We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jean-Gabriel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jean-Gabriel to your Saves list
Hotel Jean-Gabriel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 rue Lecluse, 75017 Paris, France (Batignolles-Monceau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #900 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very small rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Quite a noise free hotel with bright paint.
Rooms are very small and difficult to stay longer than a few days.
Not much room for suitcases.
No fan for when the room is warm at night.
Windows can be opened but then it is noisy.
If you are a big person then you will not fit in the shower (very small).
*** There is no left luggage facilities - which can prove to be a problem.
Hotel is fine but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra O, Directeur général at Hotel Jean-Gabriel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your impressions about our hotel. We are sorry that we haven’t completely met your expectations.
As it is cold in Paris in winter we do not put any fans in the rooms but the heating is individual for every room and you can switch it off if it’s too hot.
We offer to keep the luggage of our guests at the reception free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    53
    44
    11
    11
See reviews for
12
83
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Found this very last minute in Montmartre, and although the location was ok enough, the hotel has seen better days and could use an upgrade. The rooms are of fair size, the bathrooms clean, but it's not for much more use than a bed. If you are travelling with kids and need to stay in at night, that might not be a very pleasant evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra O, Directeur général at Hotel Jean-Gabriel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read your nice comment on TripAdvisor.
We know that our guests appreciate our hotel for being well located for tourist who desire to visit Paris, especially Montmartre, ‘Moulin Rouge’ cabaret, Opéra or les Champs Elysées. Unfortunately, our hotel does not have family room.

We wish to welcome you soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

It's Paris. Our room, #25, is best described as compact and the carpeting had certainly seen better days. While it's not a room you want to hang out in, why would you? It's Paris!
The place is clean, well located, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to both Moulin Rouge and Sacre Coeur. The subway/metro is a five minute walk and Gare Nord 10-15 more away on foot. The area teems with nightlife and during the day there are plenty of cafes and bakeries plus a farmer's market on Saturdays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra O, Directeur général at Hotel Jean-Gabriel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to read your nice comment on TripAdvisor.
We know that our guests appreciate our hotel for being well located especially for tourist who desire to visit Paris. Our team is at your disposal for any help you may need. Our chambermaid team thanks you again for having indicated that their job is correctly done.
We wish to welcome you soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The location is great; next to a Metro station at the Place de Clichy, with lots of good restaurants. (Try seafood at Wepler.) Montmartre is in walking distance, and I even rolled my luggage to the hotel from the Gare du Nord (1 1/2 miles away), past the Moulin Rouge. Just across the street from the JG is a supermarket, "Simply City," with daily fresh fruits, tarts, and even fresh pastries (packaged), plus Le Bonne Maman jams and packaged Roquefort for you to buy to take home on your last day. ATMs abound. The staff is supremely nice and accommodating. I arrived during a July 2012 heat wave of daily temperatures in the 90s. Most cheaper Parisian hotels have no air conditioning and here even electric fans were scarce. But after a couple of days, good floor fans suddenly appeared in my and others' rooms, and at the front desk. I suspect management took pity on us all and got us new fans. Good for them. When I needed a computer print-out of a voucher for a tour to Mont Saint Michel I arranged online the night before the trip, the front desk had me just email them and they printed it out. They also let me into my room a couple of hours early when I first arrived (they will of course also take your luggage). I didn't try the 11 euro breakfast; it looked pretty good, though not really a bargain. The main drawback: the rooms are small, and so are the bathrooms (but they are private bathrooms). Bigger than Hong Kong rooms. Excellent value. Will change its name next year. Merci, chere Martine et Alexandra, pour votre service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra O, Directeur général at Hotel Jean-Gabriel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for sharing with us and others your experience at Hotel Jean Gabriel. Taking care of our guests is our priority and we are thrilled to konw that you are satisfied. Our area is well known for being enjoyable and very convenient which make Hotel Jean Gabriel a good choice for visitors.

We do hope to welcoming you again very soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent four days in Paris and wanted a clean, convenient hotel room at reasonable cost, and this hotel met our needs just fine. We were only a couple of blocks from the Metro and bus lines, we found good restaurants, we walked a lot around Montmartre and at the end of each day we had a good rest. This hotel has friendly, English-speaking staff who were very helpful. The room was small, but we didn't plan to stay in it a lot, so that was not a problem. If you want to spend a lot of money for a big room, this is not your choice. If you want good service, a clean room and moderate cost, give this a try!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra O, Directeur général at Hotel Jean-Gabriel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sir, Madame,

Our Hotel is typically Parisian, well located and very convient to move around Paris. We do our maximum in order to make your stay the most pleasant. Knowing that you enyoyed your stay, is the best reward for us.

We thank you for this kind comment, and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Paris hotels are not cheap, and so I think this hotel was good value for money. Really good location to the metro, clean room and incredibly friendly service.

There are loads of negative comments about the hotel, which I find odd. The negative comments seem to sit in 2 buckets: 1) size of room and 2) location.

1) Yes, the rooms are smaller, but if you want a bigger room then you need to pay a lot more. When I come to Paris for work, it tends to be triple the price for a marginally bigger room in the same area. It's just an expensive city, so you need to figure out your priorities and if staying inside all the time is one of them then this is not the hotel for you. But the room fits a double bed, table, chair, wardrobe and ensuite loo, so was all we needed. Plus it's very clean.

2) The location is seedy. This again comes down to personal taste. I don't think the street or even Place de Clichy to be seedy at all, but the area borders Pigalle and Monmartre. If you turn right you walk into Pigalle's notorious sex shops. If you carry on up the hill to Monmartre, you find yourself 5 minutes away from some of the best restaurants and enjoyable bars in Paris. In any case, if you offend easily then this is not the neighbourhood for you. But for me, I think it's a vibrant area with an amazing food market down the road and great proximity to going up the hill to Monmartre.

I never ate breakfast there, so can't comment on the food. There are loads of places near the hotel to get croissants and coffee for a fraction of the price.

For the price, location and state of the room, I am happy to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra O, Directeur général at Hotel Jean-Gabriel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

What you state is completely right, In Paris, the bigger the rooms are, the more expensive they get and usually travelers must aim at 4 and 5 stars hotel.
Our area, Montmartre, is one of the most atypical of Paris, with the best view of Paris, when you are up hill, the Basilica of Sacré Coeur, and down hill, the red light district of Paris with the sex shops. Welcome in Paris, that makes the specificity of Paris.
We thank you for recommending us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent a weekend in this hotel and found it a great value when you're just looking for a clean room, comfy bed and convenient location. The rooms are small but cute. The service is very helpful and friendly; everyone spoke English well. Breakfast was a little disappointing as the room was very crowded and the serving plates were close to empty. Still, if we just need a place to sleep and shower, we'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra O, Directeur général at Hotel Jean-Gabriel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your visit.
Indeed we agree with your comment about the room size which are Parisian sized and complies with the 3 stars rating standards. Our rooms provide you with all the comfort you need for a pleasant stay.

We will be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jean-Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jean-Gabriel

Address: 13 rue Lecluse, 75017 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #900 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jean-Gabriel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jean Gabriel Montmartre is located in the chic and trendy area of "Les Batignolles", two steps away from Place de Clichy, the Moulin rouge, grands Boulevards, and Montmartre. The Hotel offers a calm and comfortable location far from the Parisian bustle.Our 28 rooms are all equipped with satellite TV and flat TV screen, free wifi access, direct line telephone and complimentary tea and coffee making facility.To start the day, for only 11.00 you will enjoy our Buffet breakfast in our typical Parisian basement. Find there fresh bread and pastries, fresh fruits salad, a choice of yogurts and cheeses, eggs and ham, hot and cold beverages.Hotel Jean Gabriel is very easy to reach, no matter where you are coming from, only 15 min away from Gare du Nord by metro with just one metro line (metro 2), 17 min away from Gare de l'Est by bus (bus 30), gare de lyon is also 35 min away by metro and Gare St Lazarre is reachable by foot in only 5 min. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jean-Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jean-Gabriel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.