We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have dined here on several occasions and always enjoyed an excellent evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Cafe

L'Auberge Cafe
4 Rue Bertin Poire, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)
0143 29 01 22
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,388 of 13,398 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Louvre / Place Vendôme
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Have dined here on several occasions and always enjoyed an excellent evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Have dined here on several occasions over the past two years, I can say that this restaurant is consistently good. It's set in an atmospheric old building, whereby upstairs taller individuals will need to bow their heads due to the ancient beams and rafters. The food is great value for money, an innovative twist on French dishes, and beautifully presented (no doubt due to the fact that the chef is Japanese). Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    39
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lucky to find this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stumbled upon this place for a late afternoon lunch. Walked right in without a reservation. Staff was welcoming. We sat upstairs where the atmosphere is "rustic" but very romantic. Our food was excellent and very reasonably priced. With wine and dessert we paid around €50. This was the start of a French and Italian 3 week vacation and I can honestly say the pasta dish (carbonara) I had for lunch that day was the best of the entire vacation.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Not super impressed with this cafe. We ordered the steak tartar and the duck. The food was ok but the service was not as friendly as expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had a very good traditional french dinner without the hefty french prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Yesterday we went to the cafe for a traditional sunday afternoon dinner and enjoyed the food and service. My husband and I both chose the three course entree, main and dessert meal with four or five options in each course. We had a half bottle of wine with the meal and the price came to 45 euros, which we thought was very reasonable for the good food and service. Our table was on the first foor with had nice french decor. I may just have to go back again before we leave to have their french onion soup, it was the best we have had!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional French restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This attractive restaurant, featuring traditional French food in charming period decor, was a nice find, espec. as it was less than one block from our rented apartment, whose owners highly recommended it. Food was excellent, with a smallish menu but our dishes, and those of the diners at an adjacent table, were well prepared and delicious. The house wine was better than expected, and reasonably priced. We'd definitely go back.

The location between Chatelet and Pont Neuf is a bit off the usual tourist track, and the restaurant hasn't yet made the pages of Rick Steve's book, so you are likely to find an available table if you stop by at the 7pm opening hour (Tue-Sat). Reservations accepted: 01 43 29 01 22. They also serve lunch, which we didn't try, Mon-Sat.

Be sure to visit the upstairs, whose low ceilings will remind you that in the 17th century, when this building was constructed, people were a lot shorter than they are today.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Auberge Cafe also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Auberge Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.