We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect boutique hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Joyce - Astotel to your Saves list
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 rue la Bruyere, 75009 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect boutique hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed at this awesome little hotel with the gf on a weekend break after some TripAdvisor research for somewhere cool and fun to stay in Paris. Hotel came very highly recommended and didn't disappoint... Opted for a Superior room, and, although have no comparison, felt like the right decision to make as it was perfect. We were on the top floor, with a great balcony and a room that felt ideally sized for everything you need it to be on a weekend in this beautiful part of Paris.

Staff were always super friendly and helpful at all times of the day/night (bowls of ice for late night Rose drinking sessions a definite bonus). Also, on first night they managed to source us some Moulin Rouge tickets at very late notice with nothing more than one phone call from the room, which turned out to be AMAZING!!! If you've not been, then JUST GO, its walking distance and one of the best things I've ever seen...

Hotel is great for all the reasons everyone else has mentioned a bunch of times below (atmosphere, decor, snacks and drinks all day etc), but more than anything we really just loved the location. Felt like you were away from all the overtly touristy parts, that we didn't end up missing at all. Great little resto just down the street, and enough other cool bars and bistros to mean that we got nowhere near exhausting the surrounding streets in (our many) lazier moments. Also super easy to get around with metro tho, and a pretty enjoyable walk down to river and main sights and stuff if feeling like a wander.

Make sure you check out Sacre Coeur as well if at a lose end on a nice evening. Grab a couple bottles of Rose and you wont be disappointed after the walk up. There was a whole chilled vibe up there the Saturday we went and just sat on the steps listening to a guy playing guitar and watching the sun-set over the City...pretty special!!

So yup, in short, this place is awesome. Great location, perfect little hotel, and good times all round. We made a promise we'd come back every year and fully plan to stand by that!

Enjoy!!

Room Tip: 504 was awesome, ideal size room/bathroom and huge balcony (for Paris!), with great views over the P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_joyce, Directeur général at Hotel Joyce - Astotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear ValleyDan,

Thank you very much for following our guests' comments on Trip Advisor and for the fervour put into your message above!
We are happy to read that the previous feedbacks didn't disappoint you and your girlfriend and help you to choose our hotel.
We are also glad to hear that you really enjoyed our staff customer-oriented service and your room with balcony.
Finally, we would like to thank you for trusting us and giving us your first comment on Trip Advisor!

We already look forward to welcoming you again next year and the years forward !

Kind regards,

Marie-Laure Rigole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    372
    30
    3
    12
See reviews for
150
687
45
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My family booked three rooms at Hotel Joyce for a four night stay in July. It was a wonderful place to stay and I highly recommend it.

Positives:
-Rooms are super comfy, quiet, with all the amenities you need.
-Great value for the quality and location.
-Free breakfast is excellent and includes a variety of cold and hot items.
-The lounge area is open all day, with free drinks and snacks. Great place to be refreshed after coming back to the hotel after long days!
-Staff are exceptionally helpful.
-Location is close to Montmarte/Sacre Cour as well as Opera House, shopping areas and a few Metro stops within 5-10 walk. Also within walking distance to St. Lazare train station.
-Free Wifi

Negatives:
-The hotel isn't easily accessible from Gare du Nord station, where we arrived in Paris via train. Taxi is the way to get to the hotel if you arrive via train to Gare du Nord.
-Wifi was free but a bit fickle. We had to re-enter a code/password every day of our stay and sometimes multiple times a day. If you ask the staff at the front desk, however, they will always supply you with more codes.
-Bathroom is tiny and the shower didn't have any area to put soaps/shampoos except on the floor.
-Only 1 tiny elevator means you have to wait sometimes to go up to a higher-floor room, or just take the spiral staircase up and down.

We would definitely stay at the Joyce again and will recommend it to family and friends visiting Paris!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jordan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is our third visit to the hotel, it is a great place to spend a weekend in Paris, and the hotel is centrally located with a walking distance from Opera and Pigal areas. Modern design, well maintained, but what really makes the difference is the fantastic service of the staff, all of them are very helpful and give you personalized service, even the hotel Manager (Couldn’t get her name, but thanks for the museum tip !), special thanks for both Hatem and William who were really helpful in attending to all our needs and questions. We will be back and we recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Visited this hotel at my last trip to Paris - absolutely loved how helpful and attentive the staff was! I also enjoyed the room (quiet street) and the room was larger than others I've experienced in Paris. The free breakfast was very good - lots to choose from and in a very cool room on the first floor. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a delightful little hotel in a lovely neighbourhood. Charming staff, lovely breakfast, all day snacks and drinks in the delightful salon on the ground floor. It's just around the corner from the Metro and a laverie (useful on our trip, but so sad not to have the service wash available in the UK) and some superb restaurants, especially the one right next door.
Only issues were somewhat flaky wifi in the rooms, and the fact that the shower would always flood the bathroom, not matter what we did. Regardless, I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here with our toddler for four nights in June and the service was impeccable. We were made to feel very welcome, and the staff at the front desk were polite, friendly and helpful.
It was great to be able to come in after a long day and just unwind at the open bar section - free coffees, cakes and juices was perfect. We were there during the world cup, so we had the added entertainment of watching the soccer down there.
The room was good and the beds comfortable. We were facing the courtyard, so had a very quiet night's sleep.
The location was easy to access, a short walk form a metro station in a nice area. We often walked down to the Seine, even once the Eiffel Tower from there, but that was mainly because strollers are hard to get onto the Metro. It felt like great value for money, given the cost of Parisian hotel accommodation, and I would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Service is extremely warm, friendly, hospitable and very very thoughtful...
On our second night, we got back to the hotel at about 11:45pm. We sat ourselves down for a coffee ( complimentary open bar ). Around then another guest, a single lady, walked in through the front door, making her way to the elevator. The hotel staff member walked up to her, asked her how her evening was and asked if she would like something to drink. Oh my God!!! I dont need to say more about how thoroughly convinced this hotel is of offering top notch thoughful service.

Hotel: fresh, well designed, clean.
Room : very adequate. Very clean. Bright and happy.
Bed : super comfortable
Bathroom : very adequate

Super value for money. Great location. Great hotel in the mid range. Would definately stay again and reccomend.



  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Joyce - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Address: 29 rue la Bruyere, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joyce - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris 9, the new Joyce Hotel opened in November 2009. A harmony of comfort, elegance and exceptional brightness, a pure example of Parisian hospitality. Each room is unique, the lounge under the glass roof drawers you to linger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Fastbooking, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Joyce - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Joyce - Astotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.