We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'cosy' hostel in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plug-Inn Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Plug-Inn Hostel to your Saves list
Plug-Inn Hostel
7 rue Aristide Bruant, 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A 'cosy' hostel in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We struggled to find somewhere within our price range in Paris and were pleasantly surprised with the Plug Inn. The staff were very welcoming and most spoke good English. The rooms were small but exceptionally clean. We had a twin room with private bathroom which was similarly clean though very small. There was a lift but it was so small that I couldn't bring myself to use it, so hiked the 4 flights of spiral stairs with my backpack. This would be a consideration for others who are not able to use the stairs but don't like small lifts.

Breakfast was included in the rate - a selection of cereals, juice, tea or coffee and one roll and one croissant per person with butter and marmalade avaiable. Perfectly adequate. The kitchen was available for use by guests outside of breakfast hours until late at night.

The hostel is only a few hundred metres from the metro stop (Blanche) and was surrounded by restaurants and other services (convenience stores, bakery, pharmacy etc). We used the metro to get everywhere except the Basilque de Sacre Coeur (which was within walking distance, though uphill). We found the Paris Visite Metro pass (unlimited trips within a specified time period) to be very good value.

Room Tip: If you don't like small lifts or stairs, ask for a room on the lower floors. If you don't mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    129
    72
    9
    8
See reviews for
11
39
84
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

A good location to explore Paris from, but unless you really like walking, you will have to use the metro to get to the main sights. It is in a good area to get groceries and cheap food, and just go for a scenic wander. The street it is on is not that busy but the surroundings streets were quite busy. The staff here were really friendly and helpful. The ladies in the breakfast room, didn't speak much English but enough to instruct you to take one croissant. There was also tea, coffee, cereals and bread for breakfast.

The room was packed tight with a table and two bunks, that were a little rickety. Not the best sleep in this room and its tiny, I had to shove my suitcase opened under the bed. Don't bring a large suitcase to this hostel, unless it fits under the low bed. There is no where to put anything. You definitely couldn't swing a cat in this bathroom. The shower and the toilet were in separate tiny rooms. I saw the bathroom in another room and it was a of a normal size so perhaps they are not all minuscule. But it was all super clean. There was no locker in the room to store your valuables. You can leave your passport with the reception. The hostel is trying to present itself as modern but I think they haven't quite got there. Overall it is a good choice in Paris and most people will enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

we were 5 people travelling in Paris for 3 days and we booked for 5-bed-Dorm with private bathroom. Everything was good and the room was practical , Fit us ! There was a semi outdoor living room for chit chat and Pantry for quick meal !!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed in the triple room for two nights last weekend and it proved so good that I scored loads of drinks from my friends for finding the place.

Firstly we arrived at 11.30am, way before the 3pm check in time but a member of staff went and sorted out the room so that it was ready by the time we had paid.

The location in the middle of Montemarte was the best feature, lots of places to eat and drink near by from cheap boulongerie's and patiseries to high end restaurants. 10 minutes on the metro from Gare Du Nord and about 20 minutes from Norte Dame, Lourve, and Eiffel Tower.

Breakfast was also good for free!

The room is slightly cosy (especially the bathroom) but I guess that should be expected for a modern hostel in such a nice area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bed, private bathroom. Showers were always hot with good water pressure. Beds were very comfortable despite their militant appearance (aside from the top bunk, which my friend said was less comfortable.)

The day shift staff were nice, but the night shift told us we had to have our stuff with us or in the lobby during the afternoon while they cleaned despite staying the next night. We didn't. My friend was pissed we were misinformed and had lugged our packs downstairs.

Other than that though really good:
-comfortable
-hot, high pressure shower
-free wifi in the room
-excellent area of Paris (MontMartre) with lots of eateries and pubs
-easy access from the Metro (5-10 min walk)
-good heating (cold outside, warm in our room)

Really enjoyed it. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We staied there two nights in a double room with private bathroom.
The hotel is nice but claustrophobic, our room was very little, the shower mini, the elevator is an experience per se. I would not recommend it for long stays.
A part from this defect, the cleaniless was good, the staff friendly and the breakfast, included in our offer, was basic but OK.
Our room was quiet, but we had a bathroom next to us, and the walls are so thin that we could hear everything, and sometimes guests have showers in the middle of the night.

The best point I think is the location, in the middle of Montmartre.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

My two friends and I stayed here for 3 nights on a city break and were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the rooms. The hostel was easy to find as it is only a 5 minute walk from Abbesses subway stop and is conveniently located just off of one of the main roads in Montmatre. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm on the 5th floor which had two sets of bunk-beds, an en-suite, and a desk and chair as well. We did initially carry our suitcases up the stairs which was pretty exhausting and then discovered afterwards that there is a lift (probably the smallest lift I've ever seen but a lift all the same which fits 3 people - ideal for us!). The room was quite small and if we had brought bigger bags, we might have struggled a bit for space but it was adequate enough and to be expected in a hostel in the centre of Paris. The en-suite was also quite small but it was clean and did the job which was the main thing. Breakfast was included in the room rate and consisted of a good selection of cereal, bread, croissant and coffee, tea or orange juice. Other positives about this hostel was that it has free computers with internet and also free wifi and also the staff are very helpful and speak very good English too if your French is a bit rusty! Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would choose to stay here again when looking for a good value option in Paris.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plug-Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plug-Inn Hostel

Address: 7 rue Aristide Bruant, 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The only ‘Boutique Hostel’ in Paris, where style, comfortand value all connect!”We are tucked away in a calm street around the corner from the world-renowned Moulin Rouge, on the way up to the Sacré Coeur and its breathtaking view of Paris.The fresh design and modern touches of our Boutique Hostel compliment perfectly the charm of this historic quarter.The rest of town is accessible on foot, or with the two metro lines (2 & 12). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plug-Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plug Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plug-Inn Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.