We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joyful stay on Joyce! We will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Joyce - Astotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 rue la Bruyere, 75009 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Lund, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Joyful stay on Joyce! We will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Excellent room and wonderful staff! We stayed on Joyce Hotel on our honeymoon trip to Paris, and got the best room with a bottle of champagne waiting for us on arrival. So nice! We will definitively stay here next time in Paris!
The room (504) had a nice big balcony where we could sit and enjoy our drinks in the evening. The room itself was small, but very clean and nice! The bathroom was clean and the towels vere fresh and clean. Just a small problem with water running out on the floor when taking a shower. The staff was very helpful and giving service with a smile. The hotel is located close to Metro and within walking distance to Montmatre and other attractions. The hotel offers a shuttle service from the hotel to the airport, which is nice. A nice stay on a very nice hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    360
    29
    3
    11
See reviews for
145
661
43
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We spent a fantastic 3 nights of our honeymoon at the Hotel Joyce and the staff, location and the interior couldn't have been better. Upon arrival we were made to feel very welcome and the staff were very helpful. The location (between Pigalle and St george metro stations) was a great base for wandering with plenty of amenities nearby. The breakfast was pretty good too! The rooms are quite cosy but all finished to a high standard with a ridiculously comfortable bed. I would definately recommend this hotel if you want to treat yourself but can't afford a big fancy hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Super clean rooms, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast in the morning was wonderful! The staff here made our trip to Paris more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed taw nights with my husband.The hotel was above our expectations.Room was very clean and modern.Hotel lobby was very modern and trendy decorated.
The reception staff were very kind and helpful at all times.
Complimentary coffee,soft drinks and snacks at the lobby from 2-11pm were really amazing!! Breakfast basic but very good !
The hootel ordered an airport shuttle for us on our check out which was very convenient and cheaper than ordinary taxi fare.
We ll definately recommend it and go back in our next trip to Paris!

Room Tip: We got a room in the 4th floor which was really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The Hotel Joyce is very close to being the tidy little 3-star hotel of one's dreams - almost all of the great things earlier reviewers have said about it seemed very true for us as well, not least because of a very pleasant surprise upgrade to the sixth-floor suite, which features lovely views across the rooftops of Paris, a separate WC and shower room, and a tremendously comfortable sitting room.

The Joyce delivers where it counts: spotlessly clean, excellent mattress and linens, very quiet room (at least where we were), and ample hot water. Our rate included free wifi (in room as well the lobby) and breakfast. The Hotel's many virtues, not least of which its friendly, welcoming staff, offset almost completely the few areas in which one is reminded that it is, after all, a budget choice. Among those are towels, which while of good quality are small, and the breakfast, which comes close to underwhelming (when it's not just being odd - I don't really fancy a cold rice salad at 8:00 in the morning, but perhaps there are those who do...). If the Hotel were to upgrade its croissants and perhaps offer some less sandpaper-like coffee cake, it would be a vast improvement and would better match the excellent coffee and lovely setting.

We enjoyed the hotel's little quirks - the infintesimal elevator, the design quirks (the tiny LED lights in the lobby floor work; the white china antlers sprouting seagrass, possibly less so), and the general air of friendliness that prevails. Even more, we appreciated the very caring attitude and support of the desk staff when one of us fell ill on a weekend evening and needed help in getting to the only late-night dental emergency room in Paris.

The neighborhood is central enough to be an easy walk to the opera, department stores, and amusingly dodgy Pigalle/Place Clichy district, with longer walks to Montmartre and down to the Louvre quite possible. It's quiet in the evenings, but we still found several nice places open as late as midnight - and the quiet makes for excellent sleep.

The Joyce is a Hotel I look forward to recommending to friends and to coming back to.

Room Tip: See if you can't get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I have visited Paris on a number of occasions over the last 5 years with my partner, previous visits have always been a disappointment mainly due the hotel not being right, this time it was perfect,modern, clean tidy hotel, excellent reception(Coleen was exceptional) and waiting staff(philipe) would definitely go back

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011 via mobile

The main hall of this hotel is gorgeous. The design is modern and stylish, with a glass roof/wall in the breakfast hall that has an indoor/outdoor feel. In short, cool interior design.
I slept comfortably and appreciated the organic bath soaps, but my husband found the room cheapky decorated and woke up with a back ache. There was a flat screen tv and the alarm clock is equipped for an iPhone.
Our major complaint was breakfast!! Thawed out croissants, rancid salad, fermented grapefruit!
Thank goodness the coffee was ok.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Joyce - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Address: 29 rue la Bruyere, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joyce - Astotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris 9, the new Joyce Hotel opened in November 2009. A harmony of comfort, elegance and exceptional brightness, a pure example of Parisian hospitality. Each room is unique, the lounge under the glass roof drawers you to linger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Fastbooking and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Joyce - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Joyce - Astotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.