We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plug-Inn Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Plug-Inn Hostel to your Saves list
Plug-Inn Hostel
7 rue Aristide Bruant, 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

By Paris standards, this was a very decent hostel. The rooms are quite small, but comfortable enough. It had all of the basics; free wifi, clean bathrooms, lockers etc. so I can't complain. The reception staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast is fairly basic (a piece of bread, a croissant, cereal and tea & coffee) but included in the price.
The location is fantastic - a short walk from the Moulin Rouge, Montmarte, heaps of cafés/restaurants and 2 metro stations (Blanche and Abbesses). Considering the low price, I would consider this hostel very good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    129
    72
    9
    8
See reviews for
11
39
84
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teresina, PI
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Rooms are tiny, just like the bathrooms. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm and beds made a very loud noise when we'd move on it. A bit annoying but if you are a heavy sleeper like me, you won't have problems with it. Breakfast is decent. Location is AMAZING! Near bars, restaurants, shops, grocery stores.. 3min walk to train station. This hostel is worth staying simply because it's in a very safe area, where you can walk at night with no fear of getting robbed. Some places in Paris can be very scary at night but this hostel is definitely not it!! Staff is okay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hostel's greatest asset is it's amazing location! It's right in the heart of Montmartre (and not the dodgy end!), just down the road from the artist's square, is a short walk from the Sacre Coeur and surrounded by so many cafes, restaurants, bakeries, bars etc. It's also super close to the metro so great for getting around Paris!

The rooms are basic (what you'd expect from a hostel) but clean (dorms and private rooms both get cleaned every day! Although this means if you're in a dorm, you're locked out from 11am-2pm). We had a private room with en suite (shower, hairdryer etc. Seemed like it had been recently re-done so was rather nice!). The room was small but nice, although could have done with some hooks/hangers for coats etc.

Because this hostel is right in the heart of Montmartre, it's rather small and lacking on decent common areas. There's a little covered courtyard area (although in the daytime it's generally full of people's luggage) and the kitchen/dining area is well equipped but small (only room to seat 24ish people) and is on the basement level so not very inviting. All the rooms open onto a central spiral staircase, so it can be a little noisy at night with people going up and down. ALSO the wifi leaves a lot to be desired, it's very slow and often drops out.

The price is what you'd expect in an expensive city like Paris but considering towels, breakfast (croissant, baguette, cereal, tea, coffee) and linen were all included, it wasn't too bad. And the staff were helpful and friendly enough.

Overall, a perfectly adequate place to stay in an AMAZING part of Paris.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Had all your basic needs, which is pretty much a place to sleep & a good shower. Great place to meet people if you stay in a multi-person room. No AC, gets hot on the higher floors in the spring/summer/fall. Windows open but it's not enough to cool it off. Great location. Staff is helpful. Would stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My experience at Plugg Inn was amazing. The friendly travelers and staff made it incredibly easy to meet people as a lone traveler. Plugg Inn is the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. The bathrooms and kitchen are spotless and sheets and towels are replaces daily. Great heating and hot water at all times. The French breakfast was incredible. The hostel is located just seconds away from countless of bistros, boulangeries, cafes and markets. Its less than a three minute walk to the metro that will take you anywhere in Paris.
Its a wonderfully social hostel and the best part is that the little noise from downstairs will never keep you awake, making it as easy to socialize as it is to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked a room here over New Years for 4 people with a private bathroom and we paid quite handsomely for it... We were less than impressed.

The staff were friendly and happy to help with directions and suggestions, however, this was the only good thing about the hostel.

We arrived in our room and found two sets of bunk beds which were touching each other, rickety to say the least and mattresses (if can call them that) which disappeared when you laid on them.

The toilet and shower were in separate rooms, which sounds good except both rooms were so small they were barely functional. I am a small human being and when I used the toilet my knees touched the walls and I hit my head in the wall multiple times trying to get my pants up...

The shower room was not much bigger and when you used the shower you ended with water all over the bathroom. You could really bend down to wash yourself without hitting your head on the walls or your elbows. I also hit my head int he sink trying to get dressed.

The elevator is a joke, it barely fit two people in it and if you moved while you were in it it felt as though it was going to break.

There was no soap, there were no hand towels, the actual towels could be confused with tea towels, the ladies in the breakfast room were rude, and the 'free wifi' had a three hour limit... Needless to say we found a way around it by using fake emails I.e effyoupluginn@hiotmail.com

Wouldn't stay here again if you paid me!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I was in Plug-Inn in June 2010. The accommodation was good, the bed, the bath, all clean and comfy for a few days stay. I shared a room with other girls and that was just fine.
The trackbacks are that, at least for my experience, there's not enough common areas in the hostel to socialize with other travelers, and as I was traveling alone, I'd use that to meet new people. The breakfast and dinning room were the only moments and places to hangout, and there was not a lot of night action, at least the days I stayed.

The elevator is REALLY small, it's just you and maybe if it's a big suitcase you'll need to make a separate trip just for it.

The personal attending the desk at my time was of great help, very kind and nice to tall to :)
He was the only french friend I meet in that trip :P

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plug-Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plug-Inn Hostel

Address: 7 rue Aristide Bruant, 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The only ‘Boutique Hostel’ in Paris, where style, comfortand value all connect!”We are tucked away in a calm street around the corner from the world-renowned Moulin Rouge, on the way up to the Sacré Coeur and its breathtaking view of Paris.The fresh design and modern touches of our Boutique Hostel compliment perfectly the charm of this historic quarter.The rest of town is accessible on foot, or with the two metro lines (2 & 12). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Plug-Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plug Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plug-Inn Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.