We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel for a weekend...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maxim Folies

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maxim Folies to your Saves list
Maxim Folies
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Rue Geoffroy Marie, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Gat Folies) (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #848 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An average hotel for a weekend...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This February- 2013- i went in Paris just for 4 days. I didn't search a lot for the hotel and i also wanted a cheap hotel, about less than 100 euros. I found this hotel and i booked it without second thoughts. This hotel is in the heart of Paris and the night the place around the hotel is really popular. The bars and the restaurants are full. But the hotel isn't the best choice.. The room is small. There is a window with view to the opposite wall. There is not a closet and no place to put your suitcases. But the worst is that the bathroom is so so small!!!!!!! The washbasin is in the room and only the bath and the lavatory are behind a door. If anyone is chaustrophobic this toilette isn't for you. I have no problem with small places but after my experience in the bath I am afraid this place, the smallest I have ever seen in my life! Except for the area, the hotel's stuff is very polite. I don't know anything about the breakfast because it was needed an extra fee and the bakery is an excellent option! You will find them everywhere. The truth is that in my next visit in Paris I will find another hotel! Do the same!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review and your good word about our staff.
For information, it's always possible to ask for a room on street view or an upgrade for a bigger room (subject to availabilities). We will do our best for your satisfaction.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    130
    37
    22
    5
See reviews for
12
129
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in April 2013 and booked via www.trivago.co.uk, which meant we saved quite a lot of money on the usual/advertised price (it's worth shopping around).

The hotel is easy to find. We walked with our backpacks from Gare du Nord (Eurostar) and it took about 20/25 minutes. If you'd prefer to use the metro there are a few stations nearby. There is a theatre about two minutes away (we could see it from our room) and quite a lot of restaurants/bars within walking distance (we recommend Black Beans [Mexican).

The receptionist was very friendly and was able to speak in English when my basic French wasn't quite up to scratch. The check in process was quite straight forward.

We had a double room on the fourth floor. The lift is absolutely tiny and the stairs are quite narrow, so I wouldn't really recommend the hotel for the disabled or elderly. However, it worked for us and we just about managed to fit in the lift with our luggage. The decor of the whole hotel is lime, which gives it a really cool vibe.

The rooms are small, but perfectly formed. Think Ikea style use of space, with funky shelving and unique uses of the room. We only stayed one night so didn't really need to unpack, but there was just enough room for each of us to have our backpacks on the floor. The bathroom was small, but we expected that. The shower was very good and there was always hot water. Shampoo, shower gel and moisturiser were provided and smelt so great that I took them with me. Towels were also provided. I'm not sure the bathroom situation would be ideal for friends/couples that didn't know each other very well as the door is quite thin!

The absolute star of this stay was the breakfast - it was amazingly good! From the outset it didn't look like there was much, but there was. You can eat as much or as little as you like - we tried everything! The crepes with nutella were a highlight and other options included buttery croissants, boiled eggs & soldiers, ciabattas, cheese, ham, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, tea/coffee (including cappuccino). We were very glad that breakfast was included in our stay.

This hotel was exactly what we wanted - contemporary, young, central, clean and affordable. The only negative things were that it was quiet noisey at night. Our room was street facing so I'm not sure if this applies to all of the rooms. The bed was also very uncomfortable, but for a one night stay it wouldn't put me off booking again.

Room Tip: Avoid street facing rooms (too noisey at night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review.
We appreciate your kind word about our hotel.
For information, as a 3 stars, our hotel (lift and room) are fully adapted for disabled people.
We also thank you for your review about our breakfast. It's even possible to come if you don't have a room. The price is 12,50€ per person for our buffet.
We hope to see you again in Gat Folies !
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Gat Folies on our first trip to Paris, in October 2012, and I can say only good things about this hotel. We knew from the begining what to expect regarding the size of the room so it was not a surprise. In fact the room was quite comfortable and very interesting and ingenious decorated. Also very clean and perfect for a good sleep after the long walks on the streets and museums of Paris.
The location was very good, close to metro and bus stations, to restaurants and also quite easy to walk from there to the different points of interest.
The breakfast was also perfect (at least for our taste).
The reception staff was nice and helpfull.

We will stay at Gat Folies for sure at our next visit to Paris, if available. We even consider to stay in the other Gat hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Customer,
We really thank you for your review.
Our hotel Gat Rossio (Lisbon) and Gat Point Charlie (Berlin) will welcome you with the same service quality.
We hope to see you soon in GatFolies !
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We were on a business trip in Paris and were looking for a different hotel, a hotel with style, a bit of design, a place with a certain flair ..... The Gat Folies hotel provided everything we were looking for.
Even though the staff members were friendly and efficient, the room was nice and bright, breakfast fresh and complete, we were a bit dissapointed by the absence of a good working wifi in the room, the minimalistic storage space for clothing, the absence of a minibar or fridge to store some soft drinks.
Very nice neighborhood with a wide choice of good restaurants : Il Spaghetino, Caffe della Pizza, Au Jardin, Les Fils a Maman and some other near the Grands Boulevards.
We will certainly be back, because this hotel is great value for money

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed in the Gat Folies for one night in February, arrived at 10.30am and asked if we would be able to check in early (usual check-in is 2pm!) and luckily our room was available. The room was on the small side but was perfect size for a 1 or 2 night stay if you don't have much luggage and was very stylish.

Reception staff were helpful and had an iphone charger we could borrow. We didn't have breakfast there so can't comment on that.

Hotel is well located for the Gare du Nord (we walked in 10-15mins) and also a short walk dpwn to the centre of Paris.

Only slight problem we had was that the heat from the shower tended to set off an internal alarm to reception to say that we were smoking in the room (we weren't) but once the door to the bathroom was fully closed it wasn't an issue.

Will definitely stay there again next time in Paris.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor had a velux window in which would be nice to let fresh air and sun in the sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

The room was clean & modern but tiny, I managed to survive as I was alone in a double room. The breakfast had limited options, i only tried it once and never repeated it again during my 4 day stay especially for the price they charge for. The location was very good, near to 2 metro stations Cadet : line 7 and Grands Boulevards lines 8 &9. On the same street there is a laundry shop ( it's all automatic and you can even buy the soap from the vending machine inside it) . There is also a super market near by. There is no fridge in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Co. Meath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Having never been to Paris, we chose this hotel for three reasons. Firstly, it's close to Gare du Nord - so it's a quick RER train ride from Charles de Gaulle and easy to get to for the second leg of our trip, taking to Eurostar to London from the same station. Secondly, it's near a Metro station - Grands Boulevards is 5 minutes away. And thirdly, it looked fantastic. It was also pretty good value too, around €100 for an en-suite room with continental breakfast.

The hotel itself is very contemporary (which to me means it'll date soon but it looks great now), with lots of black, white and neon lime green. We checked in within two minutes and eventually found our room on the first floor (when the lift door opened, it looked like there were just three doors on the floor). The room itself was, in hindsight, quite small. I only say in hindsight because at the time it was perfect and I'd still maintain we did fine with the space but it was tiny and had virtually no storage. Not a problem for us, but it could be for some.

Given the space, a separate toilet was ingeniously squeezed into a small corridor-type arrangement beside the shower, which was deep inside an alcove. The upshot was that despite having no doorm or curtain, the spray from the shower didn't reach the toilet. Clever really, but it also meant no sink in the same room; that was at the main room door, at the end of the bed. Confused? It'll all make sense and honestly, Paris isn't the type of place I'd want to squander away in a hotel room (well, not all day anyway!).

The hotel wi-fi was awful. I'm not sure how, but despite more than adequate coverage, the routers never seemed to want to make friends with our phones. The only device guaranteed to connect was my Kindle Fire. We plan a lot through our phones when abroad, so wi-fi problems are a big headache. Thankfully, it worked enough for us to find two great restaurants.

The first is almost legendary and just a short walk from Hotel Gat Folies. Chartier on Rue du Faubourg Montmartre has been on the go since 1896 and serves a different menu every night (and when an item is gone, it's gone). You also can't book, you just queue up and hope for the best. And it's close on the best alright - we ate very well there on two nights - starters, mains, desserts, wine, beer and a side for under €50. We sat next to a Danish couple (you're put with strangers, so prepare to be chatty!) who've gone there every time they've been to Paris since the 70's and they said it's just as the remember - minus the sawdust.

The second place was Hugo's on Rue Papillion - again, high quality French dishes for normal prices served by people who are proud of their culinary heritage. Plus it was full of locals, which is always good!

As far as the hotel is concerned, no news is good news. Breakfast was fine (although UHT milk was a bit of a surprise on my cereal, I couldn't manage it!) and there were plenty of breads and a few pastries with really good coffee. It's not the type of place we wanted to hang around in but that's not a criticism. All we wanted was a clean, comfortable and central place in Paris that wouldn't cost the earth and in Hotel Gat Folies, we found it. Hopefully it stays that way!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maxim Folies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxim Folies

Address: 14 Rue Geoffroy Marie, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Gat Folies)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #848 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maxim Folies 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of the town, just in front of the mythical Folies Bergeres, you will find the Gat Folies. 38 modern and comfortable rooms completely equipped. On the ground floor, there's the breakfast lounge, where you'll enjoy the healthiest way to start the day. You already know, very close to the Opera and the Galeries Lafayette, to enjoy Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maxim Folies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxim Folies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.