We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Ice!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue Danton, 75006 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #331 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“No Ice!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Holiday Inn is a great location. Notre Dame is close by as are most places of interest and some wonderful cafes all around. We booked the room six months in advance and were able to secure a good rate. The rack rate however is very expensive for what the hotel offers, so look for a good deal before committing to this hotel. The room was a good size and well appointed. The hotel has a roof top bar which has a great view of the Eiffel Tower. However the staff's attitude was below standard. The hotel's main ice machine had broken down before we arrived and remained broken for the duration of our five day stay. In the middle of summer this was unacceptable, ice was a precious commodity. When I complained I was bullied by the security man on duty and when my wife went to get what ice may have been available from the lobby bar it was unmanned (and seemed to be the case during our whole stay), when she approached reception staff, she was told that "he was busy"!!. Apart from this I think the hotel for the right price is in a great place for a stay in Paris.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a good rate for this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Afagato,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am very happy that you liked our location. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced over some amenities. In addition, I am very sorry for the staff's indifference. Rest assured that these concerns will be looked into and actions will be taken. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    426
    112
    26
    16
See reviews for
164
512
50
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I looked long and hard to determine where to stay in Paris. My last trip to Paris my husband and I stayed at the very French boutique hotel with flowery wall paper etc. It was wonderful but it was in a very quiet area. This time I wanted to be in St. Germain/Latin Quarter area. This is a great area for us with shops and cafe's and people! This hotel had nice modern décor! The lounge was nice with a bar and terrific air conditioning. The best part of this hotel is that many rooms have balconies and there is a roof top terrace. I wish we could have brought our own wine and cheese to the roof (we could have had it on our balcony) but there is a bar on the roof you must buy their moderately expensive wine and cheese/appetizers. It was so beautiful to sit up there especially at the end of the day before going our later for dinner. Also at night with the Tour Eiffel lit up it was special !!!, We must have had a larger room because there was plenty of room, not elegant and no drawers but the bathroom was great. The staff were very pleasant and had some terrific recommendations. The other people at the hotel were very upscale, celebrating an occasion, and friendly The area at night was crowded with young people in there 20'ies who were loud but some older folks too. Our friends stayed on the more elegant and sophisticated Champs Elysees, but hung out with us on the Holiday Inn roof!!! We took advantage of the balcony and sat out each morning and night, and if you like this I would recommend a room facing the Tour Effel. As everyone said, if you want a large breakfast eat at the hotel, but I prefer a café in the area especially the pastry and breads at Paul. What is better than a warm croissant!!!. I would return in a second!

Room Tip: Some people prefer a larger room, some care about the bathroom, some a small room with a balcony. Te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, ontario, canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed here 4 nights in July. I strongly recommend it.

The front desk appeared to be a bit disorganized about my ihg rewards night stay. Once resolved, I had a slightly upgraded room.

The hotel is very well-maintained.Free internet to all ihg members, so be sure to enroll before booking. And don;t miss a drink on the ninth floor rooftop bar after sunset, See Paris as "the city of lights".

You should have no concern for safety. It's proximity to the outdoor bistros and bars at Place St Micheal, creates a great deal of street activity.



The location is superb. It is on the R.E.R line B which provides direct access from both airports to the Notre Dame/ St. Michael stop. Be sure to take the Place St, Micheal exit from the subway.
When you emerge, you'll be about 50 meters from the hotel st the start of Rue Danton.

Room Tip: R.E.R. Exit at the Place St Michael exit from the R.E.R.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a superb hotel in an excellent location near Notre Dame and the Latin Quarter as well as heaps of restaurants and bars.

The rooms are small but well appointed and as a Gold Priority member I got an upgrade to an Eiffel Tower room - nice touch!!

The bathroom has a large shower and good water pressure.

Breakfast included in the rate is in the nice buffet restaurant and had an excellent selection of food to choose from as well as Nespresso coffee!

Another great stay with friendly staff at an excellent hotel.

10/10.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Room was small but clean and quiet. We faced the courtyard and had a small balcony we didn't use but it was great lighting. Bathroom was very tight but then, I'm American and the French think we waste space! Bed was super comfy and much appreciated. We did have difficulty explaining we wanted a washcloth, apparently they don't use them so we wound up using a hand towel to bathe. The maid must have thought we were nuts! Roof terrace bar was lovely but too cold to stay long. I can't say enough about the delightfully helpful staff. Each of the ladies was very helpful and pleasant in doing so! The location of this hotel is Supurb! Easy walking to sites, restaurants and sometimes even street performers. FUN!

Room Tip: We were on 7 and were very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Francisville, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked this hotel in Paris for the end of our trip to Ireland, St. Andrews, Scotland and London. I wanted to stay at an american hotel for communication purposes. It was really a gem located in the St. Germaine area and only a few feet from the underground. AC really worked great which can be hard to find in Europe. The staff was extremely nice and there is an amazing roof top bar/restaurant on the top of the building with amazing views of Notre Dame and the Eiffel Tower. We literally could not stop taking pictures of the sunset from that location. The only negative was that the front desk was manned by one person from about 11pm and could not leave their position until shift change when we needed extra linens. Otherwise it was nearly perfect. Very reasonable priced as well!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights late June 2013 on Level 2. Fantastic location near Saint Michael station and steps from the Sienne and within walking distance to the Notre Dame. Countless restaurants nearby, and strategically placed within the Paris metro system. Standard rooms are small but nice and very comfortable beds, towels are thin, bathroom has great shower facilities. Good bar area and lounge. Great rooftop terrace view with bar available on some days. Staff very helpful - 9/10

Room Tip: Start from level 8 down, the higher the better. Rooms at the front of the hotel are quieter on the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame

Address: 4 rue Danton, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#244 Family Hotel in Paris
#291 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#319 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right in the heart of Paris at the chic Holiday Inn Paris Notre Dame close from the iconic Notre Dame cathedral. Neighbouring streets in the Latin Quarter are lined up with bistros and patisseries. Don't forget to explore Le Louvre by crossing le Pont des Arts after a 15mn walk along the banks of river Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.