We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Midi Gare de Lyon

Hotel du Midi Gare de Lyon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Midi Gare de Lyon to your Saves list
Hotel du Midi Gare de Lyon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33, rue Traversiere, 75012 Paris, France (Reuilly)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,404 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not bad for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed one night because we flew in in the evening and needed to get on a morning train on the next day. The room was clean and the bathroom was good too, though there was no shower curtain for the bathtub so we needed to be extra careful or squat inside the tub when we took a shower. There doesn't seem to be any elevator in the hotel so if you'll need to carry your luggage up the stairs (we stayed in the top floor too). Breakfast can be purchased at check-in at 7 or 7.5EUR (can't remember) but if you don't absolutely need it, it's not recommended because there were only one croissant, one bread, and a tea/coffee. You can also pour some juice if you want. There was some cereal but they didn't provide any milk so I needed to go and asked them for it. The front desk staff was okay, we didn't expect too much because we arrived at night and left shortly after 6am so he must be quite tired too.

The location is very good, though. It's very near to Gare de Lyon. There are restaurants around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    18
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
8
10
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Having read some of the more recent Trip Advisor reviews of this hotel, I wasn't quite sure what to expect. I had chosen it because of its proximity to the Gare De Lyon and the TGV we were booked to catch the next morning. We booked two rooms - two adults and two teenagers. The rooms were clean and spacious (1st and 2nd floor) and while there wasn't a lift the stairs were not particularly steep. Breakfast was good - fresh bread, croissants, juice, cereals and hot drinks and started at 6:30, even on a Sunday as an aid to rail travellers. Reception was pleasant and helpful and good English was spoken (even though I like to practice my dodgy French). The district around the hotel was good and non-threatening. Wifi was free and worked well in our rooms. The Italian restaurant next door to the hotel was also very good. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in 12 and 24, both were spacious rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night, which was 1 to many, I was on the 3rd floor in the attic and I think the name of the hotel is quite apt, as you would have been ok if you were a midget ! I could sit on the toilet with my head out of velux window in the roof and had to keep ducking down to stop my head hitting the roof, no air con, room smelt like it had been used as a toilet and it was the hottest day in Paris so far this year, had to shower 3 times, which leaked all over and I was like trying to take a shower in a condom.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Front desk was helpful upon arrival although our room was not ready we didn't have to wait long. Clean. Bathtub only with shower head, but no shower curtain. Some mold on bathroom ceiling, and wood on windows are crumbling from rot. No a/c so can't imagine being here in the summer. Not bad, but expensive for what is offered.

Room Tip: No elevator. Stairs are narrow and winding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenoble
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

My first reaction when entering the room was to open the window as it was stinking.
I was on the 3rd floor (without elevator) as the large majority of the rooms.
The paint on the ceiling of the restroom was falling by part (see pictures), the carpet of the room not very clean...
However with the window open (I was on the back of the hotel), the nignt was very good (due to a good mattress and the breakfast correct.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The service was poor and recepcionist ( owner) was very rude and insulting.
The room was small and dirty with bugs on the wall and restroom.
Without having air conditioner, the room was hot and noisy.
There was no elevator and steps were kind of broken and carrying luggage to 3rd floor was not fun.

I do not recommend this hotel to anyone . With this price I could get better hotel a couple of miles away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The pictures posted on this site are so far of showing how the rooms really look like; they are so small and too hot, there is not air conditioning, not elevator and nobody willing to help you with your luggage.
The carpet was dirty, the towels are pretty old and the beds are old and noisy. you cannot sleep well cause of that.
The breakfast is expensive compared with what you get.
I must say it was not my best experience

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Midi Gare de Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Midi Gare de Lyon

Address: 33, rue Traversiere, 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Reuilly
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,404 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Midi Gare de Lyon 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Midi Gare de Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Midi Gare de Lyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.