We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Joyce - Astotel to your Saves list
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 rue la Bruyere, 75009 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #28 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Good location, close to the metro and nightlife. Friendly and helpful staff. The room was very clean and quite spacious by Paris standards. Only downside is there is no fridge in the room or cups / glassed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    401
    31
    3
    12
See reviews for
156
737
47
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I was really pleased with the hotel, it is clean, authentic and I would say the best boutique hotel I stayed in (I prefer boutique hotels for its homie atmosphere). Rooms have its French flair with beautiful windows and lovely decoration. Location is great, it is quiet and safe to walk at night. It is in 15 min walking distance from galleries Lafayette and the opera and in 20 min walk from moulene rouge. The consierge, Samuel, was so helpful, he advised a good place to eat and helped with the shuttle to the cdg airport, it is about 28 euros which, I guess, is a find for Paris. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at the Joyce for 2 nights. We had Room Number 507 from which you can overlook the roofs of the neighborhood although it doesn't have a balcony. The room was really quiet which was nice. It was nicely furnished providing all the things you need. It also was perfectly clean. A/C was working perfectly.

Staff were giving us directions to the nearest Metrostation (Saint Georges). They were also providing water when we came back late in the evening. I'll be back for sure.

We paid 188 Euros a night which is not really cheap but compared to other Paris Hotels it's a good deal.

Room Tip: 507 has a special layout and a nice view out of the window overseeing the roofs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Anyone who has ever tried to look for good quality, reasonably priced accommodation in Paris will tell you that it is difficult to find both. The Joyce Hotel offers both. Well appointed modern rooms, beautifully designed breakfast room and great service from the front desk. We felt welcome from the moment we entered the hotel our room, the 307,the space wasn´t huge but was comfortable and had everything we needed, even a docking station for our iPhone. The breakfast is quite good (omelet, bacon, sausages, pastries, bread, yoghurts, fruits, etc) good enough anyway for a 3* hotel. The hotel offers a free soft drinks and snack bar from 13:00 until 22:00, which is excellent. The location is superb, a 10-15 minute walk from the Opera, a 10 minute walk from Sacre-Coeur and very close to nice restaurants (ask the front desk for advice). When we checked out, we got a card with a code with a discount for a future booking. In short, I recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a visit to Paris.

Room Tip: Reserve the suite if you can afford it, or a superior if you can't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

As we approached hotel we were apprehensive about area but the moment we walked through doors it exceeded all our expectations. The staff especially Jennifer were wonderful. There is coffee/ tea and snacks available all day in restaurant. The room was lovely. Breakfast was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff in this hotel. A highlight of our trip around Europe. Beds were so comfy. Despite initial reservations about location it was easy to get everywhere without paying the high prices of central hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel met all my expectations and more. Great value - online booking price seemed a steal for the quality of the hotel. The rooms are small as you expect in Paris, more than adequate -- very coolly decorated, amazing beds, great shower. If travelling with kids, I think you would need to book two rooms, but I noticed some adjoining rooms available.
Staff was super welcoming, and sat down with us to look at a map and orient us in our jetlagged state. We arrived in the morning after a red eye and Alice brought us coffee and croissants while she arranged to store our luggage until the room was ready. That welcome started our trip on the right note.
Location was convenient to the metro, although to be honest we preferred to walk down to the Place de la Concorde (about 30 min) and up to Sacre Coeur and Montmartre (about 20 min). Strolling about gave us many more chances to happen upon cool cafes and shops.... And when we were starving and thirsty upon our arrival "home", the snack bar was filled with yummy treats and great coffee! Breakfast was amazing too.
I would happily stay here again if I am lucky enough to be back in Paris!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

From the moment we walked in we felt at home. The staff were lovely and samuel was a ray of sunshine. Bedrooms very clean and comfortable. Loved the free open bar from 2pm - 10pm, we were able to get cakes, biscuits, soft drinks, amazing idea. I cannot fault this boutique hotel and would recommend to anyone travelling to Paris x

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Joyce - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Address: 29 rue la Bruyere, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joyce - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris 9, the new Joyce Hotel opened in November 2009. A harmony of comfort, elegance and exceptional brightness, a pure example of Parisian hospitality. Each room is unique, the lounge under the glass roof drawers you to linger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Joyce - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Joyce - Astotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.