We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we had in paris all week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pouic-Pouic

Pouic-Pouic
9 Rue Lobineau | Saint-Germain-des-Pres, 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)
+33 1 43 26 71 95
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 13,308 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $34 - $56
Cuisines: French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Description: Discover Pouic Pouic, a brand new restaurant in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Pres, its surprising and delicious cuisine, cooked to perfection, made exclusively with fresh seasonal products. Take a look at its beautiful wine list where some of the best vintages are listed beside excellent small producers wines.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in paris all week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I joined trip advisor specifically to leave a review for this place. We were in paris fir a week in august and had many delicious meals. A caesar salad at the place across the tiny street from le dome was one highlight. Shrimp and lardons and fresh anchovies. Yum. But pouic pouic had it all. Tiny place we completely lucked into sitting down to. Outside at one of two or three tables on a somewhat chilly night. We tried the throat of veal. Incredible! As our waiter said...crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside. Sounds gross i know. It wasnt. I got to thank the chef personally in my practiced French sentence or two as he came to sit outside at the end. Mostly though what we loved was the friendliness, the lack of pretension, the innovative food choices. Try it! And make a reservation if you can.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    110
    23
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must try for an authentic French experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Really enjoyed this after a long hot day in Paris. The waiter took time to explain the menu to us in detail and the service was impeccable. Choose between 5 entrées (starters) 5 plats (main course) and 5 desserts. Variety was good, drink list elaborate for food pairing and the waiter was helpful suggesting which wines to pair with our dishes. We were sitting inside and were entertained by the sights and smells of the chef in his kitchen. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

In Paris the week when everything is closed . We were looking for a Michelin but found this place on first night after their break. One word, wow . We had the degustation, stunning but the service engaging with an obvious interest in us . A keeper as my wife calls me .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you are in Paris, the Pouic Pouic deserves a stop, delicious food and great wines are 'à la carte'. Value for money is excellent, all products are fresh and recipes home-made. You will not be dissapointed especially thanks to the very welcoming team, a charming host and friendly waiters. Finally the location is great, with the Bedford just around the corner to finish the night off in style!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal in the 6th!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

An American friend spending the summer in the 6th Arrondisement took us to this restaurant on a hot summer evening, so fortunately the restaurant is air-conditioned since it was quite crowded. The wine was good but the food was outstanding - my parmesan sable topped with a vegetable confit was outstanding while others enjoyed the beetroot carpaccio,the courgette cannellonni and the gazpacho. The vegetables were fresh and beautifully prepared while the herbs and dressing used gave each a wonderful taste. Since we had had food at our friends' place, we went on to some splendid desserts. Closed for part of August. We will definitely go back on our next trip to Paris.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pouic-Pouic also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Pouic-Pouic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pouic-Pouic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.