We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Joyce - Astotel to your Saves list
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 rue la Bruyere, 75009 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #28 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Modern and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lovely clean hotel. Small and boutiquey. Staff were all friendly and helpful especially Samuel. I've stayed there three times and will be booking it again for my next work trip. Bed is super comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    401
    31
    3
    12
See reviews for
156
736
47
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

booked a eurostar long weekend package and chose this hotel because it was walking distance from the station and everything we wanted to see as well as having been ranked well on trip advisor.We did take the advice of others and asked for a high floor. we were in 602 a very comfortable large double bed,plenty of hot water and being on the top floor no noise at all.We did not have breakfast in the hotel as there are plenty of places to eat which are cheaper and you can watch the world go by, we did pick up a complimentry soft drink and snacks on our return though,these are free from 2pm till midnight ( a nice touch as there is no bar) the reception staff were always very friendly and polite.Galeries Lafayette is 10 minutes slow walk and worth going to even if you don't like shopping to see the fantastic dome and balonies....don't forget to go on the roof for the view.
Sacre Coeur Cathedral is just up the hill but wow is it a hill hundreds of steps too,not to be attempted by anyone with breathing problems....maybe get a taxi,but it is the most beautiful church I have been in and always gives me a moving experience even though I am not religious and stunning views. This hotel is also right by a metro station for those of you not so keen on walking so you can get to all the sights. We had a great time.

Room Tip: ask for high floor so no noise from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Young couple from London stayed for weekend, We arrived early and since no rooms were available they tried to offer us a room across the street at another one of their chains ( I cant remember the name but you cant miss it) We was told the rooms were the same etc but having my doubts i checked on TA and the hotel was ranked in the hundreds- well below Hotel Joyce.. so we decided to wait for our room.. and what a good decision it was.. the room was slightly bigger, better decorated and all round much better so if you book with Hotel Joyce, make sure you stay there! All the staff we met during our time there were very friendly and more than helpful, brilliant service! We stayed on the third floor room 303 which was clean, had a comfy bed and was very nice.. although we was woken up 4/5 times during the night by sirens and from people on the streets outside.. so probably best to try get a room at the back although not sure if it will help.. The room was very good, safe perfect.. but the only other complaint I would have is the shower... not being able to get hot water at night only lukewarm and in the morning having either scorching hot or too cold was a pain.. that and the water pressure or lack of.. but we wasn't going to let that ruin our trip to Paris! Leaving our luggage on the day of checkout was fine and safe with a ticketing system and only hotel staff having access.. perfect distance from the station, sacre coeur and Moulin rogue would defiantly recommend this hotel for a short stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our Eurostar trip. well looked after in this quirky small hotel free help yourself soft bar very useful.Rooms clean and quiet.Restaurant next door not to be missed.
Would stay here again.Metro minutes away

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A small, clean, newly designed Hotel. Belongs to ASTOTEL Parisian chain of Hotels, in which other Hotel I already stayed and it was a good experience as well. Friendly staff, clean rooms with everything you need, free wi-fi internet access, decent breakfast and an afternoon open bar with hot and soft drinks and snacks if you need to rest for a while.
The Hotel is close to the Theatre area and Montmartre, and in walking distance from the Opera, Grand Boulevards and Galeries Lafayette & Au Printemps department stores.

Room Tip: First rooms right and left to the elevators are the biggest (according to the fire escape diagram)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as Eurostar package and got an excellent deal. We normally stay in 4-5star hotels so we were a little nervous about this one! Upon arrival we greeted by v friendly polite staff. Our room exceeded our expectations considerably! V comfy bed, immaculate and v trendy! Walk in shower, hair dryer for ladies! Free safe! Large flat screen tv! Hotel offers free snacks and drinks after 2pm-brilliant touch! Includes cans, hot drinks, water and fruit, crisps, nuts! Free wi fi in your room! This hotel is short in walk to metro too! Staff v helpful and even made phone calls for us when the river was flooded and we had already prebooked a cruise online! Only grumble was that our room was on first floor And it was v noisy, particularly on weekend nights! Choose a room on a high floor At the back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Very average.
Had a power cut on the 7th feb so we couldn't shower or get ready. Very poor.
Would appreciate a refund for the lack of electricity.

liked the fact you can get food or drink whenever you want though.

Very unhappy with stay, only good aspect was the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Joyce - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Address: 29 rue la Bruyere, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joyce - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris 9, the new Joyce Hotel opened in November 2009. A harmony of comfort, elegance and exceptional brightness, a pure example of Parisian hospitality. Each room is unique, the lounge under the glass roof drawers you to linger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Joyce - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Joyce - Astotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.