We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Staff Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secret de Paris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Secret de Paris to your Saves list
Secret de Paris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, rue de Parme, 75009 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nicest Staff Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I have been to Paris many times and often stayed in the top luxury hotels. This time we wanted to find a boutique hotel located in a genuine parisian neighborhood away from the luxury shops and restaurants that cater specifically to foreign travelers and we are delighted to have "discovered" The Hotel Secret de Paris. The neighborhood has been the up and coming area for sophisticated Parisians, especially foodies. Rue des Martyrs and rue Lepic are within walking distance of the hotel and are well known by those who look for top patisseries, boulangeries and cheese shops. I enjoyed walking the quiet streets and finding beautiful courtyard gardens at the back of the old apartment buildings typical of turn of 20th century Paris. The area is well connected by subway and bus service to the main tourist and shopping arrondissements, and taxis are easy to find at all hours. The hotel is also near the theater and music hall district but far away enough so you don't have to put up with the late night noise and traffic. Located in a small, renovated, typically Parisian apartment building, this boutique hotel is unique, for each room has a theme with a decor inspired by the City of Lights' famous landmarks, giving it a whimsical and cinematic feeling as well a very cosy, quiet atmosphere. Attention to details in the bathrooms and the rooms also make for a very comfortable stay. Breakfasts are delicious with a wide variety of choices, but we liked the croissants and pain au chocolat so much that we were never hungry enough to try all the other choices. The tea selection comes from one of the very best tea shops in France and happens to be my favorite: Le Palais des Thés.

But by far the highlight of our stay was how friendly and attentive every single member of the staff was. They made us feel like VIPs and at home, remembering all our preferences and always looking for ways to make our stay more enjoyable. Their restaurant recommendations were all excellent and the staff arranged reservations often on short notice. Every staff member is young and therefore hasn't lost the excitement and eagerness to do his or her best to please us, yet proving their efficiency and professionalism at all times. We were made to feel like old friends as well as treated like valued clients by Willman, Viorica, irina, Caroline and the rest of the team for our entire stay. Hotel Secret de Paris is a secret that we will definitely share with all our friends and favorite people.

Room Tip: The "Artist Studio" is a romantic nest with a view of the Paris rooftops directly from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Candide54,

It has been our absolute pleasure to welcome you in our hotel. I would like to thank you and your husband for your kindness throughout your stay. The entire team and myself were sincerely touched by your comment and your satisfaction & loyalty is by far the best reward.

We hope to welcome you for many more years to come

Kind regards from Paris

Caroline and the SDP team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    194
    31
    11
    0
See reviews for
34
663
27
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a great, quirky hotel, decorated in a really cool style. We stayed in the Moulin Rouge room and although not big, the décor made it really special and fun. The lounge area was really nice and we enjoyed our pre-dinner glass of wine there. The welcome cocktail on arrival was really nice as well. The staff were super-helpful, and helped us to find places to eat during our stay. The hotel isn't too far from the main attractions, and again, the staff helped us with directions. All in all, a lovely, warm, welcoming place to stay. We would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This was my husband's and my first trip to France and this hotel helped make it perfect. Our Eiffel Tower room was small but perfectly appointed with a wall of beautiful windows. The bathroom was great and technologically a modern marvel. However, it is the fabulous staff that makes this hotel so special. My minimal French was not a problem as their English is very good. Each day they gave us directions for the Metro and the RER which allowed us to get around like real Parisians. They made sure we had bottles of water as we set out each day and were concerned that we were enjoying their city. A great breakfast every morning, a fitness room and sauna (no extra charge), a great location near Montmarte help make this hotel a fabulous place to stay in Paris.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Susan,

You did something even more efficient than shouting from the roof tops by posting a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor! Thank you very much for so many lovely words about the team and service provided.
I am glad to see that you had the time to enjoy our 24h wellness area (the Secret Garden) with its sauna and steam room.

The team and myself would very much like to see you again.

Kind regards,

Caroline Canny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights as part of a surprise 10th anniversary weekend in Paris for my wife.
I'd mentioned this to the hotel in advance and they had spread rose petals over our bed on arrival, which was beautifully done and very much appreciated by my wife.

Although the bar and breakfast area is small, aspect is well presented and the staff are outstandingly helpful and polite.

I look forward to a return trip.

Many thanks
Steve

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed at secret de Paris for our first trip to Paris. We were a bit nervous given the fact that we speak very little French. Our initial encounter was with Irene. She was so warm and welcoming! Our room wasn't ready due to our early arrival but she stored our luggage and showed us on a map where we should go to see a magnificent view of the city. Irene also suggested a delicious cafe for lunch. On our first night our bathroom door had broke (still unsure how!) but Will had upgraded us free of charge to a deluxe room the next night (when it was available) for the duration of our stay. These two, along with Marcos were so accommodating and nice! One nigh my husband and I wanted to eat somewhere fairly close for dinner. Will and Irene suggested a place, and when we walked into the restaurant the owner had greater us by name because Will and Irene ha called the restaurant ahead to let them know to expect us! All I can say is we are so glad we chose to stay here and hope one day to come back to this romantic city and hotel!!! Thank you! We had stayed in the Eiffel Tower room- beautiful and an artist suite! Just gorgeous and fun!! - dana henderson, Indiana

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Dana,

Greetings from the entire team at Secret de Paris!

Thank you so much for this wonderful review of your stay with us. Be assured that it was my pleasure to share your satisfaction with each team member. We are lucky to be surrounded by many lovely restaurants and I am thrilled to read that you were happy with our recommandations.
On another note, the bathroom door has been fully replaced!

We certainly look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Secret de Paris is a hidden hotel, totally noise proof, with excellent service and wonderdul decoration and where almost anything is missing!
1) Rooms are very specially decorated and thematic: Moulin Rouge, Eiffel Tower, Trocadero, Orsay, Atelier. The target is to make you live a very special night with many special details inside one of the previous attractions of Paris BUT without tourists! All the decoration in the room is done accordingly to the theme and with a lot of care: little point of light in colors according to the kind of room that you can graduate in 4 positions of insensitiveness, little points of light in the shower and/or whirlpool bathtube. Dvd reader with surround system including loudspeaker in the bathroom. Radio stations on tv and international channel. Very confortable beds with 2 different pillows for each person, mirrors adapted to each room are essential. Perfect noise isolation (not even if the room is next to the lift) with double window and a noiseless air-condition (not needed in hot summer at night). Good quality in the toilet products. Complimentary mineral water and juice in the fridge. Rooms size is a bit more than the average in Paris, where most of the time you find tiny rooms.
2) Reception and breakfast lobby: very delicate decorated, discrete well selected flowers, relaxing music, a huge selection of books to discover hidden places in Paris, perfumed candles in the evening/night
3) Service/staff: extremely kind and helpful
4) Breakfast: everything fresh and big variety. Different kind of bread, muffins, waffles, different kind of cereals, different kind of non-commercial yogurts, different juices, cold water, a different pie every day, freshly cut pineapple and melon, other entire fruits as well (oranges, banana, apples, kiwi, peaches), ham, salami and assortment of cheeses
5) Other services: laundry is very well done and with very good prices, little spa accessible 24 hours.
6) Good internet connection, with simple access code

I spent there quite a long time and I would come again!

Room Tip: Atelier room is the biggest in the hotel, with the great idea of mirrors in the tilted roof. Moulin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear cubalibre25,

I am simply amazed by the level of details you noticed and very clearly explained in your comment!!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.
I don't think there is much for me to add except that I am thrilled to read that you had such a nice time with us and I will pass on your satisfaction to each team member.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again!

Kind regards

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights, the hotel was amazing, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the city was beautiful. We stayed in one of the Eiffel Tower themed rooms, it was cosy and the bed was very comfortable.

The bath was fantastic with jets and mood lighting and the shower was very good too.

The hotel was lit up in the evenings which made it very easy to find when walking back from the two metro's (liege and place de clichy) both of which link very well to the centre of Paris. I recommend getting a Paris visits metro ticket as it allows unlimited travel on the metro, busses and rer's you can get one for as many days as you are there for. If you are under 24 at many of the main attractions it is possible to get free/reduced rate tickets which is a great way to save money whilst travelling. After 6:30 on Friday nights the Louvre under 24's can enter for free.

Room Tip: The Eiffel tower room is lovely!! Definitely try the bath out ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Katie,

How wonderful to read that Paris treated you well! I am very grateful for your comment and all the tips you gave for futures travellers. I wish I was 24 again:)

I am glad you enjoyed your hydromassage bathtub and its chromotherapy. You can also enjoy such bathtubs in all Musée d'Orsay, Opéra Garnier, Trocadéro and Artist rooms!

We hope to welcome you again for more discovery

Kind regards

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Secret de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret de Paris

Address: 2, rue de Parme, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Paris
#19 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#24 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#68 Business Hotel in Paris
#166 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secret de Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret de Paris invites you to enjoy the unusual experience of travelling while staying still. You are welcomed into a dream-like Paris where monuments fade away only to come sharply back into focus, colours blend as your perception becomes disoriented by the blur of images.In the intimacy of your room, you suddenly become the privileged guest of the Musée d’Orsay, the Moulin-Rouge, the Eiffel Tower or the Garnier Opera House, each delicately evoked by an innovative and amazing approach to design and staging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Secret de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret De Paris Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret de Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.