We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Paris Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Joyce - Astotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 rue la Bruyere, 75009 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Ideal Paris Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My family booked three rooms at Hotel Joyce for a four night stay in July. It was a wonderful place to stay and I highly recommend it.

Positives:
-Rooms are super comfy, quiet, with all the amenities you need.
-Great value for the quality and location.
-Free breakfast is excellent and includes a variety of cold and hot items.
-The lounge area is open all day, with free drinks and snacks. Great place to be refreshed after coming back to the hotel after long days!
-Staff are exceptionally helpful.
-Location is close to Montmarte/Sacre Cour as well as Opera House, shopping areas and a few Metro stops within 5-10 walk. Also within walking distance to St. Lazare train station.
-Free Wifi

Negatives:
-The hotel isn't easily accessible from Gare du Nord station, where we arrived in Paris via train. Taxi is the way to get to the hotel if you arrive via train to Gare du Nord.
-Wifi was free but a bit fickle. We had to re-enter a code/password every day of our stay and sometimes multiple times a day. If you ask the staff at the front desk, however, they will always supply you with more codes.
-Bathroom is tiny and the shower didn't have any area to put soaps/shampoos except on the floor.
-Only 1 tiny elevator means you have to wait sometimes to go up to a higher-floor room, or just take the spiral staircase up and down.

We would definitely stay at the Joyce again and will recommend it to family and friends visiting Paris!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    360
    29
    3
    11
See reviews for
145
659
43
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jordan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is our third visit to the hotel, it is a great place to spend a weekend in Paris, and the hotel is centrally located with a walking distance from Opera and Pigal areas. Modern design, well maintained, but what really makes the difference is the fantastic service of the staff, all of them are very helpful and give you personalized service, even the hotel Manager (Couldn’t get her name, but thanks for the museum tip !), special thanks for both Hatem and William who were really helpful in attending to all our needs and questions. We will be back and we recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Visited this hotel at my last trip to Paris - absolutely loved how helpful and attentive the staff was! I also enjoyed the room (quiet street) and the room was larger than others I've experienced in Paris. The free breakfast was very good - lots to choose from and in a very cool room on the first floor. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a delightful little hotel in a lovely neighbourhood. Charming staff, lovely breakfast, all day snacks and drinks in the delightful salon on the ground floor. It's just around the corner from the Metro and a laverie (useful on our trip, but so sad not to have the service wash available in the UK) and some superb restaurants, especially the one right next door.
Only issues were somewhat flaky wifi in the rooms, and the fact that the shower would always flood the bathroom, not matter what we did. Regardless, I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here with our toddler for four nights in June and the service was impeccable. We were made to feel very welcome, and the staff at the front desk were polite, friendly and helpful.
It was great to be able to come in after a long day and just unwind at the open bar section - free coffees, cakes and juices was perfect. We were there during the world cup, so we had the added entertainment of watching the soccer down there.
The room was good and the beds comfortable. We were facing the courtyard, so had a very quiet night's sleep.
The location was easy to access, a short walk form a metro station in a nice area. We often walked down to the Seine, even once the Eiffel Tower from there, but that was mainly because strollers are hard to get onto the Metro. It felt like great value for money, given the cost of Parisian hotel accommodation, and I would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Service is extremely warm, friendly, hospitable and very very thoughtful...
On our second night, we got back to the hotel at about 11:45pm. We sat ourselves down for a coffee ( complimentary open bar ). Around then another guest, a single lady, walked in through the front door, making her way to the elevator. The hotel staff member walked up to her, asked her how her evening was and asked if she would like something to drink. Oh my God!!! I dont need to say more about how thoroughly convinced this hotel is of offering top notch thoughful service.

Hotel: fresh, well designed, clean.
Room : very adequate. Very clean. Bright and happy.
Bed : super comfortable
Bathroom : very adequate

Super value for money. Great location. Great hotel in the mid range. Would definately stay again and reccomend.



  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed here for 10 nights at the end of June with work associates and found the hotel to be beyond expectation.
For the price, I found it to be immaculately clean, the beds very comfortable, the rooms of good size and layout for Paris..... But the best feature of the hotel is the super friendly staff! They could not be more accommodating. Special mention to Samuel who was so kind and understanding to me after a difficult night when my bag was stolen.
Note: hold onto your bags ladies..even at beautiful restaurants!
The buffet breakfast was simple but lovely and the free snacks and drinks of an afternoon were a nice touch.
In summary I would absolutely stay at Hotel Joyce again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Joyce - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Address: 29 rue la Bruyere, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joyce - Astotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris 9, the new Joyce Hotel opened in November 2009. A harmony of comfort, elegance and exceptional brightness, a pure example of Parisian hospitality. Each room is unique, the lounge under the glass roof drawers you to linger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, Fastbooking, EasyToBook and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Joyce - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Joyce - Astotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.