We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Joyce - Astotel to your Saves list
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 rue la Bruyere, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #41 of 1,773 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend this month. We stayed in a standard double which was plenty big enough for a 3 day stay. There is a built in wardrobe with a good amount if storage space. Only minor niggle about the room was that water leaked out of the shower onto the floor.

I loved the quirky decoration throughout and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is a short walk to Montemartre and Pigalle metro stop so good for exploring.

We ate at La Pantruche which is just round the corner and was very nice.

It was out first time in Paris and we will definitely stay at Hotel Joyce when we come back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    454
    37
    5
    12
See reviews for
182
854
56
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Very good breakfast buffet.
Staff was friendly and went the extra mile for us.
Room was well equipped and sweet and cosy, very clean.
The area around metro station st georges is quiet and friendly.

All on sll, we expected much after many good reviews at TA but we were really not let down.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

A great 3 days at the Hotel Joyce. Well located - away from the crowds but within easy walking distance of Montmartre and various transportation options; charming, quiet rooms; very attentive service; and a delicious breakfast. We particularly appreciated the helpful attitude of the front desk staff, for whom no request was a problem (restaurant recommendations, reservations, taxi booking). Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in hotel Joyce and we enjoyed it very much - hotel is in good location, very nice decorated, staff was really very helpful and friendly, breakfast was delicious, open bar with soft drinks, cofee and snacks is very good idea! So definetelly we want to recommed it to others.

Room Tip: Room in higher floors have view to nice roofs of Paris
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at Hotel Joyce, with very nice and friendly staff. The rooms where modern and we liked the decoration and cleanness, but we had little problems with the bed. We prefer harder beds and this was a very soft one. This is the reason why the overall rating is 4 not 5. The breakfast was very good, with a lot of different foods, warm and cold. The location was perfect, because we could walk to Sacre Coeur and get into the city center by using one of the different close Metro stations. We can definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a 2 night stay in the Joyce and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! As soon as we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome, being offered complimentary drinks as well as being walked through the attractions of Paris, the local area and everything we need to know by the staff. The hotel itself was great being furnished very nicely with a modern, contemporary design throughout. The room we had was incredible, with an amazing balcony overlooking the street. The location of the hotel is brilliant; we used the St George metro which was a 5 minute walk from the hotel, which is on metro line 12 which serves all the major attractions throughout Paris and makes it very easy to travel around the city. You would also be able to walk to the Opera in roughly 10 mins, Paris really is on your doorstep! The staff in the hotel were really happy to help at any time, with an example being when we asked for a champagne bucket and glasses, the staff ensured we were able to enjoy a nice cold bottle of bubbly. We also asked for our room to overlook the street in front, which the hotel were more than happy to accommodate for. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Joyce and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 days at the Hotel Joyce. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the bedroom and bathroom were a good size and spotlessly clean. We particularly liked the quietness of the location with the rooms well insulated.
The breakfasts offered a good selection although we would have preferred the hot food to have been freshly prepared. We took advantage of the complimentary afternoon coffee and snacks which was a good touch.
Easy communication from the hotel via the metro system and the area is close to the Moulin Rouge and Sacre Coeur.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Joyce - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Address: 29 rue la Bruyere, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 1,773 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joyce - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at an unconventional spot of the upper 9th district, the Joyce Hotel is ideally located at the crossroads of the theater district, Place St-Georges, and the "hot-spots" of the fashionable South-Pigalle neighborhood. Maliciously decorated by Philippe Maidenberg, with nods to inevitable Parisian monuments, our hotel will seduce you with its comfort and bold design. Luxury car furniture recycled as improvised seats, inverted Eiffel Tower, delicate tromple-l'oeil paintings around beds, breakfast with bio breads and cereals under a very Eiffel-like glass roof: Everything is ready to usher you into a fun and surprising world. Our 44 rooms are full of thoughtful and delicate touches that add to the cosiness of the place. All rooms feature a quiet atmosphere, strengthened in some cases with a terrace or an enchanting view over the rooftops. Our team, available 24/24, will welcome you into a chic and relaxing atmosphere, while advising you on the top attractions of a perfect stay Find design rooms filled with art works and indulge in a burst of merriment and fresh air in the capital ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Joyce - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Joyce - Astotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.