We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only way to see the Louvre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paris Muse Private Tours

Paris Muse Private Tours
Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)
(011) 33 6 73 77 33 52
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 462 activities in Paris
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Private tours in Paris
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The only way to see the Louvre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was the way to experience the Louvre for the first time. Sarah, our guide from Paris Muse, was wonderful. We met her outside of the museum and she gave us a great overview of the entire museum and its history, which provided us a really nice introduction. She didn't try to overwhelm us but she made sure that we saw the highlights (the Mona Lisa, the Venus de Milo) but also pointed out some amazing paintings we might have missed.

I chose Paris Muse because I liked how they described their approach on their website and I wasn't disappointed. Sarah provided us with a very thoughtful tour, encouraging us to look closely at different pieces and giving us a lot of information about period the piece was from. On my next trip to Paris I plan on using them again for another tour.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    6
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Worth the money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our private tour of the Treasures of the Louvre with Inge was fantastic. This company is very education oriented. We appreciated her knowledge. The Louvre was VERY crowded yet we never felt rushed or pressed for time. One interesting thing about this tour was the history of the Louvre itself and seeing the building in its stages. Inge also worked in special requests about a painter from the French Revolution. If you only plan to visit the Louvre once in Paris use this company. They are worth the money because they are all experts in the field- not just a tour guide.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicville, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Tour in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We travelled to Paris in mid December 2013. We booked the "If Buildings Could Talk" walking tour with Mary. We are a family of five with three boys ages 11, 9 & 5 and toured with grandparents and two uncles. The boys LOVED this tour! Mary was knowledgeable, sweet and patient with the kids. She helped history come alive for them. They were excited to be able to be such active detectives and truly learned so much about Paris, Victor Hugo and Notre Dame. Mary was great also at answering some of the adults' questions and pointing out sites and landmarks that we were interested in as well. The next day, my family of five visited The Louvre with Laura on the Paris Muse Clues tour. Again, we were very impressed by Laura's knowledge, patience and expertise. The boys LOVED learning how to find clues in the art. They saw so many things that they had read about in school and Laura was really able to bring those things alive and add to their existing knowledge by sharing new stories with them about the art we were seeing. When we ask our children now what their favorite part of their 10 day London/Paris vacation was, without hesitation they say the tours we took with this company!!!! I highly recommend booking with them!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best investment for our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We took the Paris Shopping tour on Dec. 31st. We thought it would involve some actual shopping, yet instead it was an historical walk through the history of shopping and how it began in Paris and where it has evolved to. Mary was our guide and she was incredible. What fun to walk through history and see secret Paris passageways and hear wonderful stories. Such a great tour - best part of our trip. We ended with an incredible view of the rooftops of Paris - something I'll never forget.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our tour of the Louvre was my son's #1 activity during our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Visited the Louvre on November 22 with my husband and 9-year old son. This was our second trip to Paris but our son's first. I had done a lot of research on Louvre tours and opted for Paris Muse based on the uniqueness of the tour and the opportunity to engage our 9-year old son. We had an awesome morning with Mallory, who also happended to be from Texas. Mallory made us feel at home and spent several hours making this the best Louvre tour ever. Our son, Stephen soaked up every minute and was excited to solve his puzzle and get his treasure at the end. I would definitely recommend this tour company and Mallory.

Thank you Mallory for a wonderful day and starting our trip off with such a memorable experience!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paris Muse Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Paris Muse Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paris Muse Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Paris Muse Private Tours to your Saves list