Not cheap, but excellent quality and service.

Give these guys a try and you may not go back to the bitter, burnt coffee you get elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    41
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“At last good coffee in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

After a week in Paris drinking lots of expressos and hot chocolates it was a delight to visit Cafeotheque. Rue de l'Hotel de Ville is located parallel to Quai Hotel de Ville and is easy to find. Its a coffee roaster and coffee provider and the smell of fresh roasting coffee is a delightful way to welcome you to the establishment.

It was about 30 degrees C outside and not much cooler inside with no air conditioning. However, the hosts provided iced water as well as good coffee which in a Parisian setting can translate to great coffee. At 5 euros we received a delicious cafe latte in a large cup, iced water, plus two madelaines and a 80% dark chocolate square. The barrister spent plenty of time getting the coffees just right and the result was coffee heaven. We know now for next time as tomorrow we leave Paris and hope to find something as good in Lyon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Everyone else is right: best coffee in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

While adding a further glowing review seems superfluous, it is true that those who seek a 'real' coffee in this land of cafes will find what they need here. An added bonus is the unhurried atmosphere and space to settle with books and papers. The cupcakes aren't bad either. Grab this address and make your way across the 4th. It will become a daily pilgrimage. Don't hesitate to make a metro trip to reach it if necessary. Metro: St Paul or Pont Marie. Make a half day of it and visit the boutiques nearby (especially rue du Pont Louis-Philippe or rue Vieille du Temple) or the Museum of European Photography. Open 7 days. Drink your coffee here and then (as the Cafeotheque doesn't run to a full menu) grab your lunch-time baguette at the nearby Boulangerie au Petit Versailles du Marais (rue Tiron).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best coffee of Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Is a great place, not only for the coffee, the attention was sublime and the best part is that you can buy the coffee to take home and share with you family and friends. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“You can get a decent coffee in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

It's always puzzled me that Parisians are so fanatical about food and wine (and arguably tea) but are happy to drink some of the worst coffee I've ever tasted. I'm not sure I'd called myself a coffee expert, but I know enough to tell arabica from robusta, and most cafes and bistros in Paris seem to buy cheap robusta beans which they then scald to death in their espresso machines. So La Cafeotheque is a real treasure. There's a growing gourmet coffee scene in Paris, and this place was one of the first to start the trend. It's not cheap, but it's arguably better value than the slop you'll buy at most other places. If you desperately need a good, strong espresso coffee, and you find yourself in the area, do yourself a favour and drop in.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cafeotheque also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Cafeotheque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cafeotheque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.