We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected but more than we had hoped for !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Societe

La Societe
4, place de Saint Germain des Pres | Saint-Germain-des-Prés, 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)
0153636060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,146 of 13,448 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $61 - $183
Cuisines: French, Italian, Gastropub, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Luxembourg
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not what we expected but more than we had hoped for !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I stubbled across this place in Paris in June this year. At first we were a little sceptical because everyone around us seemed like they belonged in French Vogue (including my beautiful wife and the staff). But from the moment we sat down, we were very much impressed. The food , service, location and ambience were excellent. The waiters were very helpful and made us feel very special. We sat outside but inside would have been just as nice.
I would recommend this especially for couples.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    138
    48
    26
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“THE WORST”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

If you want to have one of the most terrible evenings this is the restaurant. When you arrive you are made to feel as if you do not belong. Once you are finally seated you are approached by your server as if they were doing you a favor. The food quality is so poor, that I do not understand why this restaurant is so popular.You see all the "beautiful" people come in, but so what...I guess they come for appearances. Expensive and not worth it. So many better choices in Paris. Do not wast your time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Carlo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

From the moment we walked in till the moment we left we enjoyed our dining experience
The captain seated us outside, at our request, then was very gracious when we asked to be moved inside because we were chilly.
The waitress could not have been more charming or helpful.
We had to wait a bit too long for our main course, but the waitress brought us complimentary drinks to compensate.
The food, by the way, was excellent!
We will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“International feel in the heart of Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I wanted a "trendy" restaurant in the center if Paris and was introduced to La Societe by a Paris office colleague. I was told this is the latest restaurant of the Costes brother and I was not surprised to find the same feel as in the Hotel Costes which I used intensively a few years back. Overall, great atmosphere in the restaurant, and very fashionable waitresses. Our waiter was wearing a kilt!
The food taste was ok but not excellent and the wine list did offer a good match to the menu. Prices were slightly high for Paris but in line with the deco and the Costes signature.
I will definitely go back there with friends during my visits to Paris.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
503 reviews 503 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Really Great - Perhaps a tad overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great food and great service here. But they are trading on a novelty factor I think. With the staff all "off the catwalk" in paris - which they may have been...

The food was really really good - but for the money I was still expecting a bit more to be honest.

Great wine list - again quite expensive.

So had a really great time here, but left feeling like I had overpaid a bit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Societe also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Societe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Societe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.