We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm charming bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Verre a Pied

Le Verre a Pied
118 bis, rue Mouffetard | M°Censier-Daubanton, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,940 of 12,477 restaurants in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Panthéon
Campinas, Brasil
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Warm charming bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

A simple, traditional, full of authenthic Parisian atmosphere. Straight forward menu, well cooked. Comfort food is there if you like. Don't expect extreme amability from personnel. But it is just their way. They are aware of you and timing of wine and food arriving at the table is perfect. The owner from dar away noticed the wrong wine was sent to me and immediately changed it. Definitely a place to go back many times.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    12
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good local french food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our guide from City free tours suggested this place, after an enquiry by us. Very small, intimate, excellent service from the bar/waiter person. The rhubarb slow cooked lamb was fantastic and so was the Sauvignon from the Loire

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Authentic and friendly experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of those places that makes you feel good for visiting. The family that run the restaurant are friendly and helpful, the food is simple and tasty and it feels like a small restaurant in Paris should.

I visited for lunch and had the roast beef with potato gratin. The roast beef was rare, just how I like it, and the gratin very nice.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Charming, small, authentic cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We found this small restaurant in the Left Bank district on the recommendation of a tour guide. She was careful to qualify that it was "simple, just a few choices, but they are well prepared." All true. We arrived early, about 6:30 p.m. and sat hungrily with a beer and VERY inexpensive vin du pays (not great but you get what you pay for and this was $3.50 Euros--they had other pricier and probably tastier choices). The waiter spoke only a little English but he helped us detemine the main course choices--pork casserole, chicken and fish. We both had he pork and it was fabulous, served very simply with well prepared potatoes. The bread was fresh and delicious, made with unbleached flour in "country bread" style. At 14 Euros each for the main course it was a real buy!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We instantly felt we had walked into a proper French cafe, the service was friendly, the food, although not a large menu, is freshly cooked and very tasty.The selection of wine was interesting and the atmosphere was wonderful, what I came to Paris to experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Verre a Pied also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Verre a Pied? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Verre a Pied, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.