We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Joyce - Astotel to your Saves list
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 rue la Bruyere, 75009 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #27 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing stay at the start of April. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable especially the bed. We Enjoyed the complementary coffee and snacks on a regular basis. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    397
    31
    3
    12
See reviews for
153
733
46
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We just got back from our week long stay at the Joyce Hotel in Paris last night. What a gracious and helpful staff they have. Jennifer bent over backwards to help us get L'Open Bus tour tickets and a shuttle to the airport. Marion, Hatem and Samuel were very charming and helpful as well. Mimi didn't speak much English but was able to get us the perfect cup of coffee everyday.

Arriving: We took the RER to Gare du Nord (about 9 euro) from Charles De Gaulle after our very long direct plane ride from LAX. We then walked to the Joyce - about a mile. It was a nice day but I wish we would have taken a taxi at that point because we had to figure out where we were going.Once we learned the street signs are on the buildings we were OK. Just get a good map and good rolling luggage if you plan on this trek. The Chapalle Metro is right at Gare Du Nord and you can take that to Pigalle and walk a few blocks downhill but that involves a lot of stairs. We got a Start shuttle going back to the airport - 36 Euors cash (no credit cards) for two one way. 16 euros deposit at the hotel and 20 to the driver. We picked up a few more people on the way and the driver dropped us off at the Air France terminal 2Finstead of 2E and it took us a while to figure out where to go. We didn't appreciate that but I'm not sure if there was another option.

Back to the Joyce. We walked in the door and were greeted by Jennifer who spoke and understood English very well. We were tired so at first we had a hard time understanding her but it got better... She offered us coffee and a cookie and brought out a map to point out all the highlights etc. They drink strong coffee in Paris so we learned to ask for weak coffee at the Joyce and filtered coffee at Starbucks.
We get to our Double Deluxe room on the 5th floor - 506 facing the courtyard right next to the elevator but the noise was not a problem at all. The elevator was only about 5 feet wide and 2 feet deep. We fit two of us with two big and one small bags with no room to spare. I never felt claustrophobic in it because it had lots of mirrors and always worked! Our room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed with a nice bathroom. Great water pressure with instant hot water. We got the bath/shower combo and had no problems. The bathtub is a little high off the floor but they have a sturdy towel rack to hang on too as you get out so it was never a problem. Shampoo and bath gel provided with the tiniest bar of soap I have ever seen. No face cloths so bring your own. The bed was very comfy but a little short for us and we are not very tall people. We got very warm at night even though we left both windows open. We could not adjust the thermostat and found out they turn the air-conditioning off in the winter. There was a little closet with shelves on one side whcih worked perfectly for us. A desk with free Wi-fi and night stands with lights were the only other furniture in the whole room. It was very nicely decorated overall and worked for our needs since we were there to see Paris not to stay in the hotel room.

We really appreciated the great breakfast in the beautiful atrium (different quiche each day, assorted fresh fruit, croissants, cheeses, eggs, sliced meat, sausages, juices) and snacks (juice, sodas, coffee, chips, nuts and a slice of delicious tart if you were lucky to get there in time) from 2-10 each afternoon. The atrium was a great place to hang out with a glass of wine after a long day to figure out your itinerary for the next. They even provided water bottles as we went out on our daily excursions. Overall the Hotel Joyce was exactly as the reviews had said it was. It's not in a bad area just not in the most convenient. For our first time it would have been nicer to be a little closer to the major attractions and maybe Gare Du Nord, but it all worked out in the end. It's a 10 minutes walk to two major Metros. You won't be disappointed if you stay here. The helpful staff made it all a really great experience. Just know you have to walk a lot in Paris overall.

Room Tip: Bring a washcloth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Lovely charming hotel, located close to Opera area in Paris. The hotel staff are so helpful and friendly, they really go out of their way to make your stay wonderful. I arrived early, as the room was not ready they offered to keep my baggage in left luggage and gave me a map of the city and gave me pointers on where to go. I enjoyed the outing and when I returned, they had upgraded me to the apartment which was huge. Loved it !! There is always small snacks, tea/coffee and fruit juices available in their breakfast room through out the day and guests are free to have them.

They helped me get to the Metro station which was really close and helped me understand how to get to Champs Elysee without a problem. I was there in 15 minutes. The next morning, the check out was super smooth and they called a cab which was there in under 5 minutes.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to Paris. Simply wonderful !!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Astotel Group of Hotels has a long list of hotels located in Paris and Hotel Joyce was our choice.

Less than 10 minutes away from either Pigalle or Saint-George station, a good location in the Paris. However, if you are travelling with heavy luggage, you might want to take a cab. The walking journey from the station to Rue la Bruyere are paved with cobbled floors.

The room booked doesn't come with a Balcony, and we regretted not booking for one. But the room was just as nice and the room features an iPod dock.

Breakfast is rather constant everyday, but they feature tea time, where you can simply go down to the reception floor, you can help yourself to whatever is available. (no mini-bar or room service)

Note, there's only one lift and it's really, really small.

Finally, the service was really good, Ms Jennifer (i think was her name) was awesome! She helped us in various areas, from where to go, where to eat, what to see and various advice that's priceless to first-time visitors to the city.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Having a balcony room will be the icing on the cake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in April 2014. We arrived at 9.30am, and they were so welcoming, they even told us to go and have breakfast.

One big bonus is the snacks and drinks they have out all day, free to all guests. It includes fizzy drinks, water, a coffee machine, crisps, pastries and cakes. Such a lovely touch.

It is conveniently located close to St George metro (or Pigalle). We also walked easily into the centre.

Lovely hotel and lovely staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Having read the reviews about possible street noise - we were in room 107 which overlooked the glass-roofed courtyard. No noise whatsoever, it was wonderful. Our friends staying in a road facing room (103) did experience some road noise from rubbish trucks and general Paris life in the early hours.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We spent a long while researching hotels in Paris - and were not disappointed. Hotel Joyce is well located for travelling by metro with several stations in easy walking distance, and is particularly handy for anyone arriving by Eurostar. Rooms are a reasonable size and immaculate. Breakfast is ample with a good choice but what was a bonus was the availability of refreshments from the afternoon until late in the evening - fantastic after a day's sightseeing. The staff were all very friendly and helpful; we would certainly choose this hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Joyce is a small boutique hotel, nicely decorated, not very central to the city but ~15 minute walk frojm the Opera. It is located within 5minute walking distance to two metro startion and there is a bike station just around the corner.
The rooms are comfortable with all necessities but no frils (no mini bar or rooms service). There is an ipod docking station and a laptop-sized safe. The bed is super comfy and quality of sleep is perfect. Not much street noise (except Saturday night) but all is blocked-out if windows are closed.
We booked via booking.com and asked for a room with a double bed and balcony and we were sure to get it!
The hotel is somewhat run down, especially the common areas, and at least a good paint job is necessary.
Staff are friendly and descrete.
Nearby there are pleanty of bistros, brasseries, bars, bakeries for breakfast, cafes. A couple of doors down from the hotel there is a really good neobistro carrying the name of the street and which the hotel recommends too.
I think it is somewhat overpriced but then again, Paris is an expensive city to visit.

Room Tip: high floor + balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Joyce - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Address: 29 rue la Bruyere, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joyce - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris 9, the new Joyce Hotel opened in November 2009. A harmony of comfort, elegance and exceptional brightness, a pure example of Parisian hospitality. Each room is unique, the lounge under the glass roof drawers you to linger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Joyce - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Joyce - Astotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.