We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de France - Gare de Lyon Bastille

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de France - Gare de Lyon Bastille to your Saves list
Hotel de France - Gare de Lyon Bastille
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 rue de Lyon, 75012 Paris, France (Reuilly)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,441 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Don't compare my four stars with a four star hotel you would find outside a large, expensive city. I give it four stars because we were shocked that we could get something this affordable, yet comfortable, in the center of Paris. There were three of us, and we had three twin beds, as requested. I think our room was the anomaly with TWO FULL BATHS, because doubt all rooms had two. The room was small, but one would expect that from an inexpensive hotel in the center of Paris. The room and baths were exceptionally clean, and the beds were standard; nothing to brag about, but comfortable. The front desk service was quick, friendly, and efficient. One of the best things about this hotel is location. Bastille is a nice area, and this hotel is about three blocks from great restaurants and bars, as well as two blocks from the Bastille Metro station. It's about a 30 minute walk to Notre Dame, and also within walking distance of the Louvre, Place de Concorde, the Arch de Triomphe. We also walked to the Eiffel Tower, but it was quite a trek. We didn't eat the breakfast in the lobby (it was not included in our room rate), and there is an excellent bakery directly across the street where we had breakfast all three mornings. All in all, this is a great hotel for the price and if we were going back to Paris, we'd absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Have breakfast at the patisserie across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    28
    29
    21
    23
See reviews for
24
26
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I chose this hotel as my husband and I were visiting a relative and the hotel was on the same street as my relative.

The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the Gare de Lyon Metro Station, which makes is ideal for exploring the city.

The booking in process was very easy with a friendly member of staff who spoke English. We were made welcome and were given good directions on how to find our room.

Our room was located at the rear of the hotel, which was ideal for us as the room was very quiet and away from any street noise.

The room was clean, fairly well equipped and comfortable. There was however no tea/coffee making facilities which wasn't a great problem for us, but may be for some people.

There is a continental breakfast available, but unfortunately I assumed this was included in the price of the room, and it is not. On checking out, I was informed that I had to pay 34 euros for 2 mornings breakfast for 2 people. Had I known it was not included in the room price, we would not have had the breakfast, as we would have bought something from one of the nearby supermarkets.

There was a TV in our room which allowed us to watch a range of TV stations (French).

A big bonus for us was the luggage storage facility which we used on our final day, which enabled us to store our suitcases in a room so that we could pick them up later on our way back to the station. However the room that the luggage was stored in is not locked, but there was no problem with our luggage being stored there.

There is free use of a computer in the breakfast area which would prove useful if you do not have your own laptop with you.

There are numerous shops, cafes and restaurants within a short walking distance of the hotel.

Overall I would recommend this hotel as a good base for a trip to Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the property as these are very quiet with no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Let's face it, you are not staying around Gare de Lyon for luxury! It is only really good for the convenience- walking distance to RER and Metro station as well as Main Line SNCF trains to the south.
The hotel is small, limited, but clean and correctly appointed. On-Line deals are the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxborough, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our first disappointment was that our request to have a room with two beds, one of the main reasons for choosing this hotel, was ignored. We were given room 307 which we expected to be on the third floor but was really on the fifth floor which could only be reached using the stairs since the elevator was out of service. Once we reached our room we opened the door onto the smallest room I have ever seen and I’m used to small rooms in Europe but this set a new standard for small. The room was a double bed with a foot of space to the wall and the window looked into a “chimney” of ventilation pipes, not exactly a view. The final point of discontent was that although the hotel is proud to provide WiFi service it only works on the ground floor. In short avoid this hotel if you can.

Room Tip: Avoid if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The location is perfect with max. 10 mins walking distance from Gare de Lyon. The room is a bit small but clean and comfortable. Worried about the baggage storing facilities because there is no lock and everyone can go into it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litóchoron, Pieria, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Very expensive and it does not worth it!! 90 euros per night RR (does not include breakfast it costs 8 euros if I remember well) for a single room. The room was 104 had a view in gar de Lyon street And had a tiny bed.The bathroom had only soaps(neither shampoos nor bath foam) and not even a hair dryer.The staff were bored to work there and bored to live in general and didn't even ask if everything was ok ...the two positives were the location and the good wifi signal

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de France - Gare de Lyon Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France - Gare de Lyon Bastille

Address: 12 rue de Lyon, 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,441 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France - Gare de Lyon Bastille 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de France - Gare de Lyon Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de France - Gare de Lyon Bastille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.