We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay in Fun Paris Neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Appartement d'hotes Folie Mericourt

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Appartement d'hotes Folie Mericourt
Save
You added Appartement d'hotes Folie Mericourt to your Saves list
20 rue de la Folie Mericourt, 75011 Paris, France (Bastille / Oberkampf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 132 Paris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay in Fun Paris Neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The apartment was just a few minutes from central Paris by metro, in a lively (in a good way!) neighborhood. The apartment is situated so that you are away from street noise. The furnishings are very funky--nice to come home to a place where you can spread out at night (as opposed to an overpriced hotel room). The building is being renovated, so at first we weren't sure what we were getting into, but it turned out to be quite nice. Kitchen amenities were nice as well (breads, home made jams, milk, coffee, juice) with many bakeries all around and a grocery store just a short walk away. Be advised that there is no air conditioning. There is a nice breeze with the windows open, and there is a portable fan, but if it is a really hot spell you may be uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I loved this apartment, it has a fantastic balcony all around it with views to kill for. You really feel like you are part of Paris. It's located near the Place Republique which has metro stations and hop on bus tours. Plenty of local restaurants. Pascal is the perfect host, for example he arranged airport transfer on very short notice.
If I ever need a place to stay in Paris then this would be it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for a week with our two adult children and it was perfect for us. The apartment has everything you need and is well stocked for breakfast. There were a couple of bakeries near by for croissants and baguettes. Spread on some of Pascal's homemade jam and you have the perfect French breakfast. Pascal lives next door and is available for questions and to help with your luggage..There is a walk-in closet in one of the bedrooms with shelving to store all of your clothes, and a safe to store your valuables. Have a cup of coffee in the morning or a glass of champagne on the balcony with a nice view of the Monparnasse Tower lit up at night. Good location with two metro lines nearby. Great dinner at Le 3C next door. Oberkampf area with bars and restaurants is within walking distance. The price was right especially since it is difficult to find a hotel room for 4. If we come back to Paris we will definitely stay here again. As long as you won't have problem walking up the five flights of stairs I highly recommend this apartment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This lovely apartment had a balcony that connects all three rooms with a lovely view! The kitchen was well stocked and had all the ammenities we needed and some. Its located on a quiet street and a short walk to the metro. There are wonderful restaurants and bakeries nearby. A favorite restaurant we frequented often was called Le 3C which was just a short walk away. The restaurant's owner, Christian is the chef. He, his wife and his daughter Carole were such lovely hosts and the food was extraordinary!
The apartment's owner, Pascal is charming and extremely accommodating. We appreciated the free Wifi and even access to unlimited free calls to landline numbers in the US and a list of other places! All around, this place is a winner and made our stay in Paris more special!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Recently we spent a wonderful long weekend in Paris and the accomodation contributed so much to the success of our stay. The apartment is conveniently located (near subway, shops, restaurants), clean, elegantly furnished, fully equipped beyond any expectations. It has a kitchen with any necessary accessory (breakfast is also provided and essential items such as oil, salt etc as well), then there are two bedrooms with kingbeds and a bathroom (with soaps, hairdryer, towels). But you should see the exquisite taste in the choice of bed linens, ornaments etc. It is better than a five star hotel. On top of all this, Pascal was vey kind and helpful to provide any necessary istruction. Only be aware that there is no lift and the apartment is on the 4th or 5th floor (I cannot remember exactly).

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at this apartment for a total of 2 weeks in January/February. It was very warm, clean, and stocked with everything needed. Pascal was wonderful, and helped with any questions. The location is great - 2 metro lines very close by and lots of shops and services in the area. It was a real bonus to have a kitchen to cook meals. As there were only 2 of us, Pascal turned the 2nd bedroom into a living room which helped make it very comfortable. Thanks Pascal for a wonderful stay in beautiful Paris!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Actually I hate to tell everybody about this gem! I stayed in Paris for some days with my American son who was visiting me in Europe. Over my 13 years of living in Europe as an Expat American, I have visited Paris often twice a year, always worried about the hotel room and if it will be ok, always trying a new one in different areas of Paris. Many times disappointed because of the quality of the room. Not only were we pleased staying here, we were overjoyed and pleasantly surprised. I loved this apartment! Very close to Bastille, and easy to get to by metro. Many small bistro's and cafe's nearby. We really enjoyed the market day close by!! The apartment itself was clean, comfy with many added design touches to make one feel quite at home. We really enjoyed having the big balcony! I slept like a rock in my warm, comfy bed each night. For this price, try finding ANYTHING comparable in Paris! You quite frankly cannot. You will get a tiny closet big enough for a double bed and not 2 big bedrooms, plus, plus, plus! SO much better than a hotel room with snotty people at the front desk. Pascal was extremely friendly and helpful, letting us keep our luggage there on the last day. Don't worry about not having an elevator, the trip to the top isn't that bad,(and I am 64) and the sun setting over the rooftops from your balcony with a glass of French wine in your hand, makes it worth it. Super clean, super comfortable, well equipped, great, safe location. You don't need anything else to make your trip to Paris a perfect one, Stop looking and worrying about finding the best option, you have already found it. I only hope that the next time I go to Paris, it is not already booked!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Appartement d'hotes Folie Mericourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appartement d'hotes Folie Mericourt

Address: 20 rue de la Folie Mericourt, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A real "home from home" in the heart of Paris in an authentic Haussmann apartment with a large balcony. Close to the main centres of interest...an ideal way to enjoy this fantastic city in complete freedom. Capacity: 2 to 4 people, up to 6 with extra beds, breakfast included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appartement d`Hotes Folie Mericourt Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appartement d'hotes Folie Mericourt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.