We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive salty food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cru

Cru
7 rue Charlemagne, 75004 Paris, France (Le Marais)
33 1 40 27 81 84
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Cru is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,651 of 13,870 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Le Marais
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expensive salty food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Good concept but poorly executed. Disappointing food. Barely any veggie dishes so you've got to like raw meat and fish to enjoy...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    47
    17
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delectable, delicate meal for one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I nipped into Cru without a reservation slightly before they were to open. The waitress appeased me, giving me a perfect seat, whisking away the other unnecessary place setting, and delivered a perfectly chilled glass of wine while dinner service prep completed. Since, as the name implies, everything was raw, the flavours were all fresh, pared well, and presented thoughtfully. Salmon, arugula and fig, sea bass, and a dessert which seemed sacrilege to skip were suggested and served in an intimate attentive display of service. I enjoy eating on my own observing the rhythm of a restaurant, Cru made this secret anthropological adventure even nicer.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Light and tasty dishes - perfect for a summer day in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We enjoyed a lunch here on one of the warmer summer days this year - and found the salmon tartar, figs on a bed of rocket and the sea bass filet perfect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We enjoyed our Sunday brunch at Cru in the Village St. Paul. Smoothies to start--what a good idea! The breads and especially desserts were excellent. The courtyard where we ate was an excellent place to enjoy a beautiful afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Simple, nice, kind, good food and lovely atmosphere in the Marais.
Small place, reasonable prices, small menu (which i like)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cru also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.