We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique deco, good location, friendly staff, food could be improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secret de Paris

Save Saved
You added Secret de Paris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secret de Paris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, rue de Parme, 75009 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Unique deco, good location, friendly staff, food could be improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The rooms are decorated in a very unique style of main Parisian attractions and although they are very clean and modern, their minus is a rather small size. I personally enjoyed the mood lights changing system and lights inside the jacuzzi bath-tube. The hotel is conveniently located very close to Galeries Lafayette and the Opera. Big plus of this hotel is staff, who are extremely friendly and helpful, always ready to go that extra mile. As for the minus side, we have ordered a room service one of the nights and unfortunately, the food was rather disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Ewa,

First of all, I would like to thank you for staying at Secret de Paris during your Parisian journey!

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our light scenario as well as the chromotherapy in your bathtub.

Also, I have passed on your kind words to each member of staff who were very grateful for such feedback.

Finally, I would really appreciate it if you could send me the details of your food order at hotel@hotelsecretdeparis.com in order to investigate and take the necessary corrective measures.

I look forward welcoming you in the near future.

Warm regards,

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    589
    174
    27
    10
    0
See reviews for
29
588
26
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We got a perfect introduction in our first room (Musee d'orsay) whre the very friendly staff explained us everything in detail. They offered us to switch the rooms on a daily basis as every room has a special theme - something you probably don't need on a business trip but was a nice thing for a weekend leisure trip.

The location is really good, just a few minutes by feet from the La Fayette and many good restaurants - one which we visited on a recommendation by the staff.

We definitely will consider this again for a next trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 rooms (Musee d'orsay, Tour Eiffel, Trocadero) but liked the Musee d'orsay def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Elian,

Your feedback is highly appreciated and I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

It is always wonderful when our guests choose to experience different concepts and travel within our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your journey!

The great news is, your journey is not over yet as you still have to experience Opera Garnier, Moulin Rouge and Atelier d'Artiste!

The entire team is waiting for you for more secrets.

Kind regards,

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We arrived very early (around 7am) and we were warmly greeted by Marco at the front desk, in spite of him having stayed up all night during his shift. We were escorted to the lounge and served a cup of nice hot coffee. The buffet breakfast they laid out was very respectable in view of the size of the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. They also spared no effort in trying to clean up the first vacant room available and settled us in. Room was on the small side, but then it's Paris. Nonetheless, they designed their space very wisely. It was immediately apparent that they have made a lot of effort in creating a cosy and romantic mood, in their decor and in the various pre-set lighting modes. The bathroom is spacious and is probably more than a third of the room size. The jacuzzi is a nice touch, and very relaxing after a long exhausting day wandering around the Louvre or the Versailles. Every staff we meet were friendly, full of smiles and most helpful. On that note, I must specially thank Sergio, who made every effort to make our stay perfect, from recommending restaurants, booking and canceling and rebooking them, to bringing us ice and ice buckets in the odd hours of the evening. If every person in the service industry is as friendly and helpful as the staff here, Paris will be rid of the notorious label of being the most snobbish city in Europe in no time.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear hchcheung,

Warm greetings from Secret de Paris!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely, detailed review. There is clearly not much I can add since you noticed all the details that contribute to the uniqueness of the decor.

I have passed on your kind words to our boys Marco and Sergio who were very grateful to be mentionned!

We certainly look forward welcoming you during your next parisian Journey.

Kind regards,

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was taken to this hotel for my birthday in January as a surprise. On arrival the very friendly staff gave us free welcome drinks before showing us to our fantastic room. The room was 'The Moulin Rouge' themed room, it was unbelievable I have never seen such a room, it was so romantic. There was a rain shower with red mood lighting in the shower room and bedroom, just exquisite. The fridge in our room had free welcome drinks too. The day of my birthday my fiance had spoken to the hotel staff to ask that the room was made as a romantic treat. The massive bed had lots of fresh rose petals all over it and a love box in the middle filled with lots of goodies :) and a bottle of MOET on ice in a bucket. The hotel staff know exactly who all there customers are, as when we had a day out to visit the Eiffel Tower on arrival back at the hotel I was wished a happy birthday. The staff make ready the steam room and sauna on request 24hrs a day its so relaxing after a day out. I can honestly say that when we go back to Paris we will stay at this hotel and then try and make a decision as to what room to stay in.

Room Tip: They are all so good, so its a difficult decision but i would recommend the moulin rouge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Claire,

What a fabulous review, I am speechless. Thank you so much for that!

It was our great pleasure to welcome you within the warm lights of the Mouling Rouge for your birthday. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our light scenario as well as our Instant Secret romantic package.

I have already passed on your kind words to each member of staff, who were sincerely touched.

We will not miss the opportunity to show you all our concepts during your next visit.

See you soon!

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel for our 7 year anniversary in December and loved every minute of it.
We got a call from Viorica when we arrived in Paris on the euro star to confirm our stay and give us a nice little surprise before we even made our way to the hotel. From the moment you walk in you start to see all the little touches that make it such a wonderful place to stay. We arrived early and staff offered to look after our bags while we took in some of the sites. When we returned to check in we where taken to our room which was the ATELIER D'ARTISTE on the top floor. While on route in the lift Viorica explained the ethos of the hotel to us which was a nice touch.
Both my girlfriend and I love weekends away and trying different hotels and both said that this hotel was like nothing we had experienced before. Our room we where told was the biggest in the hotel, it had a two person jacuzzi bath which was a welcoming sight to return to after lots of walking around Paris and a great place to sip champagne in.
The decor was unique with painters canvases used as the head boards and the carpet covered with paint splatters. The satellite system was getting an update when we got to our room and Viorica was apologetic even going as far as to call our room to warn us that we might hear drilling for few moments.
The room was clean and free water and juice in the mini bar was nice.

The only issue I would say about the hotel is deciding which room to stay in the next time we go back. Oh and try not to stub your toe like I did on the door stop but even that did not put a downer on our stay.

If you are looking for a romantic but different hotel in Paris I think you will be hard to beat Secret de Paris.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Responsable réception at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Dean,

What a wonderful time I had reading your review!

Thank you so much for the kind and warm words you addressed to all members of our team, including myself. I am thrilled that you had a special experience with us and amazed by how well you remember the decor or our Atelier d’Artiste.

Regarding your issue, well for your next visit, don’t decide! Try all our concepts and enjoy the trip!

My best regards to you and your beloved one

Viorica CENUSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Best thing about this hotel is the friendly and approachable staff. The room was beautifully decorated and clean, we stayed at the Paris Garnier room. The staff at reception did an excellent job with recommendations and reservations for restaurants and taxi. We were pleasantly surprised with the customer service of this hotel. Thank you for making our stay enjoyable.

Things we saw which could be improved on is the window in the bathroom could use a new layer of paint, it looked a little worse for wear and bath jacuzzi some bleaching to make it look cleaner. The bath is nice but feels slightly dated in terms of design to our personal taste. We did came back to the room one afternoon and found a worker fixing our bath but we were not notified someone would be in our room and we did not know there was a problem with the bath, he also used our iphone charger to charge his phone whilst he was fixing the bath. However, he was very friendly, we waited until he finished, was only 5 mins. He did left a small mess in the jacuzzi as a result of the work.

We found only one english channel on TV. Would be great to have at least BBC world news in English.

Wonderful bed, great night sleep. Wonderful bathrobe and slippers to make ourselves comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Responsable réception at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Gazelle,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. It is very much appreciated.

I am thrilled that you had a wonderful time with us and it is rewarding to hear that our front desk team was attentive and friendly.

Your remarks about our technical staff have been reported to our management and the necessary actions were taken in order to avoid this to repeat in the future.

I am pleased to inform you that following your comment, we have refreshed the painting of the Opera Garnier bathroom. As for the decoration, it is inspired by the Opera House in Paris, which was inaugurated in 1875. Our six room themes are an evocation of a Parisian monument and are very different one from another. For your next stay, I will be delighted to show you other concepts which would correspond to your taste.

Our TV program consists of list of 59 TV Channels (10 in English) and 24 radio stations. A number of French channel also offer movies in English version.

Last but not least, I am happy that you found our room amenities comfortable and of high quality.

We are genuinely pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to be able to extend that warm welcome once again.

Respectfully,

Viorica CENUSA
Tel: +33 1 53 16 33 33
Fax: +33 1 53 16 33 34
Mail: hotel@hotelsecretdeparis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed in the Moulin Rouge room. They recommend that you try all of the different rooms, but we didn't feel like packing and unpacking everyday. The rooms are a decent size and the bathrooms are private enough. It didn't bother us much. The staff is very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast is a bit pricey and if you walk a few minutes down the street you can find a better breakfast that's cheaper. It's a pretty short walk to the metro which we used to get to all of the main attractions around Paris. The Opera isn't too far away and has some great shops and restaurants around it. My only complaint would be that the gym is way too small but no one was ever using it when we went so it worked out ok. Overall a great experience, and I'm sure we'll go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Responsable réception at Secret de Paris, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Britanny,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor members.

I am very happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed our romantic Moulin Rouge room! We do offer to all our guests the possibility to travel within our hotel and experience different concepts.

We wanted our Secret Garden to have several options and although our boutique hotel has 29 rooms, we offer 24h access to our steam room, sauna and fitness room. Very often, our guests manage to have the entire area for themselves.

Our breakfast offers a very large selection of high quality products, including pastries from the well renowned “Maison Landemaine” and eggs freshly cooked on demand. It is also lovely to explore the area and discover nice Cafés around our hotel.

Finally, your kind words about our staff members were highly appreciated by each team member.

We would love to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Viorica CENUSA
Tel: +33 1 53 16 33 33
Fax: +33 1 53 16 33 34
Mail: hotel@hotelsecretdeparis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Secret de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret de Paris

Address: 2, rue de Parme, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Paris
#11 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#20 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#46 Business Hotel in Paris
#164 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secret de Paris 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret de Paris invites you to enjoy the unusual experience of travelling while staying still. You are welcomed into a dream-like Paris where monuments fade away only to come sharply back into focus, colours blend as your perception becomes disoriented by the blur of images.In the intimacy of your room, you suddenly become the privileged guest of the Musée d’Orsay, the Moulin-Rouge, the Eiffel Tower or the Garnier Opera House, each delicately evoked by an innovative and amazing approach to design and staging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Secret de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret De Paris Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret de Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.