We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Societe

La Societe
4, place de Saint Germain des Pres | Saint-Germain-des-Prés, 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)
0153636060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,150 of 13,440 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $61 - $184
Cuisines: French, Italian, Gastropub, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Luxembourg
Dakar, Senegal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chic and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I ought to preface this review by saying that I may be slightly biased about La Societe in that when I ate lunch there I had just proposed to my girlfriend near the Louvre, she accepted, and we were both deliriously happy.

That said, this place was really fantastic. There is a very clean, modern feel to the decor and the waiters and waitresses dress in black-with-attitude. We were greeted warmly, shown to a table, and congratulated.

We ordered the escargot and spicy raw tuna appetizers and both were fantastic. The snails were garlicky and buttery and served with toast straws. The tuna was sliced thin and served on a bed of thin, ripe avocado. Lunch was filet mignon and crispy duck breast... both cooked perfectly.

This restaurant topped out at one of the most expensive meals ever for us, but for very special occasions, or those who don't mind paying top dollar for some really elegant and delicious food, La Societe is the place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    138
    48
    26
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Epse, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Resto fashion ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you like fashionable places with beautiful people , a nice atmosphere and good food, that's the place to be! Quite expensive ...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great interior design, food is good. The asia style beef was very good. Also the tuna starter. However the Poulard steak was dry as hell and came totally pure on the plate. Not so great...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fashion place to be seen not a fine dining place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Night club decor, beautiful girls for the service, the rest average. The food is clean but no taste. Very good location

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible waiter's attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Very good food, expensive but it is a restaurant belonging to the Coste's group.
Beautiful people, good music (from time to time too loud).
The waiter was certainly tired. She made mistakes (mixing dishes at tables, forgetting things...twice, flooding the table with hot coffee...). We paid the bill, without a tip but we did not take 5 € back from change. There was no intention to "punish" her.
She chased us, saying that it is better to leave nothing or 10%. She came back again. Unacceptable for 100€/ person (not including alcohol). People there do not seem to like to work in this restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Societe also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Societe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Societe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.