We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent romantic retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secret de Paris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Secret de Paris to your Saves list
Secret de Paris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, rue de Parme, 75009 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent romantic retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

my wife and I have just returned from a short stay in Paris at the excellent Design Hotel Secret de Paris. We always base our choice on tripadvisor reviews and to date have always been very pleased - but I have to say this one is a real find!

The hotel is located just off the Rue de Clichy which proved to be perfect for us, yielding easy walking access to a number of major atractions eg. Sacre Coeur, the Moulin Rouge, Gallerie Lafayette, L'Opera, and the Louvre, with Notre Dame, and the Eiffel Tower probably 40 minutes away at a leisurely pace. In addition the immediate location has the benefit of being very quiet at night - a great combination. There is a variety of restaurants & bars within 150yds walking distance whether you are looking for a simple breakfast or substantial meal.

The accommodation is superb - of modest proportion as normal in Paris but more than made up for by the standard of decoration and fixtures & fittings. We enjoyed 2 different rooms during our stay and asked to see the others prior to departure and all were clearly of the same standard. The themed approach could so easily have gone badly wrong but it is actually beautifully done with high quality fittings throughout lending an air of substance and quality. The mood lighting and bathroom fittings in particular work very slickly. The airconditioning proved efficient and quiet although if it is not too hot I would recommend opening the double glazed windows for natural ventilation and do your bit for the planet!. Whilst we did not use them during our stay the gym, sauna and steam room were similarly well equipped and finished. All rooms were extremely clean and showed no signs of wear and tear whatsoever.

The front of house staff struck just the right balance - warm,welcoming and helpful yet at the same time smart and professional. All spoke excellent english. We arrived soaked to the skin during a thunderstorm and they were quick to get us dried out with immediate access to soft towels and hot drinks. This same standard of thoughtful service was offered throughout our stay.

This hotel proved to be the perfect choice for us and we have no hesitation in recommending it wholeheartedly - we will certainly be using it again!

Room Tip: All the rooms we stayed in and saw were of the same excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    215
    34
    11
    0
See reviews for
38
745
33
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Booked 2 nights for silver wedding anniversary - not sure it was a good choice for that. Rooms whilst being well designed were very small - couldn't swing le chat in one. Asked after 1st night if we would like to share another secret (room) for the 2nd night and we agreed if the room was larger - it was but only marginal. Both rooms did not have a view - the first one ( Musee d'orsay) faced onto a wall then the other at the top of the hotel had a view of other roofs. breakfast in our room was lovely as were the staff and location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Recently spent 2 nights here during a short break in Paris, a birthday surprise. Can't praise it enough, from the excellent, friendly, professional staff to the comfortable quiet rooms. Great bed too! We had the Musee d'Orsay room. Didn't take breakfast so can't comment but it looked excellent.
I can only echo all the complimentary reviews already posted here. Thanks for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I recently spent the last six nights of a five week trip in this Design Hotel Secret of Paris, on the 5th floor. I arrived very early, dismayed from a bad hotel experience the night before. While awaiting a room, the staff pampered me, gave me a big robe, slippers, free coffee, refreshments, and invited me to use the spa/gym downstairs or to hang out in the front. Free wifi internet code was given immediately, so that I could communicate with the rest of my party arriving later in the morning. Even though there was a rush to get us into a room, our room was perfectly prepared and shown to us with great welcoming fanfare and explanations about how everything worked. I was almost amused, but it was well-done and introduced us properly to the special aspects of the hotel. Much nicer than "here's the key, do you need help with your luggage. . . ." Our room looked exactly like the one in the photo on trip advisor, and the bathroom was great fun. The flat screen TV rises by remote control out of the footboard of the bed! Each day, our every wish and whim was granted. The staff do a splendid job of being warm, professional, attentive, youthful, playful, and service-oriented. The rooms, like most hotel rooms in Paris, are small, but the design makes it work. We were there for a week and were in no hurry to leave. The surrounding neighborhood is not luxurious, so you don't get the broad boulevards just out your door. However, even for a personal with limited mobility, walking to the Gallerie Lafayette one direction or the Moulin Rouge in the other direction, was readily accomplished. It is convenient to have small shops, grocers, and other places to buy food and drink at all hours on the block, along with a self-serve laundromat nearby, not to mention the metro stop at the circle at the end of the block. Whether it's Starbucks or small boutiques, pastries or wine, or a big traditional french meal, you can find it very, very nearby. A woman with a women's clothing shop in the next block altered a pair of black slacks for me in 24 hours, for free. And the slacks were a classic french shopping "find" - fantastic style for a very inexpensive price. As for the hotel itself, the style, design, attention to detail, and level of solicitous service from the staff make this an excellent choice.

Room Tip: We were at the elevator, facing the alley, on the 5th floor, and it was dead quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rottnest Island, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Fantastic hotel, we arrived late but were greeted woth friendly smiles and warm welcome. Room was very clean and amenities such as complimentary water and juice were a nice touch. Bathroom was awesome and the rain shower was fantastic. Service was brilliant at all times and the staff all spoke excellent english. Only thing that needs improvement is a shower curtain or door so the bathroom dosent get soaked when enjoying the rain shower. We stayed in a eiffel room and the lighting and themeing are very well done making for a interesting stay. 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

With only 3 nights in Paris choosing Secret de Paris proved a very good decision.
It was central to all the attractions with easy access to metro and buses.
The room decor was unique and we were given opportunity to change rooms during our stay to experience the other styles.
The staff were extremely helpful from recommending excellent restaurants to choosing the best way to get to particular locations. Big thanks to all, especially Julia and Marco for all your help.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here last week and all I can say is Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful.

We were greeted by the delightful Julia who explained everything for us and showed us to our room. I was disappointed that we had been allocated the Moulin Rouge room which does not have a bath, this was remedied straight away by Julia who changed us to the Eiffel Tower room, a perfect room with a spa bath, that is a blessing after a long day walking.

The hotel is simply lovely and makes your stay in Paris that extra special. Breakfast is fabulous with a choice of whatever you prefer. I would love to know what brand of Breakfast Tea they use as it was gorgeous. The hotel is perfectly placed in Paris, only a few minutes walk from the Metro station Place de Clichy, so you can get around very easily. We both had a good nights rest without any noise of or interruptions. The staff are pleasant and nothing is too much trouble, I can completely recommend this hotel and would love to return one day.

Room Tip: The Eiffel Tower room No 53 was great for us. Top of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secret de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret de Paris

Address: 2, rue de Parme, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Paris
#19 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#25 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#96 Business Hotel in Paris
#111 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secret de Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret de Paris invites you to enjoy the unusual experience of travelling while staying still. You are welcomed into a dream-like Paris where monuments fade away only to come sharply back into focus, colours blend as your perception becomes disoriented by the blur of images.In the intimacy of your room, you suddenly become the privileged guest of the Musee d'Orsay, the Moulin-Rouge, the Eiffel Tower or the Garnier Opera House, each delicately evoked by an innovative and amazing approach to design and staging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Secret de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret De Paris Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret de Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.