We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secret de Paris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Secret de Paris to your Saves list
Secret de Paris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, rue de Parme, 75009 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
West Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Secret de Paris for 4 nights while in Paris. The staff was very nice and most spoke very good English. They were very helpful, giving us directions and booking a taxi for our return trip to the airport. Our room was the Trocadero. It was my last choice but we ended up enjoying it. The room is small but well decorated and clean. The only problem I had with the room was the shower. There was no shower curtain so if you used the handheld shower, water sprayed everywhere into the bathroom. If you used the rainshower (which was nice) there wasn't enough water pressure to rinse the shampoo out of your hair. The jetted tube was very nice, we soaked our sore feet in it several times! The breakfast was lacking, but I am picky and pregnant so I couldn't eat the lunch meats or cheeses they served at breakfast. They also undercook their eggs in Europe, so the scrambled were soupy and the "hard" boiled we asked for were actually soft boiled. The location of the hotel was very good. We were very close to the metro stop Place de Clichy. I was worried about how long it would take us to get to the main attractions in Paris (ex. Lourve, Eiffel Tower, etc.) but it didn't seem to take long at all. The subway system is a little confusing but we would plan our trip before we left and had no problems. Overall we enjoyed the hotel, and I would consider staying here if we ever went back to Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear ward103,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share such detailed feedback following your stay with us. I am glad that you ended up enjoying your Trocadero room and it's black and gold colors!

Kindly note that we do not have shower curtains for hygienic reasons. Nevertheless, the glass panel protects about half of the bathtub but I totally understand that some water might sprayed out. If that happens, a quick call at the front desk and we will run upstairs to wipe out the undesired water!

I have noted your remarks about the eggs and I will highlight the importance of well cooking eggs for pregnant women to the breakfast team!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your soon to arrive baby in the future!

Kind regards,

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    195
    31
    11
    0
See reviews for
34
664
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

A wonderful hidden gem! Small, boutique hotel with lots of charm. Cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. The room had a great rainfall shower and a jacuzzi bath. The pillows were in the shape of a heart when we returned to the room each day. Many restaurants nearby, and a great bakery. We ignored the metro, and walked all over Paris, with even the Eiffel Tower and Notre Dame within an hours walk. The room came complete with excellent sound proofing, hearing neither your neighbours or the Parisian traffic outside. The best I hotel I have ever stayed in, anywhere, ever.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear FireFingers,

It is a very special feeling for the entire team and myself to be qualified as "the best hotel you have ever stayed". Thank you for making us feel that way :)

I have shared your satisfaction regarding the cleanliness of our hotel with the housekeeping team and they were very touched by your words.

We look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a cute hotel in District 9, northern Paris. The staff is very friendly and helpful with any question or a reservation.
The rooms are very comfortable and creatively decorated.
The breakfast was great with eggs any style and pastries from a nearby bakery!
We enjoyed our 3 nights and would go back!
The only negative is the location.

Room Tip: All the rooms have double windows and are quiet. They do not all have tubs in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Julie,

It was our pleasure to assist you during your stay and I am delighted that the team was able to help! I hope your daughter liked the shoes you very carefully selected for her :)
Thank you for your kind words about the staff and the breakfast. We are very fortunate to have one of the best Bakery in Paris next to our hotel and could not have chosen another partner for your breakfasts!

Our hotel is located in the heart of the right bank, walking distance from the Opera Garnier as well as the magical Montmartre area. I understand that having to do some specific shopping on the left bank, it took you a little time to reach there.

We hope to see you in the near future

Kind regards,

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a delightful, modern and clean hotel with exceptionally helpful and courteous staff. Need I say more? Although the rooms are a bit small, who cares? When in Paris, I"m not there to stay in my room! Also, upon entering my room, there was an incredibly beautiful and flavorful welcome basket of fruit awaiting me. Too good to be true...

Room Tip: Just know ahead of time that the Moulin Rouge rooms are all very red.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear L2T22,

I certainly hope that it will continue to be true for many more years to come!
The entire team felt very fortunate to read your compliments regarding their service, thank you very much for bringing an XL smile on everyone's face here at the hotel!

Should we give you rendez-vous next year?

Kind regards,

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in July and had a really great time. We arrived late and were greeted warmly by the night receptionist. He explained all about the hotel and was helpful with all requests.

The room itself was great, really special, we stayed in the opera room. If anything it's slightly on the small side but for a central Paris location this is probably average size. The bathroom was lovely and had a jacuzzi as well and the lighting (when you worked out how to use it!) was great.

The hotel was centrally located and was about 5 mins to the metro stop and about 5-10 mins to gallerie la fayette as a landmark.

I'm not sure it would be appropriate for families but I would recommend this for a couples weekend away very strongly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Charly,

I am thrilled to read that the team took good care of you during your stay and be assured that I have passed on your kind words to each one of them.
The Opera Garnier room does have a special feel thanks to its wooden floor, red velvet curtains and ballerina shoes. I am glad you enjoyed the special atmosphere.

Finally, I would like to highlight that we also welcome families and they generally find it very fun to sleep inside a monument of Paris.

Thank you very much for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was my second stay at the Secret de Paris and it did not disappoint!
There are so many reasons I like this hotel. First and foremost because of the staff all of whom speak excellent English. They are also genuinely friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and efficient - a rare combination in Paris. The hotel is well located - there are 2 Metro stops closeby: Place de Clichy and Liege. Also if you happen to be coming from or going to the UK on EuroStar, Gare du Nord is only 10 minutes away by taxi. The hotel itself has a small gym and sauna and a lovely breakfast/bar area. The rooms are modern, well appointed and a good size (by Paris standards). In terms of shopping and entertainment - you are close to the Moulin Rouge, Montmatre and Gallerie Lafayette plus dining out is easy as there are plenty of little restaurants within easy walking distance scattered around the area.
I travel regularly to Paris for work and this is the best boutique hotel I have found. I will be back....again!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Artists Studio this time. It is the biggest room in the hotel - so you can really s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sue,

Your wonderful feedback as well as your loyalty are the best reward for the entire team and myself. I haven't got much to add to your very accurate description but just wanted to highlight that comments like yours are a fantastic motivation for all of us and makes us want to always do more for our guests.

Thank you very very much Sue and we will be here waiting for you next year!

Kind regards,

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is located a bit further from downtown, but well connected through the metro network. Coming from the CDG airport, you can opt to take RER and metro, and get quite close. There are a few restaurants close to the hotel, but for a bigger and better choice you have to jump on the metro somewhere.

We arrived early, and staff was quick to take our luggage and we could grab a lunch while our room was being prepared.

What strikes me at this hotel is the relative silence, as many Paris hotels are noisy to a point of making it hard to sleep. Not here - management has invested in very good sound insulation, and you are almost guaranteed to get a good night's sleep.

This is definitely a hotel for couples - the rooms with different themes allow you plenty of choice, and the front desk was quick to point out that we could choose to swap rooms any morning if we wished so. We chose not to, but if you are spending several nights here, do consider trying out several rooms.

The reception was very warm and welcoming, and the staff was very flexible in arranging a surprise for my wife the first night. Big thanks to Irène for setting that up! The hotel offers a "Romance in Paris" package for the more adventurous couples.

Breakfast was good - a fairly standard buffet breakfast, with eggs of choice made to order in the kitchen as a nice touch. No runny scrambled egg made of powder here - only the real stuff.

The Jacuzzi bath (available in some of the rooms) was a real saver after long walks in the city, and the room lighting requires a special mention. There are three different preset lighting levels available, from full light down to very intimate.

The only thing that was slightly annoying was that the curtains were hooked shut. This goes with the theme of the room, but means it takes some effort if you want to open the (double) windows to get a view outside.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a bath - you won't regret it after a long day of walking. I don't ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Ged-fi,

Thank you very much for a very detailed and structured review of our hotel! I am sure that your comment will greatly help the travellers community from Tripadvisor.
Irène wanted to say that "Your are most welcome and she loves helping with surprises:)"

Of course our hotel welcomes quite a few couples and we certainly like that! But we also have many business travellers who appreciate our fast wifi access, our easy printing services, the 24hours access to fitness/Sauna & steam as well as 24h concierge service.

I have well noted your remark about the curtains and I will look into it as it is the first time I hear about difficulties to open them.

I look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secret de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret de Paris

Address: 2, rue de Parme, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Paris
#19 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#22 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#67 Business Hotel in Paris
#168 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secret de Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret de Paris invites you to enjoy the unusual experience of travelling while staying still. You are welcomed into a dream-like Paris where monuments fade away only to come sharply back into focus, colours blend as your perception becomes disoriented by the blur of images.In the intimacy of your room, you suddenly become the privileged guest of the Musée d’Orsay, the Moulin-Rouge, the Eiffel Tower or the Garnier Opera House, each delicately evoked by an innovative and amazing approach to design and staging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Secret de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret De Paris Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret de Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.