We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B&B (Chambres d'Hotes) in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Delareynie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast Delareynie
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Delareynie to your Saves list
22 Rue de la Reynie, 75004 Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 132 Paris B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delightful B&B (Chambres d'Hotes) in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Four of us, two couples, booked a week at Delareynie. The host, Ghislain, is a French-Canadian who has lived in Paris for 7 years. He is most accommodating, preparing a typical French continental breakfast daily - orange juice, coffee, croissants, baguettes, My wife likes eggs for breakfast and we bought them at a nearby market. Ghislain happily prepared them for us to our specifications each morning.

There are two spacious rooms with double beds and one smaller room suitable for a solo traveler. Ghislain sleeps in this room when it is not occupied. Otherwise we sleeps in the very large living room. Don't let that dissuade you, as he is up and about before you awake.

You have free WiFi and free access to the small kitchen and refrigerator - handy for storing beer, soft drinks and wine and left-overs from your afternoon picnic. You may also use his washer / dryer, saving a bundle on outside laundry service, as well as time that would otherwise be wasted sitting at a laundromat.

The B&B is about a 2 minute walk from the Chattelet - Les Halles train / metro station and about 15 second walk from the Pompidou Center. It is also a block away from the Hotel d' Paris and about 5 minutes to Notre Dame Cathedral. In other words, it is in a prime location.

Drawbacks are that it is on the 4th (American 3rd) floor and the elevator only runs from the 2nd floor (American 1st), so yo will have to walk one flight. Also, there is no A/C, and while the weather was pleasant when we visited in early June, the lack of A/C in July and August will be sorely missed. Fans are available. The floors are wooden and creaky, so be prepared to hear everyone at night trek to and from the toilet. Not a big deal, and kind of funny trying to recognize who is making the walk by listening to the tell-tale creaks.

What really sold us was the price, about $110 per night per couple. Another couple that we traveled with stayed at a 4 star hotel near the Musee d 'Orsay and paid $420 per night and 45 Euros each for breakfast. (Obviously, they went to a nearby Starbucks for their morning java.) And, when we visited them we learned that their A/C was not working.

An additional note: Ghislain will gladly call restaurants or otherwise help you with your stay. We were traveling to Burgundy and wanted to dine at a particular restaurant. After we left Paris, Ghislain called them, made the reservation for us, and emailed us the information while we were on the road.

Bottom line, Delareyne is highly recommended for its location, price and terrific host.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    27
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
44
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Ghislain was a fantastic host and couldn't have done more for us. The apartment was spotless and the room had a delightful balcony to soak up the local atmosphere and sunshine. The breakfast was fresh and delicious; croissants, baguettes and jam with lovely coffee and orange juice, served in a marvellous dining room. The apartment was so central for the Pompidou centre, Seine, Notre Dame and Les Halles shopping centre. The area was full of cafes, art galleries. This is a gem of a place to stay and we will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This B & B is in a fantastic location in the Marais with everything near your door including plenty of restaurants and bars. For venturing further there are several Metro lines just around the corner, several Velib stations even closer than the Metro or you can walk all over central Paris from here - we did all of these!
We stayed in the room with one balcony overlooking Rue De la Reynie and there is quite a lot of traffic noise from Blvd. Sebastapol if you are a light sleeper. The room has plenty of space and light and is quite comfortable.....the floor though, is incredibly sqeaky.
The bathroom is shared and is kept clean, and the whole apartment is really very large and open with plenty of light from the balcony doors. Ghislain provides a fresh breakfast of croissants and bread, jams and juice, tea and coffee.
In all, I'm glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

i traveled to paris with 2 nieces and stayed in the apartment on temple street. we met ghislain at the apartment. it's a nice little apartment in a superb location. can't beat the location. it worked out perfect for us to stay there. the only drawback to staying at a place like this was that there was no one to help you out with the local stuff. i don't speak french and this is not a touristy area so to arrange to have a taxi pick us up early to get to the airport, i had to find a hotel close by and ask them to make the arrangements for us (which they kindly did even though we were not guests at their hotel!)

the apartment was great and there is a really wonderful bakery just a few doors away and around the corner.

there is a nightclub just across the street that was going from 10:00 until 3:00 the next morning but when you close the windows, you couldn't hear a thing! we loved people watching from the huge window seat and we felt like we got a little taste of the local neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We were in Paris last November and January. At first we had a room at the B&B. The host is nice, speaks well in English and knows his way around. He is happy to suggest you, things to do, not only what every tourist visit but places where the local hangs as well. Good french style breakfast, that's a great way to start the day...
We stayed a couple of days at the studio near Notre-Dame. This is an amazing studio, the location is perfect and the place is tidy and well furnished. Around the studio you have everything you need. Even your own bells to tell let you know the time (From Notre-Dame)…
Thanks to Ghislain, you know your business,

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I stayed with the charming Ghislain at his wonderful home in Paris for three nights in April, 2011. The B&B is literally his home on the third floor of a building one block from Pompidou Center. While I stayed there Ghislain slept on the couch in his living room. He made breakfast for us, gave us travel tips, directions, and just generally made us feel wonderful. He is a charming man who is there to please his guests. We felt at home but not so much that we were crowded. Ghislain gave us our space and we only saw him when we wanted to see him. Rooms were bright and clean. We had a key to his home to come and go at our convenience. The walk from his door to Pompidou Center is 25 seconds.

There was a little bit of street noise during the night but not enough to really bother us. Ghislain has a single toilet and shower so we had to share. There were four total guests while we where there which seemed to be the maximum capacity. Bathrooms were kept spotless. Simple towels provided.

Free wireless internet.

Ghislain, I shall return !

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Notre dame studio. It was fully-equipped--the kitchen had two burners, microwave, and refrigerator; the bathroom included a hair dryer and towel warmer; and the main room had an iPod dock, comfortable bed, individual bedside reading lights, and more! Ghislain had everything we could need already provided, including pots and pans and an umbrella. He stocked the fridge with coffee, milk, orange juice, butter, and three types of jam for the baguette he also left for us.

The studio is a 4th-floor walk-up (considered the 3rd floor) literally steps from Notre Dame and next to Saint Julian le Pauvre. Many nearby cafes and grocery stores. Extremely close to St. Micheal Metro and RER station for easy access to the airport and city.

Gay-friendly, reasonable rates, and highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Delareynie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Delareynie

Address: 22 Rue de la Reynie, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Hôtel-de-Ville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I am situated in the heart of Paris, just steps away from famous centre Georges Pompidou and of the Marais, 22 rue de la ReynieIt will be a pleasure for us to greet you in this historic and animated neighbourhood. By foot, by bus, by bicycle (Velib) or by metro, you will easily discover the Hôtel de ville (city hall), the Louvre, the Notre-Dame cathedral, the quartier Latin, as well as many cafés, pubs, and excellent restaurants ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Delareynie Hotel Paris
b&b Delareynie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Delareynie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.