We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Joyce - Astotel to your Saves list
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 rue la Bruyere, 75009 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #28 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Chard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exactly what we needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was a perfect hotel decorated to a high standard with a quirky modern theme. It it set in a good location only a 5 min walk from the Metro Station. The staff are friendly and always there to help with advice on trips, recommendations and booking restaurants for you. The hotel provides a good breakfast selection including typical French foods and as an added bonus there is a free snack and soft drinks bar every afternoon which is a really thoughtful addition. We had a standard double room it was quite small but fine for what we needed and again was decorated very nicely. The hotel has is air conditioned and our room had air conditioning that we could control which was much needed in the Paris Summer. The only improvement I could have made was that there was no dressing table surface with a mirror and plug for doing your hair. The hairdryer was situated in the bathroom but the mirror was always too steamed up from the shower to use.The room and hotel was very clean and our bed was made up and towels changed every day. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and our room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_joyce, Directeur général at Hotel Joyce - Astotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Danielle C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice comment about our hotel and for recommending us!

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as all our special treats and our guest service.

We take very good note of your suggestion of improvement by adding a mirror making it easier to preprare yourself outside of the steamy bathroom, and will propose it to the department concerned. Thank you for sharing your idea with us!

We would be more than happy to welcome you again in our hotel!

Sincerely,

Marie-Laure Rigole,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    411
    32
    4
    12
See reviews for
161
760
47
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel offers a quiet good location, lovely rooms which were very clean and pretty spacious for Paris. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The complimentary snack bar was most welcoming and not something I have ever experienced anywhere else. We loved this hotel and felt it offered good value. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_joyce, Directeur général at Hotel Joyce - Astotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear PebsDorset,

Thanks a lot for this nice little message!
You enjoyed your airy room, our special treats and our staff dedication and your message espressed it clearly!
Thank you very much for the privilege of letting us know about it, and for sharing this good experience with everyone!

It would be an honour to welcome you and your partner again in our hotel next time you are in Paris !

Sincerely,

Marie-Laure Rigole,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasne, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Beautiful rooms, excellent service, quiet place, nice surrounder: this is, for sure, a very good alternative to the well-known hotels of Paris. Even more if you intend to go to the theater, which are situated neat the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_joyce, Directeur général at Hotel Joyce - Astotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Benoityours,

What a concise but very efficient comment!
Thank you very much for sharing it with us and for giving us such a nice rate!
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed every features of our hotel and that you spent a great stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming both of you in our hotel to renew the experience again!

Regards,

Marie-Laure Rigole,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed in room 406 for four nights in mid July. The room was next to the lift but we weren't once bothered by any noise. Only noise came from outside around 8am from the builders doing repairs (I think) on the hotel. As many other reviewers comment, the staff are lovely and helpful. The hotel is always clean and tidy, the rooms are fairly spacious and it is just a few minutes away from a metro station. I have given it a three star review due to a few minor things which bugged us a little. We stayed there when Paris was very hot - the air conditioning in the room was seemingly set at a minimum temperature which wasn't cool enough. There is no mini bar but a free bar downstairs - a great idea but we'd have rather paid a bit extra for some cold drinks out of a little fridge. Our pillows were a bit lumpy, the mattress was comfy but we missed springs after a while and our shower sadly did not work on most of its settings, including the main setting - all the water dribbled out of the edge. Brekkie was tasty with plenty of offer :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Amidst peak hour traffic, we arrived at our place to call home for the next 6 nights in Paris. What a delightful hotel! Staff are very friendly and helpful. Even when we came back late they were always there to say goodnight. A bonus is the snack bar which is available from 2pm until midnight.lots of good restaurants around as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_joyce, Directeur général at Hotel Joyce - Astotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Zee576,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a nice comment to our staff!
In adavance, and on its behalf, we thank you.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our great location and the special treats.

We hope to have the chance to welcome both of you soon again!

Sincerely,

Marie-Laure Rigole,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My family and I stayed here for 5 nights and had amazing service by all the staff. The reception staff gave us great advice and safety tips so we could have a safe but fun time in Paris. They helped us with getting taxis and even at 2 in the morning, Alain helped me print out all our boarding passes!! They catered to their guests and it was much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_joyce, Directeur général at Hotel Joyce - Astotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Coffee494,

Indeed we do our best to satisfy our customer. We are glad to readt that you appreciated it!

Your comment comes as a beautiful reward in return of our staff dedication.
So, thank you very much for writing such a nice comment about our hotel and our customer service.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you and your family again next time you are in Paris!
Rest assured it will be a real pleasure for our team!

Regards,

Marie-Laure Rigole,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This hotel is very clean and decorated in an cool, eclectic style. Our breakfast was included, and with everything so expensive in Paris, it was really a good deal. They also have snacks and drinks available all day long! The staff is really nice and helpful. We got a tour package the same day we asked about it and they were always ready with maps and directions. This hotel is close to two different Metro stations and a really good pizza restaurant. Free wifi too! Our room had a double bed and was quite small. Our teenage kids' room had single beds and lots more room than ours.

Room Tip: twin beds = more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_joyce, Directeur général at Hotel Joyce - Astotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Gjanasik,

Thank you very much for this nice feedback about your experience with us and shared with everyone!

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our special treats and the hotel design.

Thank you also for letting us know about your room. Next time you come to stay with us don't hesitate to specify your special enquiries. Depending of course on availabilities, we really do our best to fulfil our guests' room (or other) requests.

We hope to welcome you and your family again here!

Sincerely,

Marie-Laure Rigole,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Joyce - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Address: 29 rue la Bruyere, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joyce - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris 9, the new Joyce Hotel opened in November 2009. A harmony of comfort, elegance and exceptional brightness, a pure example of Parisian hospitality. Each room is unique, the lounge under the glass roof drawers you to linger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Joyce - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Joyce - Astotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.