We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel Out of the Crowd” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pierre Nicole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Pierre Nicole to your Saves list
Hotel Pierre Nicole
39 rue Pierre Nicole, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 132 Paris B&B and Inns
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Hotel Out of the Crowd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Hotel Pierre Nicole was a very clean hotel with adequate room size for ourselves and our granddaughter just south of the Luxembourg Gardens. Since it was a 3 minute walk from the Port Royal metro station it was very convenient to catch the RER B train to and from the CDG airport and the metro trains to other points of interest in Paris. It was a short 15 to 20 minute walk from the Montparnasse street market (lots of fun) and the southern Galleries Lafayette. A very French neighborhood with few tourists (a nice break from the tourist hordes). Also within a 2 minute walk were cafes and brasseries and the Academy of Beers restaurant (reasonably priced tasty dishes and a bewilderingly large selection of beers and ales :). The hotel is used mainly by business professionals.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
14
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have just come back from a business trip where I stayed at the Hotel Pierre Nicole.

I chose the hotel based on location as I wanted to be near the RER B line. It is about 3 mins walk to that stop from the hotel, so very convenient. The hotel is tucked away in a side street so I didn't hear much in the way of traffic noise.

The room had amenities like a hairdryer, double bed and a TV, but no safe inside the room (although you could use a safe allocated to your room for free which was based at reception). The room and bathroom were both of a decent size for Paris and very clean. The room was a little dark but this didn't bother me.

Breakfast could be improved at this hotel. For 10 Euros you get half a baguette, a croissant, orange juice and coffee/tea brought to your table, and access to the egg boiler and the cornflakes. I would have liked a wider range of options and help-yourself croissants, bread and orange juice.

The reception staff were very friendly and let me try out my French on them, but spoke in very good English when I got stuck. Checkout was painless.

Wifi was available on every floor and with a good signal level, protected with a network key. It was free and I had no problems accessing it.

All in all, would stay here again as it was a bargain price per night! I wouldn't (and didn't bother on the later days of my stay to) have breakfast there, but it was a lovely little hotel and very conveniently located.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Very convenient location, five minutes from RER B on foot, on a main bus route connecting gare Austerlitz and gare Montparnasse, within walking distance of the Sorbonne in one direction and of Denfert-Rocherau and the 14eme in the other. I stayed four days, on a colleague's recommendation, and had time to explore the neighbourhood. My room was comfortable and large enough (huge by Parisian standards) as well as clean and quiet. Staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was a bit sparse, but did offer me the chance to boil my own egg which makes a nice change. Wifi was free and worked well. I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

If you're looking for a convenient location to drop off your stuff and sleep, and are not picky about furnishings, this is a reliable and reasonably-priced choice. Has the feel of a small hotel rather than a b&b.

I came to Paris on a weekend trip (arrived Sat late-morning, left Sunday night) with the sole intention of shopping and eating. Given my tardiness in making any bookings, I was very happy to book Hotel Pierre Nicole given the price and convenient location. The hotel is situated right close to the Port Royal station on the RER B line, a major line that gets you easily to Gare Du Nord. It is in a slightly more residential location, and I generally prefer to be a bit away from the central tourist areas anyway, so this was fine for me. Very covenient to get to Le Marais area for some great shopping, especially on Sundays when most shops are closed. Do expect to take the metro as the location is not exactly a 10 minute walk from major shopping/restaurant/tourist zones.

As far as the hotel itself, the concierge is helpful when you're looking for tips or directions. Service is there but not beyond anything you would expect. The room is small as it just fits a double bed, small closet (more like a rack than a full closet) and a desk... there really isn't any walking room. Decor is a bit old-fashioned. Bathroom - also small but there is hot water, a towel, and two packets of shampoo/soap provided. Note if you take a hot shower, it will steam up the entire room.

I did not opt for the breakfast as it costs an additional 10 euros and you can find much better at cafe's and patisseries.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We needed somewhere inexpensive for an overnight stay and this did the trick. The room was a bit on the small side but the bathroom was clean and the heating worked very well. Breakfast was extra. We liked the location of the hotel as it was about two blocks away from the Port-Royal RER stop which made it easy for us to get around the city. Very helpful staff as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Staff was friendly, welcoming and helpful. The location is perfect for those who use public transportation after arriving at Charles De Gaulle, just a short walk from RER B, Port Royal.
Neighborhood has restaurants and small markets. When comparing other hotels in Paris, the Pierre Nicole offers the best value for money

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is one of my absolute favourites - and was first recommended to me by a local 'Parisian'. The price is very reasonable, the breakfast is good and the location is first class. You are within a 1/2 block of the Port Royal RER station which is a straight 7Euro run from CDG. You can't do better. From here it's walking distance or a couple of stops on the RER to all the famous places. Lots of good places to eat near by and the bus stop to the the RW stations is around the corner. Their is a really great Tunisian coffee shop across the street with fresh salads, tortes and coffee. What else is needed? I've stayed there many times and it's always great. AND they all speak English.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pierre Nicole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pierre Nicole

Address: 39 rue Pierre Nicole, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Pierre Nicole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pierre Nicole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.