We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Element Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Element Hotel to your Saves list
The Element Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 rue d'Aix, 75010 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Moderne du Temple) (Canal Saint-Martin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,604 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good location, nice price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay ended here in September with our 9 year old girls for 2 nights. Lovely room with modern, clean bathroom overlooking courtyard. Really nice architecture in the building with old, polished wood curved stairwell. Our girls had their own beds(no fighting in the double bed for a change) and us a large queen size. No tea/coffee in room- but think this is normal for French hotels?? Good location close to metro and food shops. Great restaurant at bottom end of the larger Street (which rue d'Aix is off). Can't remember price, but was quite reasonable. Reception staff very friendly and gave prompt service (spoke English happily). Only thing is lift is on small side and we had to make 2 trips with bags- but no problem, and lift was modern, not rickety like our London hotel one!!). Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    41
    34
    17
    17
See reviews for
14
60
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was in Paris for a short trip, and had unfortunately booked this dreadful hotel, which must be the worst hotel in the world. The room stank like a discustng sewer which kept me up most of the night...I couldn't wait to leave, rude reception staff, dodgy area, tiny Barbie doll sized room, no room to swing a cat! Yeah! I leave today!!!never again....the only nice thing about this place was the housekeeper, who was very friendly!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am so happy to be leaving this hotel tomorrow, as our stay here could not have been any worse.

1 week before arriving, I sent an email to the hotel is requesting a room with twin beds, to which I received a reply saying this was no problem at all. At check-in, I asked about being allocated a room with twin beds which was met with a blank stare. After a prolonged phone conversation between the reception staff and what I assume to be Housekeeping, we were kept waiting for almost half an hour for a room to be set up with twin beds. Thankfully, a woman who appeared to be in a managerial role did apologize for the wait and offer to make us a coffee, which I thought was kind. Too bad we never saw her again, as she seems to be the only person at this hotel who knows the slightest thing about customer service.

Although the location is relatively close to Republique, it is north of the square in a slightly dodgy area, it feels a bit edgy at night. There has been quite a bit of shouting and commotion on the streets outside the hotel. On the plus side, there is a huge Monoprix supermarket within a two minute walk and many shops and restaurants surrounding the hotel.

The hotel staff, with the exception of the manager? seemed grumpy and unable to assist us with the various problems we have experienced during our stay. The biggest issue has been the terrible, rancid smell coming from the bathroom drains, which could be a symptom of a much larger sewerage system problem. We actually resorted to buying a Fabreeze candle to try to mask the smell in the room, which is quite overpowering! When we mentioned this problem to the reception staff, the response was quite literally a shrug of the shoulders as if to say, what can I do about it?

Since we arrived, the lobby has been full of electricians and workmen, and the reception staff seem far more interested in standing around outside the hotel smoking cigarettes with the electricians than paying any attention to the needs of their guests. The works to the building have a sected the electricity supply to our room which has been off for the majority of our stay. The electricity has been off in our room from the time we got up at 9 a.m. and is still off now, at almost 3 p.m. in the afternoon. we are unable to turn on any lights, use the television, or charge any of our electrical devices. Upon asking when the electricity might be restored, we once again received a completely indifferent response. To be fair, there is a sign posted in the elevator stating that the electricity will be down to the 1st and 6th floors of the hotel during the dates of our stay, but we are on the 5th floor? So not sure why this is affecting us. It has also meant that the electronic key card to our room does not work! & I have twice had to search for a housekeeper to allow us access into the room. It is confusing to me why our card would not work and yet the housekeeper's does?

Our room, number 55, is absolutely tiny, which one expects when traveling in Paris, but the standard of the room in general is very poor. Two sad instant Coffee sachets, with no milk or any cups. The pillows on the bed are stained, the drapes are very old and also stained, the fixtures and fittings are worn and need replacing. There is black mold in the corners and months of dust caked around the window.

Another huge irritation to staying at this property is that they do not allow two key cards to be issued and we are asked to leave our 1 key card at reception each time we leave the hotel. There is no safe in the room and it feels very unsecured, leaving our valuables in the room when we do not even have possession of our key card. Last night, upon returning to the hotel, we asked the night clerk for our key card which we left in his possession, and he fumbled around the desk for quite some time struggling to even find where the room keys were located, amongst the various papers and magazines scattered across his desk? It does not fill me with confidence that the person in charge of reception and holding the keys to the guest's rooms can not even locate them?

I would never stay here again, there are many many other choices in Paris at the same price. Avoid this place.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

We spent 2 nights at this hotel, it was very hot and none of the rooms had air conditioning. We were told that there was an air conditioning ban by the Mayor in the area however after enquiring with another nearby hotel this appeared not to be the case.I asked to speak with the manager however this wasn't possible and i was given a card with an email address to contact them.The rooms were ridiculously hot meaning that we all had a restless night, grumpy children! The room wasn't big enough for 2 adults and 2 children. The bathroom flooded when the shower was on and wasn't big enough.I wouldn't return to this hotel

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Staff was really rude from the beginning, giving us a dirty room; when I came to inform about it, she mentioned that the check in was from 3 pm (different from what say in the site) but, in fact, it was already 5pm. Even when I manage to get a different room, all the beds where full of hair, furniture really dusty and the room stinking so bad that my sin felt sick! Apart from the night porter, no one else smiles or even talk o you! It may be cheap, but doesn't mean that has to be dirty or rude! I would never recommend or be back on such hotel! Shame on you reception and cleaner!

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

This was probably one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at. The bed could not even fit in the room and was pretty much just a mattress on the floor. There was no door to the bathroom and the toilet was right next to the bed. You could hear everything in the hotel, including when others turn on and off their water. The staff is not very friendly and completely unhelpful. We ended up chalking this one up as a loss and paid the extra money to change hotels. The only saving grace is the neighborhood, lots of great places to eat! AVOID!!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I always stay here when I want a hotel in Paris. It is right next to Goncourt Metro station. The 11 line takes you right into Hotel de Ville or Chatelet.

The area is fairly safe, and has a large Arabic/North African population. It is five minutes' walk to Place de la Republique or a twenty minutes walk to the Marais.

The two rooms I've stayed in - while not huge - are a decent size for the price. They are clean and modern.

I had no problems with the wifi either.

The only big downside is that there are no safes in the rooms. They really should put them in the rooms - even if they charged a small fee for the use of them.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Element Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Element Hotel

Address: 3 rue d'Aix, 75010 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Moderne du Temple)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,604 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Element Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Element Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Element Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.